We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfort, cleanliness, location”
Review of Hotel Federale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Federale
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Comfort, cleanliness, location”
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Federale. Arriving by train, it was so easy to find and walk to. We typically stay in rental apartments, but for a long weekend we went with a hotel and our pick could not have been better. The room for the four of us was very spacious and the beds very comfortable. A balcony looked out over the lake and Monte Bre. Everything was very clean and the towels and bedding were of good quality. It was easy to walk down into the Old Town and to the lake, but the funicular is right at the train station if you want to use that. The hotel also had a nice lounge within which you could sit and relax, play a game, etc. The breakfast was adequate to get the day started, but would have liked more substance on a Sunday morning. The onsite restaurant was wonderful!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imkaced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 19 May 2013
Dear Imkaced,
Thank you very much for having stayed at our hotel in Lugano and for taking the time to writing a review.
Thank you also for your positive comments and I will think on how to improve breafast on Sunday mornings, when guests have more time.
We hope we will be able to welcoming you back to Lugano some day.
Thank you again
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    115
    121
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
71
104
18
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

Excellent location, excellent service. Beautiful views of the Lugano lake. Just a few minutes from Luganos's central train statuon and from Lugano's downtown. The staff is very friendly as well, and the rooms are very comfortable. Absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 13 April 2013
Dear Marcelo B.
Thank you very much for staying with us and for taking the time to write about about hotel.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay in Lugano, and we would be delightet to welcoming you back if you visit our lake region again in the future.
Thank you again.
Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I spent two nights in the Hotel Federale, together with my 3 children and their mom. We arrived a bit late in the night still we were welcome. We got 2 communicating rooms which were perfect for our stay. One of the rooms had access to an unbelievably huge terrace, where our children had lots of fun. Furniture was a bit oldish but beds were comfortable and bathrooms fairly new. Breakfast is standard. Indoor parking. Good location.
Very good value for a 3-stars hotel with reasonable prices.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coucho_The
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 30 March 2013
Dear Coucho: thank you very for staying at our hotel and for taking the time to write a comment on your stay.
We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our family room on the 1st floor with the large terrace. About the "oldish" furniture: yes, we know. Some years ago my parents did change the furniture of the south wing of the hotel and "unfortunately" that furniture is of a very good quality and it does not break. As you noticed though, the bathroom did ungerdo a renewment and the furniture will soon undergo the same fate.
If you will come back to Lugano we would be happy to be of service to you again.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2013

Arriving from Milan by bus it is a very short walk from the station to the hotel. The check in was fast and uncomplicated. My room was nice with a partial view of Monte Bré. On the cushion there was a small sweet and a bottle of sparkling mineral water was complimentary. A nice touch! There were amenities but unfortunately no shampoo. The wireless connection worked perfectly.
The breakfast was very enjoyable with good brown bread and Swiss cheese. The staff was very attentive and kind. As my train left only in the evening after check out I could deposit the suitcase in the hotel and collect it when necessary. As promised somebody was there when I picked it up and even helped me with a short lift to the station. An overall good hotel which I can highly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kybtur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 3 March 2013
Dear Kybtur,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment on Tripadvisor and thank you for having visited Lugano and our hotel during the quite season in this part of Switzerland.
I have noted your comments about the shampoo and will correct it.
Again thank you for staying with us, and we look forward to welcoming you maybe back to Lugano, the italian side of Switzerland.
With kindests regards. Roland Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pfaeffikon, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
527 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 November 2012

Family run hotel in the old city centre above the lake. A short walk from Lugano train station, it enjoys a tranquil setting of a surrounding park and has a small cosy garden terrace, welcome place to unwind after a busy day exploring the city.

Pleasant décor, spacious rooms, gorgeous mountain views, excellent breakfast, great local wines, nice and friendly staff. Just about everything you need for an enjoyable stay. We really liked the place, and would certainly recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElenaNW87RL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 2 December 2012
Dear Helen U.
Thank you very much for having stayed at our Hotel while in Lugano and thank you for the time you took to write a revies on Tripadvisor.
Thank you for the positive feed back and we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to welcoming you back to our place if you decide to come back to Lugano.
With kindests regards
Roland Galliker and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2012

The hotel is nice, but for the money we paid - just avarage. Rooms were not big but comfortable, and it is good to have a balcony. Good location - close to the center, not so far from the lake, and close to the station.
Staff was ok, so was our breakfast.
We ordered an extra bed for a kid - it was old, broken and not so safe for a kid...

Room Tip: Rooms with the view of Lugano seem to be nicer :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rekawek11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 15 November 2012
Dear rekawe11,
Thank you very much for having taken the time to write a review of our hotel and thank you for having stayed with us on your trip to Lugano. You are absolutely right about the children bed and I apologize. I have ordered two new ones, still in the wooden style like you had and not the folding ones as they are more comfortable, and by the end of the month they will be exchanged (not just painted).
We have taken note that you were not satisfied enough with our service and we will take your comments in our staff meetings and will discuss how we can improve our services.
Again, thank you for staying with us, and we look forward, if you like, to welcoming you back at our Hotel Federale, family owned since 1923. With kindests regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2012

We travelled by train so accommodation near the station was important. Couldn't get much closer, as we left the station,crossed the road and we seen the sign. Rather a step walk down to the hotel and were greeted with very friendly staff. We were on the top floor over looking the city with the lake in the distance. Room was lovely, roomy, clean and lovely decor. I thought it could have rated higher than 3 star. Breakfast was good and the friendliness nature of the staff was comforting. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GrumpyD3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RGalliker, Owner at Hotel Federale, responded to this review, 15 October 2012
Dear GrumpyD3,
Thank you very much for having stayed with us and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay. Your description reflects what we are trying to do everyday and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Lugano.
Thank you again and please do not hesitate to contact us for any information you would need regarding Lugano, or Ticino or our hotel.
With kindests regards
Families Roland & Thomas Galliker
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
651 reviews
1.2 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Property: Hotel Federale
Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking (for a fee). Free WiFi. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing