We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Single Doesn't Pay”
Review of Hotel Federale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Federale
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
75 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Single Doesn't Pay”
Reviewed 13 August 2008

One can see why the Federale is popular on Tripadvisor : it is a nice, warm, unexpensive hotel convenient to the train station without having the look of a "station -hotel" .
The staff (and the owners) look very efficient , friendly and they do any extra-mile to accomodate guests . Dinner is on the cheap side and rather good . Breakfast is OK.
The real down-side of this hotel are the single rooms, which are really "single", cramped, funny-shaped and hot. No AC, only a big fan standing in front of the small bed. The bed is adjacent to the room door and in the morning the wake-up call is slamming doors one after the other.
The furniture dates back to the Corean War at least. Bathrooms are renovated and work properly.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed August 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anticorpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    113
    28
    5
    3
See reviews for
62
97
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2008

Our family of four, plus our kids grandparents, stayed at this wonderful hotel for 6 nights. We rented 3 rooms, all on the 5th floor with balconies and wonderful views of the town of Lugano and Lake Lugano. Although just 200 meters from the train station, it was very quiet even with the windows open at night.

The hotel staff was very courteous, friendly, and helpful. We elected to take the dinner option during our stay (half board) and all meals were very satisfying. The restaurant staff quickly became big hits with our kids.

If you are looking for a nice, friendly, clean and quiet hotel to stay at in Lugano, you won't be sorry if you choose Hotel Federale!

  • Liked — Hotel staff and clean, quiet, comfortable rooms
  • Disliked — Had difficulty with internet access using the hotel provided computer in the lounge area.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tripboy58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2008

The pictures do not do the hotel justice, our room was more modern looking with a completely renovated washroom. The staff was very helpful and informative. My only complaint was the hotel location, it is situated on a hill, getting down to the main shopping area and piazzas wasn't the problem, it was walking back up. It was worse for me because I had cast on my leg and needed to use crutches to get around. Other than that I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Lugano.

  • Liked — Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Ancor71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2007

Fine, possibly family-runned. Parking garage in the basement. Car-lift!
Room was a single room - tiny, and a bit worn. Smelled of sigarettes.
Close to Lugano Centro, just down the hill. 4 min. walk.
Continental breakfast - not the poor and sweet Italian style.

  • Liked — Close to town
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Garrrrden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, Somerset. UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2007

I can only echo the previous positive comments about this hotel. We had a very comfortable, spacious room on the second floor. with doors opening on to a balcony. It had a settee, two chairs and a desk in the room. The bathroom was also spacious with a shower cubicle as well as a bath and a bidet. Rates very reasonable, really excellent value for money. Easy walk down the hill to the town centre and the lakeside. Coming back up we used the furnicular to the station and walked down to the hotel from there in less than five minutes. As others have said very friendly, helpful staff and owners. When we were leaving I suggested we would need a taxi to take us and our luggage to the station. Instead the owner got his car out and took us there instead. That has never happened to me before!!

  • Liked — Spacious room, friendly helpful staff, good value
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Figarouno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2007

This hotel was booked for a last minute stay as the prices were relatively low compared to others. It was really close to the train station and the town and therefore in a great position. The staff were extremely helpful, the rooms were good and clean. The breakfast was superb, sitting on the terrace was lovely. Lugano itself was also delightful. I intend to return next year.

  • Liked — Friendliness
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank chubbychops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swansea, UK
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2007

I thought this hotel was great. It is charmingly quirky - not only is
the hotel triangular, so was my room. My room was also huge and newly
refurbished, though some of the common areas had a great sixties' vibe still going on. The photos on the hotel website don't do it justice. Lovely friendly staff, breakfast in the garden, five minutes
from the railway station.

Stayed June 2007, travelled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank bettyballare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.6 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Federale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Federale

Property: Hotel Federale
Address: via Paolo Regazzoni 8, Lugano 6900, Switzerland (Formerly Minotel)
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Federale 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Family run since 1923, near train station and bus terminal to Tirano, Milano, Bernina Express and Palm Express. Single, double, triple and four bedded rooms. Restaurant with terrace. Underground parking (for a fee). Free WiFi. In old city center of Lugano, but on a hill. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Federale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Hotel Federale
Minotel Hotel Lugano
Minotel Lugano
Lugano Minotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing