We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A warn one”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Colorado Lugano
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
New York City
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A warn one”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Pros:
1. Convenient location; 2. Free breakfast (but with limited choices); 3. Parking with 10Ch per day.

Cons:
1. Everything in the room looks worn; 2. Wi-fi is not stable; 3. The shower place is tiny and uncomfortable

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank moonNewYorkCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    38
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
13
38
8
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2014

The price of this hotel didn't inspire much hope in it's standard, but arriving there we were pleasantly surprised. The hallways are very narrow and get a Little bit claustrophobic but the room itself was alot better than my expectations. Even the breakfast was alot better than we had hoped. There is somewhat limited parking available but if you get a spot, it's in a very good Place right behind the Hotel.
The location is fine, somewhat Close to the beach and city center. Not extremely Close but it's definately within Walking distance. I would consider Colorado if going to Lugano again some time.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Allsignaturestaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucerne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

The great location, easy to walk to&from the train station, the friendly staff and the availability to use one of their "house" bikes to cycle around Lugano made the Hotel Colorado my "Lugano" hotel. The rooms very efficient, quiet, everything you would want and need. The free WiFi allowed me to pick up my e-mails and catch up the news. Recommend very highly.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I booked the hotel through email and got a very warm reply that "we like to take care of nice people as our profession".

We stayed for 3 nights.

Upon checking-in and every morning, we are warmly greeted by staff members.

Hotel Manager told us that all rooms have been renovated in 2013 with air conditioning, new windows with double glazing, fire resistant doors, furniture, and floors.

The hotel's TAVERNETTA GRILL Restaurant serves a light cuisine, pizza and good wine from Ticino Region.

Room 408 is spacious and clean with balcony view to quiet residential neighborhood and enchanting mountains. Lugano's car free shopping mall “Via Nassa” which leads to “Piazza della Riforma” and lake promenade is 5 minute walk downhill from the hotel (take elevator down to car park level for a shorter walk) -- neat !

Railway station is 7 minute walk or take City Bus No.2 first stop Tassino.

Breakfast is great in quality and variety.

A very friendly, homey hotel. Good ambiance and great price for a winter holiday in sunny Lugano.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sindy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annemasse, France
Level Contributor
591 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Yes, room 403 was a bit small for two although I was alone; there was a nice balcony with view. Room 310 was bigger, I noted. Staff very sweet and helpful. Free parking. Wifi worked fine. Not a far walk to town, though downhill. Bus 2 passes right by.
Nice breakfast.

If people want big rooms like in the US you are going to have to pay a huge amt in Switzerland (NYC, too!)

Room Tip: ask for the biggest one possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hask74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mannheim, Germany
Level Contributor
79 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'd not say the hotel is bad. In fact, staff at front desk is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is good and offers a variety of jam, cold cuts and cheese, cereal, fruit, eggs and juices. The rooms are basic and very clean. In fact, there is hardly anything in there that could become dusty. Except for the mattress, which had been in there too long for a person allergic to dust mites. In spite of a particular request when bookinng the room. Fortunately, it was still warm enough to sleep with an open window, and adding two antihistamines every night helped me out.

Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank GKA66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taipei
Level Contributor
101 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013 via mobile

We got this hotel com our bernina express package. After the nice experience we had at Eden hotel in St.Moritz, we were a bit shocked when we entered our room in hotel Colorado the room is small , the bathroom is very tiny and I could hear all the sound from other rooms in the evening. Won't stay there anymore !

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarmyBeachLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lugano hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 199 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Colorado Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Colorado Lugano

Property: Hotel Colorado Lugano
Address: via Clemente Maraini 19 | Via Adamini 20, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Colorado Lugano 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Completely renovated in April 2013, Colorado Hotel offers a central, yet quiet location in the centre of Lugano, a 5-minute walk away from the promenade on Lake Lugano and around the corner from the LAC Cultural Centre. Free WiFi is available. The air-conditioned rooms are equipped with cable TV. Toiletries and a hairdryer are provided in the private bathroom. The Colorado's restaurant Tavernetta offers a range of creative dishes. Meals are also served on the terrace. The hotel is a 5-minute walk from the Museum of Modern Art in the Villa Malpensata, and a 10-minute walk from the train station. The city bus leaving in front of the hotel takes you to the congress centre in 10 minutes. Hotel Colorado is also Business Center. Conference rooms can be configured for 2 to 80 participants and can be configured for your individual needs. Seminar materials: Flip charts, PC and slide projectors, WiFi Internet access. We are passionate about bikes! Hotel Colorado is the perfect stop for your you and your bikes. Maintenance, laundry and parking for your bike available on request. We love love to take care of nice people and we make this our profession. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Colorado Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Minotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing