We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quirky lakeside”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Lovely, quirky lakeside”
Reviewed 3 March 2008

This is a big, old, European hotel. What that means is that it has its quirks, and cannot be compared to, say, an Omnia in Zermatt for example. So with that caveat in mind, here is an overview:

Location: Is great. It is an easy and scenic 10 minute walk to the downtown, but located just enough away that it is calm and peaceful. Also, if you walk in the opposite direction, you can reach some lovely quieter lakeside spots. It is just across the road from the lake, and set in lovely gardens, so as far as Lugano city hotels go, this one is hard to beat. There is free parking on the grounds, or a pay garage.

Common areas: There is a nice little pool area which must be great in the summer when the glass doors roll open, but as it is, it is good for a relaxing swim and peacefully, privately looks out onto the gardens. There is a beautiful old-world style living room area off the lobby that is great for reading, chatting, and so on. Overall, the lobby feels cosy rather than oppressive. The restaurant feels a bit stuffy though, and I would generally recommend eating 'off-campus'.

Rooms: I poked my nose into a few rooms before choosing one and they are each individually decorated so that you could have several entirely different experiences in this same hotel. The rooms are very big, the amenities are decent (though maybe more 3 star), the beds are comfortable.

Staff: The people were great. Everyone we had contact with, especially the concierge, was super friendly and helpful.

Overall, while I generally prefer the smaller ares near Lugano (like Melide or Locarno), I would stay here again if in the mood for some slightly faded but authentic old-world 'luxury'. the luxury is, however, more the mood and ambience than the actual hard deliverables.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thalgizouzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    338
    49
    13
    10
    4
See reviews for
77
187
20
68
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Norway
Level Contributor
211 reviews
178 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2007

Hotel is situated in a lovely garden outside the centre of Lugano. Wonderful reception and ajoining rooms. Friendly and helpful staff. Elevator looked tacky. Our room was spacious and bright. Comfortable furniture and bed. Balcony had a table with two chairs and also two sun-chairs. Wonderful views of the lake, mountains and town. Bathroom was really not in style, small and basic with only 2 small pieces of soap and a few small bottles of shampoo. Not worthy of a 5-star hotel Breakfast buffet was included in the price. Well presented but very limited choice and certainly not what you should expect. We had dinner in the restaurant, and dining there is highly recommended. Excellent food and wine at reasonable prices.

  • Liked — Helpful staff and wonderful location
  • Disliked — The bathorom and the breakfast buffet
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PFP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2007

A 5* hotel that isn't a 5* hotel.

I was amazed that a Swiss 5* rated hotel did not live up to expectations.

The web site shows a great view of the lake from the park and the private jetty..don't be taken in.

There is a busy road between the hotel gardens and the lake side..the private jetty is down the road in one of the most unappealing locations possible. Not a great walk to town..the first few hundred meters are on a busy unattractive road.

The restaurant carpet if awful..extremely badly cleaned...dirt marks and spills abound. Food not that great.
We had spent the previous week in another 5* hotel in Switzerland and enjoyed ,as we always have, a high quality breakfast....Villa Castagnola was terrible.Stale unappealing bread, little choice in cereals, no real fresh juices etc.

On the plus sides...the suite we had was good apart from the dark small bathrooms.

The public rooms are quite charming.

Overall though.....a big disapointment.

  • Stayed August 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank yorktravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2007

We stayed for 2 nights and were a little sceptical at first because it seemed expensive (compared to what we are use to paying for a hotel) & a little older than we had expected. We quickly put all skepticism aside as we enjoyed the view from our patio of the lake and beautiful grounds.

We loved that the hotel is away from the city center and shopping. It felt much less touristy, yet was very easy to get to.

They offer a wonderful breakfast with many choices of fruits, pastries, meat, sausage, bacon, eggs, cereals, cheeses etc. We didn't really have to worry about lunch because the breakfast offered so much!

The concierge, Mario was FABULOUS!!! So sweet & offered the best restaurant tips.

They have a nice workout facility, lovely pool, sunning area. One computer is available for guest to use at no charge. Newspapers of various languages are available in the lobby each morning.

Our room was on the 4th floor & offered two twins pushed together (typical for Europe) a couch, table, desk & chair and a table with lounge chairs on our patio.

Bathroom was moderate sized - shower / faucets for whatever your bathing/showering preference. Hairdryers are provided & if you need an adaptor, they'll provide you one at the front desk.

Great place for a lovely relaxing holiday!

  • Liked — Beautiful grounds & friendly staff
  • Disliked — Only 1 computer for all guests to share
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank knotes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bucharest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2007

It is wonderfull! Begining with champaine at breakfest and ending with a delicios dinner in the garden! The view from the room is magnific, garden & lake.

  • Liked — Wonderfull view from the room
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smo2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2007

Stayed here a few times on business and would highly recommend. Yes it is quite but this is exactly what I was looking for after a day in the office.

The service is good, very old style, and the view from the room was certainly great to wake up to in the morning.

The location is not central but it is circa 15 minutes walk into the town centre and is a pleasant walk too.

  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Globe24/7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2006

This is a really nice hotel with lovely views, nice rooms, gerat facilities, excellent food and good staff.

We've stayed there 3 times now (on driving holidays round Europe) and will do so again.

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bp1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
568 reviews
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
512 reviews
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 45 in Lugano
132 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing