We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so Grand Villa Hotel Castagnola”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 May 2013

This was our first time in Lugano, but our 3rd visit to a 5 star hotel on the magnificent Swiss lakes. We had booked a junior suite, for my wife, 2 year old Son and myself, and were rather disappointed. The room was nothing special, very basic with a small balcony, and a glimpse of the lake in the distance. 2 small bathrooms, as it became apparent that this suite was once 2 bedrooms knocked into one. Shame they didn't knock the bathrooms into one. Apart from a cot in the room, this hotel does not really cater for children, although they did provide a babysitter for when we visited their restaurant across the road, which is actually lakeside. The service was ok, but only when you asked for help. Dining in the restaurant was a great experience, but the food is very expensive, above Swiss average. The gym is tiny, 3 would be a crowd, and the swimming pool is very cold. Our Son was shivering after 20 mins. Some aspects were good, but at these prices, there is much better value elsewhere in Switzerland, and closer to the lake!

Room Tip: Go for a major suite, on 2nd or 3rd floor, these are in the centre of the hotel with a large balcony...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate honest feedback.
We will pass the information through our concerned department and we will do our best in order to make the guest feel more special and comfortable.
Best regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

172 - 178 of 478 reviews

Reviewed 7 May 2013

What a welcome we received when we arrived at the hotel for a four day stay which also co-incided with my birthday , the Villa Castagnola just oozes old world charm and sophistication that automatically makes you feel warm inside and this also extends to the staff there who take care of all your needs .the moment you check in till the moment you leave you feel wanted and not just because of business but there is a genuine affection from the staff that makes any request has no problem feel , filled with Italian charm and a an aim to please disposition ,forgive me if I am gushing but today you rarely find such a place as this .
We ate at the wonderful Arte restaurant a superb evening with friends in a delightful setting ,the bar in the hotel holds a great deal atmosphere for that aperitif or after dinner drink .The concierge played an important part of our trip and all the reservations and recommendation they made were all done with lots of eagerness and initiative.
When we left they had arranged a house car for us that whisked us off to the station for our train back to Zurich ,as it is only 2hours 30 minutes away it seems we have found a new haunt for a quick getaway. can^t wait.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Robert,
What a pleasure reading your review!
We are very pleased to hear that your stay was wonderful and that our staff was able to fulfill your requests.
We are looking to welcoming you soon,
Best Regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2013

Lugano is rather a sleepy paradise surrounded by the lake within the crossroads of western Europe. The Villa castagnola offers old world comfort and, due to its location, it offers the possibility to privately sunbathe on the lakeside or within its pool, good food, as well as the possiblilty to move everywhere either by foot, up the local mountain by cable car or easily by bus.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffrey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Jeffrey,
Thank you very much for your great review,
Lugano is indeed a special place with an incredible mixture between Switzerland and the Mediterranean culture and climate!
We are looking to welcoming you soon once again.
Best Regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

If you want to combine the italo-swiss charm and quality of services with a tremendous lake view in the immediate surroundings of Lugano, then you must try this well-known Villa Hotel.
The private gardens with swimming pool are a must if you want to rest out of the noisy town.

Room Tip: Ask imperatively for a lake view room, you won't forget it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JAGUAR33Bordeaux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Bonjour!

Thank you very much for your nice review, we are always happy to hear that our guests are fully satisfied.
Definitely, the view on the lake Lugano is incredible . In case you are missing it, just check in our website, as we do have a live webcam.

We are looking to welcoming you soon.
Best Regards,
Letizia Gianora
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2013

This is one of the finest hotels that we have ever stayed at. The setting was beautiful, and the service was amazing. We stayed two extra days just because it was such a relaxing place to be. Our suite was spacious and lovely. There is also a highly rated restaurant on site. We had a fabulous five course meal. We were impressed with everything- the service, the location, the food. An it is an easy walk to the main part of town. You can also walk to where you can catch a ferry. Do take a boat trip around the lake. Lots of lovely things to see.

Room Tip: Have breakfast on your balcony one morning, especially if you are staying on a high floor. Wonderful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gianora, Director of Sales at Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2013

Dear Sharon,
Thank you very much for your nice comment.
Great advice, it is correct; directly behind the hotel (1 minute walking distance) it is possible to catch the little montain train of Monte Bré. On top of Monte Bré you have a stunning view!
We are looking to welcoming you soon once again.
Kind Regards,
Letizia Gianora

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

What a gem on beautiful Lake Lugano, Switzerland. On the Italian border Lugano is more Italian than Swiss except the prices. You are in the Italian Lakes district by location. Like all lakes this one has many little towns to visit with regular boat service. And you are about one hour by train to Milano. This hotel is older but reappointed and up to date rooms, super and very friendly service who are well trained (gracious) and multi-lingual. They go out of the way to make sure you are happy. The age of the facilty says 4 star but you would think it is 5. Food, surroundings and service are the best. Pool and small workout center in the hotel and a short walk to the private lake side. We had a corner suite on the third floor with a balcony and lovely views of the lake. Need a cab but you can walk to the city center that features a Rodeo Drive type shopping street that is mostly pedestrian only. Many great dinning choices with lake views. Italian cuisine is very much in vogue. Try a lake side table for real romance.

Room Tip: Upper floors have the best views of the Lake. Corner suites are tops but in demand.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gerbsWestVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2012

We had a wonderful two night stay in this really lovely hotel. It is beautifully appointed surrounded by lovely gardens. The friendliness and attentiveness of the staff were impressive. We really loved the comfort and beauty of the public rooms, as well as our own room. The food, ambiance and attention to detail were second to none. We really recommend this hotel to anyone seeking comfort, rest and lifting of the spirits!

Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank Lesley18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#12 of 45 in Lugano
550 reviews
1 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
622 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
170 reviews
1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
3.9 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £257 - £404 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Prestigia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing