We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“RUN DOWN (((” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
1,056 reviews
318 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,530 helpful votes
“RUN DOWN (((”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2009

The Grand Hotel really has been a "Grand Hotel" - at its time!!!

For sure the Grand Hotel offers you great lake view even the loacations is a bit out of town and you need a car/taxi to reach center. But at nearly € 400/night I do expect a bit more than great views.

We've been shown to a Suite at the 5th floor (which is under the roof) and we've been shocked by the bathroom and toilet: even in my student time I didn't have such a bathroom, without windows, scratched marble look wallpaper on walls and ceilings... Therefore we denied the "upgrade" and insisted on a Deluxe room. The room we've been shown to was located on the 4th floor (which looks party renovated). The room itself, except that the TV was smalish and there was no way to blind the morning sun out, has been quite nice. But again, the bathroom has been renovated in the 60s or 70s last time (even the bathroom door couldn't be locked!).

The breakfast starts at 07:00 but when we arrived 07:15 half of the items was still missing (but each bread and croissant had a swiss flag). When we had to leave at 07:45 the rest of the buffet arrived.

The hotel doesn't allow dogs - which I could understrand when they would have great furniture and carpets. But at the Grand Hotel where everything is run down I really can't undertstand that policy.

When we checked out we informed that we didn't like the standard of the hotel, that it's more like 3 star (max.!). The receptionist told us to write to the management so they know. She said: the more guests complain the faster the management is willing to give money for renovation. WOW!!!

So, when in Lugano, don't stay at this hotel!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank HONkiev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    47
    13
    10
    2
See reviews for
73
175
19
66
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2009

We came here 10 years ago for our honeymoon and it took far too long to return !Villa castagnola has everything you could want for a special occasion.Without being in any way snobby this place really is olde world Swiss excellence.
This time we stayed in a junior suite, but I remember that even our " normal " room 10 years ago was beautiful, amply big enough.This time we had an enormous balcony as well, lovely, quiet , overlooking the beautiful gardens and with lake view , super.
We came for a gourmet stay, it was not that expensive compared to what we would pay like for like in UK.
The gourmet dinner was just out of this world, my husband thinks that he does not like pigeon and rabbit, both of which were on the menu, he enjoyed the meal as much as I did.! I think it really was the best meal I have ever eaten in my life.

Villa Castagnola is superbly placed, the lakeside pavillion, where you can lie in luxuury
and just pop into the warm lake when you feel like it , , is great. What a place to relax, read, sleep. And there are so many beautiful walks and boat trips to take, all withi easy distance of Castagnola.
I will forever be grateful to the lady in the Swiss centre in London who , when I asked "where is a good place for a honeymoon in Lugarno ? " replied " There is only one place to go in Lugarno, and that is Grand hotel Villa Castagnola !"
Please do not go there if you want built in entertainment or lively night life, but if you want perfect food, service and a really peaceful few days, then check it out.

  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jilly60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi,
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2009

stayed for 4 nights in the junior suite.beautiful room with 2 small balconies overlooking the lake and 2 full bathrooms.very helpful in the morning because there is 3 of us.Staff was excellent.restaurant good but pricey.20mins walk from city centre,so meals can become repititive and a costly affair.but all in all a great experience.will definitely like to repeat....

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mita16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como, Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2009

Lovely experience! What one really expects for a "home away from home", you're immediately part of the "family". Plently of little pubblic areas, individually decorated, lovely pieces of art, you can see the feminine touch behind everything!
Everybody goes out of their way to help but not in a "pompous" way. The rooms are not very large, but big enough to make you feel comfortable (I peeked into a Junior suite...very nice), small balcony facing the lake with chairs and a small table, small bathroom (maybe only handicap) . beautiful garden and indoor pool that opens directly on to the garden where the deck chairs are placed. Very relaxing and only 10 minutes walking from Lugano city centre! First visit but for sure not last! Grazii!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbaralucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alella
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2008

I had great expectations for this hotel but meet none of them. Their catalogue is beautifully done so give way to your imagination but once you are there you realise that it is an old fashioned hotel for a very old clientele. It made made feel as if I was in my granmother's nursing home. It might have been a nice place to stay in the last century.

  • Liked — The view from my bedroom
  • Disliked — The decaying atmosphere
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RosadabrilAlella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2008

Stayed there 3 days in August 2008.
Room on the 4th floor with a very comfortable balcony with an absolutely breathtaking view on Lago Lugano and Mount San Salvatore.
Very comfortable and spacious room with Air conditioning, complimentary water and fruit as well as twice-a-day cleaning service.
Very quiet situation, away from the road. City centre very easily accesible by bus (bus stop just in front of the hotel) or by foot (10 minutes). Bus stop for train station 5 minutes from the hotel.
Luxurious sauna and Turkish bath installation to be booked in advance. Advantage: you are alone in the place and it's huge. Lovely swimming pool, table tennis available (rackets can be obtained from the reception).
Great restaurant terrace for having breakfast in the morning.
Numerous, helpful smiling staff.

Some caveats:

- bathroom: extremely difficult to get (even a little) pressure for the shower in the morning, which is extremely rare for Switzerland
- breakfast: perhaps not what you might expect from your standard 5-star hotel, but the bread was delicious all the same.

Overall: a great stay!

  • Liked — Its situation
  • Disliked — Shower pressure
  • Stayed August 2008
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bsinclair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

This is a big, old, European hotel. What that means is that it has its quirks, and cannot be compared to, say, an Omnia in Zermatt for example. So with that caveat in mind, here is an overview:

Location: Is great. It is an easy and scenic 10 minute walk to the downtown, but located just enough away that it is calm and peaceful. Also, if you walk in the opposite direction, you can reach some lovely quieter lakeside spots. It is just across the road from the lake, and set in lovely gardens, so as far as Lugano city hotels go, this one is hard to beat. There is free parking on the grounds, or a pay garage.

Common areas: There is a nice little pool area which must be great in the summer when the glass doors roll open, but as it is, it is good for a relaxing swim and peacefully, privately looks out onto the gardens. There is a beautiful old-world style living room area off the lobby that is great for reading, chatting, and so on. Overall, the lobby feels cosy rather than oppressive. The restaurant feels a bit stuffy though, and I would generally recommend eating 'off-campus'.

Rooms: I poked my nose into a few rooms before choosing one and they are each individually decorated so that you could have several entirely different experiences in this same hotel. The rooms are very big, the amenities are decent (though maybe more 3 star), the beds are comfortable.

Staff: The people were great. Everyone we had contact with, especially the concierge, was super friendly and helpful.

Overall, while I generally prefer the smaller ares near Lugano (like Melide or Locarno), I would stay here again if in the mood for some slightly faded but authentic old-world 'luxury'. the luxury is, however, more the mood and ambience than the actual hard deliverables.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thalgizouzle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.7 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola

Property: Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Address: viale Castagnola 31, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#2 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Business Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola 5*
Number of rooms: 74
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola, member of the “Small Luxury Hotels of the World”, is the only five star superior Hotel in Lugano and enjoys a privileged position inside a large sub-tropical park and with a beautiful view towards the lake. The elegant villa, built in 1860, combines the charm of a former era with the comfort and the care of a modern luxury hotel. The hotel offers 78 rooms, of exceptional charm, individually styled, provided with every modern comfort and with stunning park and/or lake views, balcony, terrace or loggia. All rooms, of which 28 are Junior Suites and Suites, have individual air-conditioning, and provide the most modern comforts. Restaurant Le Relais – 14 points GaultMillau-: In an elegant setting, our Executive Chef Bertogna, suggests a light and innovative Mediterranean cuisine, a balance between colours and delicate flavours that you won’t forget. In season lunch and dinner are served on the outdoor terrace, overlooking the garden and the lake. Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago -1 Michelin Star, 16 points GaulMillau - :A theme restaurant inside an art gallery. Restaurant renewed and embellished through artworks and sculptures of contemporary artists of international stature who alternate every six months. Right on the shore of the lake, the Restaurant Gallery Arté al Lago offers a magnificent and unique view over the gulf of Lugano. Signature dishes are entirely new and original from our Executive Chef Frank Oerthle. Top notch are the facilities offered for meeting and events: any event assumes a special distinction - a grand banquet or less formal luncheon, business meeting or conference, private party, dinner or wedding up to 120 people. A large and impressive venue is the Sala delle Palme, set to recall an oriental atmosphere with its Indian Rajastan panoplies and Afganistan doors dated XIX century. All our venues are appreciated for the day light and the unique ornamentation and for the unclenching rooms, private sitting-rooms, conference halls of different sizes such as Le Pavillon connected to the park trough the outdoor veranda, La Sala Delle Colonne, Sala Letizia, Sala Carlotta and Sala Ottavia, the Biblioteca and Sala Kwium.Villa Castagnola has a spectacular indoor swimming-pool with panoramic views over the gardens, a Wellness Corner, a Clarins Beauty Corner, a Danilo Hairstyling, a table-tennis room, outdoor hard court tennis fields and a private lake terrace. The Hotel is well connected to Lugano’s railway station and Airport (only 7Km to the Lugano-Agno Airport), and has easy access to the Motorway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Castagnola
Grand Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing