We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in an OK City.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 27 November 2011

If you like Lugano, this hotel is quite nice. We stayed in junior suite 302. Enormous two room, two bathroom suite with four balconies. Overlooking the lake. Good value for the price. Wine, fruit, cookies, and chocolate everyday. Fresh water bottles and turn down service were very nice. We didn't eat at the hotel so I can't comment on that. We were not crazy about Lugano. We did enjoy the boat though to the various small towns, spent a lot of time doing that, going up the funiculars and enjoyed our favorite Grotto Teresa. Other than that we are grateful for our wonderful accommodations because the rest of Lugano is way too much like where we are from.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aymrz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Splendide Royal for your recent stay in Lugano. As you could experience, all our Junior suites and suites have a charming view of the lake, and everyday we provide the special amenities to those who choose this room category to make their stay special.
I hope you will visit us again some time in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (594)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Splendide Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

252 - 258 of 594 reviews

Reviewed 1 November 2011

We celebrated our 11th wedding anniversary at the Splendide Royal in Lugano and it was unforgettable and so impressive. Not only the reception on our arrival was outstanding but also the free upgrading to the best rooms came as surprize to us. But that was just the beginning of a splendide stay at this beautiful 5 Star Hotel. Cherry on top was an anniversary chocolate cake accompanied by a bottle of champagne with a personal note from the General Manager, Mr Giuseppe Rossi. A great compliment goes to him and the whole staff who cares for all the personal wishes you may have. An exquisite restaurant, personal attention and a top location with breath taking lake view are just a few attributes of that Hotel. Highly recommended for an unforgettable stay in Lugano. Thanks to all the Splendide staff...

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rchristen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest, I would like to personally thank you for the nice comments. As we strive to provide a very personalized service, I am glad to read that you appreciated the warm welcome and special attentions given to you during your anniversary celebration.
Together with my team, I hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back at the Splendide Royal.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

good location, good rooms, victorian decor, luxurious bathroom. lovely breakfst. great service. very good concierge helped plan our 3 days. would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chennaitraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for your sharing your views about your stay at our hotel. I am pleased to know that your expectations were met, and that our Concierge could assist you in planning your stay in our region.
I hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Splendide Royal on a future occasion.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We arrived at he hotel the 9th of August and the welcome service was excellent and very warm.Our rooms were excellent .The breakfast at the front verandah was very good and believe me we wanted to stay there for hours .The room rates I found them reasonable for the quality and the service of this hotel.Do not forget to have a risotto in the restaurant.The only thing I did not enjoy was my morning cappuccino, but the regular coffee was very good.Anyway for three nights we spent there we were very satisfied,and I suggest this hotel to stay in Lugano..

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PSARSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind review about your summer stay at the Splendide Royal. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed the nice breakfast buffet as well the dining experience at our Restaurant La Veranda. We also made a note about your comment on our cappuccino, and we wil make sure that it will meet our guests’ expectations.
Should you come back to Lugano, it would be my pleasure to welcome you again at the Splendide Royal.
Yours sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2011

From the moment we arrived at the hotel until we departed the service in every area of this hotel was excellent. Our room overlooked the lake, it was a very good size and the housekeeping staff kept it spotless. There was always an above average supply of toiletries and at all times the laundry was clean and abundant. The breakfast was fresh and full of variety and the service was first class. We were on half board terms and all evening meals showed a very high standard of cuisine and once again the service was exemplary. Both the breakfast and evening dinner Maitre d' Hotels were excellent in carrying out their responsiblilites. The front of house staff were extremely helpful and always had time to deal with any enquiry.
We would highly recommend this hotel, at all times the service was first class service, and the staff were always friendly and very helpful.
Even the 10 minute walk into Lugano is adjacent to a beautiful tree lined lake.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your positive and kind remarks about your recent stay at Hotel Splendide Royal in Lugano.
I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your room, the meals and in particular the service and friendliness of our personnel, who is constantly committed to providing the best experience for our guests.
We look forward to your return to stay with us in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

We were looking forward to the pampering you normally get at a 5* hotel but unfortunately, didn't. We asked to book a table at the restaurant upon arrival, which they did, but when we went to have a look at the dining room (1 minute after we were told we did have a table), the maitre stated they were fully booked?! After a brief exchange during which we pointed out our disappointment, we decided to call room service only to get the worst Nicoise salad and Club Sandwich ever (boring, poor quality). The hotel manager heard about the problem with the restaurant and sent a champagne bottle and a jar of OJ, nice touch. This didn't distract us though from the long lived walls (black dirty corners) and very used furniture. The room was really tired.

We had a pleasant surprise the morning after though: we found the level of lavishness we were expecting from a 5* and a team of efficient and polite waiters.

Definitely a "has been" place (it is sad to see a couple of Motorp cd-boxes from Ikea for the towels in the ladies toilet on the ground floor. The toilet had an old time charm that could have been preserved by investing a couple more francs...).

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travellingme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 29 September 2011

Dear Sir,
It was a pleasure having you as our guest at the Splendide Royal.
I would like to express my apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay.
The only table available at the restaurant was too small for you and your children, so when you showed up the Maître D’ suggested to kindly wait for a larger table. In fact he called your room to let you know about it, but then you had already chosen to have room service. We are sorry to read that the room service food didn’t meet your expectations as we usually receive positive comments from our guests.
I tried to contact you before your departure to ensure that the rest of your stay was pleasant, but couldn’t reach you. However, upon check-out it seemed that you were satisfied with the service and room, so I was surprised to read your review.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

We stayed here on the first leg of a luxury tour in May and it was our favorite hotel. Be sure to get a lakeview room, because the views are STUNNING (the view is really how this hotel earned 1st place)! The room was very clean and spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the staff made sure to make every guest feel like a VIP. Special touches included complimentary chocolates and fruit platters delivered to the hotel room daily.

The hotel is a short walk to the town center, restaurants, churches, gardens etc...

The one downfall (and it was very minor) is that the shower has a strange setup and it's easy to get water everywhere.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank catatmwc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2011

Dear guest,
Thank you for your visit and for sharing your impressions about the Hotel Splendide Royal, its central location and your room with other travelers.
Myself and my team look forward to another opportunity to welcome you back to our historic hotel.
Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
147 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £252 - £421 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing