We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand Old Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sussex
Level Contributor
127 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Grand Old Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 1 night recently during a business trip. The hotel is very grand , nicely situated overlooking the lake, and tastefully decorated in period style. Public areas were spotlessly clean as was my room. Service was impeccable. Breakfast was very good. I had a corporate room rate, but standard rates are pricey. One major downside for me was that the hotel was far too hot (a fairly common trait in hotels these days). Turning off the radiators in my room seemed to make no difference to the stifling heat. As the a/c was not working at this time of the year the only solution was to open a window. Not ideal in the winter and it did let in some traffic noise.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexAdventurers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    115
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
224
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for two nights. The service was excellent and as members of the Leaders Club we got an upgrade, champagne and fruit platter on arrival. The rooms are nice but approaching the time for an update. With a balcony overlooking the lake the location can't be argued with. The staff were attentive and the food for breakfast and room service was very good.

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tyson S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2013

This hotel from the late nineteenth century, a location that offers views of the beautiful landscape directly on Lake Ceresio 15 minutes walking to the center is fabulous hotel with an excellent and friendly staff. The 2 attached building offer classic and modern room I styed in the 7th floor in the new one and it has huge balcony ( I shot the above picture from the balcony). Quite big room amazing quality of food and 10MB download speed internet WiFi in all areas the 40 Inch Flat Screen TV full of feature with HDMI input .

Room Tip: the have attached building the old one offer classic room and the new one modern room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Thamer2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
103 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

Somehow I feel you must use the word "grand" when writing about this hotel. I have stayed at a couple other hotels in the Lugano area, but this one has the grandest feel. It is old-world, European luxury, with a beautiful lobby and excellent lake front location. On the down side, my room felt a bit dated and small. This hotel is a solid option if you are in the area.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michael_in_irvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Ukraine
Level Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

The hotel is situadted 5-7 min by walk to center of the city, hotel inside is very beautiful, quality of service is very high, rooms , bathrooms are amazing. It's my 2nd time in that hotel.
Only one minus- the swiming pool was not work, they propose to take us to other hotel swiming pool for free, but we decline, as i understand that happned only at Decembers.
All other is absolutly great,

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vicaodessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

a little away from the main area but a great property to stay at. the staff is incredible! i was traveling there with my husband. he had booked the best room for us. the view from the room was just fabulous. i wish i could have stayed there forever, but ofcorse one has to return back to reality at some point of time. but i have to say that the staff is doing a great job in taking the best care of the property and the people coming there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leah j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olympia, Washington
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2013

I have stayed here on numerous occasions and simply adore this hotel - love sitting out over the lake having my espresso! They sport a great outdoor terrace restaurant, and in the summer breakfast is marvelous

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank r0nkr0nen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing