We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SO SWISS.....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #3 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This means that all staff members are dedicated to you personaly. Of course,lovely furbished rooms with oak walls, the view on the lake is amazing, breafast in the room is full of everything!!!
And the off season prices are extremely reasonnable.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANTAGE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

220 - 226 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a fantastic welcome in the reception.
We did not expect something special because of the late check in.
But as soon as we arrived we felt that we have been waited as special guests.
Room upgrade to a wonderful suite with sea view and the overall atmosphere far exceeded our expectations. All the staff where very helpful and gave us an unforgettable stay.
The waiters also where 100% agile with funny jokes and we enjoyed the piano player.
After a long journey with a little child the Splendide Royal where not just an overnight stay, but a big pleasure.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arnelytter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was really lovely. Beautiful classical decor which brought out the hotel's history, but at the same time very well kept, with modern bathrooms. The service was excellent, both at the front desk and at the restaurant and the breakfast was truly fantastic. I was just a little bit disappointed to see that Wi-Fi internet was not included in the price and you had to purchase a card separately. The cost of the card was quite decent, but I just thought it was strange for such a hotel not to include it. Overall wonderful...

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PidaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have stayed here many times but have only just got around to writing a review for some reason. It really is a beautiful experience and the price we pay through our travel agent is very reasonable - around CHF230 per night, outside the summer season. The common parts of the hotel and the bedrooms in the original building are decorated with early 19th century Italian charm and the high ceilinged rooms are airy and light. I particularly love the crisp cool sheets they use. It's rather like staying as a guest in the family house of an ancient aristocrat who still has the money to keep up appearances.

The cuisine in the restaurant is pleasant and old-fashioned in a good way. The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful in that slightly intimidating and superior fashion that the Swiss Italians have perfected. The bar does a good cocktail and there is usually a live pianist tinkling away as you gaze at the view of the lake. Since my last visit the TVs and the cable system in the rooms have been upgraded and there is now a very good range of international channels available. There was a small box of complimentary handmade chocolates in the room on arrival that was a very nice touch. Check with your bank manager though before taking anything from the minibar!

This is not a lively or trendy hotel but one that provides the calm and serenity of staying somewhere with a long tradition of flawless service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: There is a modern wing to the hotel that I have never stayed in which I imagine opens for the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

We've been there mid march. Everything was perfect, from the start to the end. The hotel offers a free shuttle from and to the railway station. The room was great and the breakfast excellent, the service one of the best we ever received.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OneAdvisedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

If you like high ceilings and historical hotels, then you have found the place to stay at with a magnificent view on the lake. The high ceiling rooms and hotel, does offer spacious rooms that were partially renovated, whereby the bathrooms have obviously been refurbished, while keeping the room furniture to its historical standard and style, which is fine for those who enjoy history and cannot be bothered with having modern times looks in their hotel room. I admittedly enjoyed it, but would opt for a different location, if I was to go to Lugano again in the near future.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SHA12311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We just love this hotel, the staff and the manager are so kind that it is difficult to believe on how they are willing to make our stay a dream in Lugano. Location is just perfect. When we arrived at the hotel, we got a room with lake view beautifully decorated including design sofas (Vico Magistretti) and a wonderful terrace. The manager has provided us a gift, chocolate, water and fruits.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LHWMember
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
546 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
165 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#3 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £221 - £401 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Booking.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing