We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Distinguished Service in a remarkable setting” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Distinguished Service in a remarkable setting”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013 via mobile

I have returned to the Splendide and have witnessed an improvement in service attitude and quality. With the exception of the slight arrogant Maître D at the Restaurant La Veranda, the hotel staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The landscape and views are just beautiful. The rooms are lovely, yet somewhat classy and old-style. New and better beds with better linens would enhance the guests' sentiments of feeling pampered while being away from home. I do recommend to choose the hotel while traveling to the lovely Italian part of Switzerland.

Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    115
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
224
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
115 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

We usually like to stay at newer hotels for their non-frilly looks and modern conveniences, but Hotel Splendide Royal in Lugano made us rethink all that. During our recent trip to Lugano for business, the company booked for us a room at Hotel Splendide Royal, where we enjoyed both excellent modern amenities and the gracious service of a bygone era. The hotel seems to have undergone recent sensible updates and renovation, so although the decor is classic Belle Epoque, it exudes just enough rich elegance without crossing into loud ostentation, and the amenities are definitely not turn-of-the-last century: strong wifi; powerful rain shower; comfortable and very responsive heating & AC; well-designed room lighting with easy control from the foyer or from one's bed (!); quick elevator service; a roomy safe that accommodates our laptop, 2 ipads, and a few other items, etc.. Our room including the bathroom was quite spacious by any standards with a magnificently high ceiling. It was the kind and gracious service that made such an impression on us. It rained upon our arrival (& continued to do so on and off during most of our stay), so the hotel staff delivered an umbrella to our room as a gift with a very whimsical note “We tried our very best, but nature imposed its will” (to be sure, there were numerous umbrellas otherwise available throughout the hotel anyway); housekeeping was twice a day, with a turn-down service; everyone of the staff --from housekeeping, to the staff at breakfast, at the restaurant, and at the bar, to the front desk-- was uniformly polite and kind without being at all stiff or stuffy. After we were done with our work, we wanted to explore some of the surrounding towns, so the staff at the front desk very helpfully located the correct train information, recommended one town over another as the more interesting one to see (we agreed after having seen both), and offered their complimentary shuttle service to the train station. At breakfast, the staff was quick to offer caffeine in its various forms; by the way, the breakfast buffet was bountiful; it included both hot and cold dishes, with quite a variety of vegetarian dishes, and, supposedly accordingly to the staff, they served no pork products, likely to accommodate the not-too-few guests from the Middle East. At dinner, neither our breadbasket nor our water and wine glasses were ever empty for too long. We had an early 6AM departure, the staff at the front desk offered us tea or coffee while we waited for our taxi, and even after we declined, they were available within sight in case our taxi did not show up (it did though).
By the way, their restaurant La Veranda is quite good, but it is small, so book a reservation to be sure. Otherwise, try to have tea or lunch if only to have a view of the lake from the hotel: it really does make one feel privileged!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TEXAS
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2013

The location within Lugano is very good, right on the lake, with a bar and restaurant that have nice views. A 5-7minute walk along the manicured lakeside gets you to the center of town. Every member of the hotel staff I encountered were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room itself was on the small side by American standards but well appointed with a flatscreen tv and of course wifi The bathroom was immaculate with great bath robes and high end designer shampoos etc. I never ate in the hotel but the capuchino was good.I stayed during the high season and the price was commensurate with that. Nothing in Switzerland is inexpensive but still well worth it. Since I haven't stayed at other luxury hotels in Lugano I can't really make comparisons.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niktebul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This means that all staff members are dedicated to you personaly. Of course,lovely furbished rooms with oak walls, the view on the lake is amazing, breafast in the room is full of everything!!!
And the off season prices are extremely reasonnable.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VANTAGE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2013

We had a fantastic welcome in the reception.
We did not expect something special because of the late check in.
But as soon as we arrived we felt that we have been waited as special guests.
Room upgrade to a wonderful suite with sea view and the overall atmosphere far exceeded our expectations. All the staff where very helpful and gave us an unforgettable stay.
The waiters also where 100% agile with funny jokes and we enjoyed the piano player.
After a long journey with a little child the Splendide Royal where not just an overnight stay, but a big pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arnelytter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

The hotel was really lovely. Beautiful classical decor which brought out the hotel's history, but at the same time very well kept, with modern bathrooms. The service was excellent, both at the front desk and at the restaurant and the breakfast was truly fantastic. I was just a little bit disappointed to see that Wi-Fi internet was not included in the price and you had to purchase a card separately. The cost of the card was quite decent, but I just thought it was strange for such a hotel not to include it. Overall wonderful...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PidaHa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris
Level Contributor
77 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2013

I have stayed here many times but have only just got around to writing a review for some reason. It really is a beautiful experience and the price we pay through our travel agent is very reasonable - around CHF230 per night, outside the summer season. The common parts of the hotel and the bedrooms in the original building are decorated with early 19th century Italian charm and the high ceilinged rooms are airy and light. I particularly love the crisp cool sheets they use. It's rather like staying as a guest in the family house of an ancient aristocrat who still has the money to keep up appearances.

The cuisine in the restaurant is pleasant and old-fashioned in a good way. The staff are unfailingly polite and helpful in that slightly intimidating and superior fashion that the Swiss Italians have perfected. The bar does a good cocktail and there is usually a live pianist tinkling away as you gaze at the view of the lake. Since my last visit the TVs and the cable system in the rooms have been upgraded and there is now a very good range of international channels available. There was a small box of complimentary handmade chocolates in the room on arrival that was a very nice touch. Check with your bank manager though before taking anything from the minibar!

This is not a lively or trendy hotel but one that provides the calm and serenity of staying somewhere with a long tradition of flawless service and attention to detail.

Room Tip: There is a modern wing to the hotel that I have never stayed in which I imagine opens for the summer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidFinch9436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing