We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“vey good!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 14 June 2013

- very nice room and a very nice view of the lake
- concierge extremely helpful
- very good breakfast
- friendly staff, trully professional

The pool and spa were closed but we were offered to use the spa of the sister hotel (Eden) which was really enjoyable!

Room Tip: we booked a room with a lake view and this is a must to really enjoy the location!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YaakovJerusalem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (596)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Splendide Royal
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

202 - 208 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 5 June 2013

We planned on staying in the Swiss alps this night but all the areas we wanted to visit were snowed in. Last weekend of may. The three passes thru the alps were closed.

We drove two hours down to Italy. Stopped in Lugano . No info. No wifi. Just drove round and after looking at the lake stopped here.

After two minutes in the lobby my wife comes out to the car and tells me this is going to be great. Reduced price and upgraded room. This was around 6PM.

Every thing from soup to nuts was outstanding. I can go into all the stuff we reviewers write about.. No need on this one. Just sit back and enjoy.

Yes it is expensive. We found out during our stay that it is a member on the"leading hotels".

We were heading to belligo on Lake Como and sharing a condo with a friend for a week. This was the perfect night for a couple before joining him.

I hope the hotel staff reads my review.

PS. I'm still mad about the bar service at the Lucerne Palace. Stayed few days earlier in late may. The Palace staff should come down to this hotel and witness service at its best.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bostonjames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2013

The Splendide is comfortable luxury at its best. Giovanni is the most helpful and gracious concierge. Giuseppe managed a casual, but elegant cocktail party for us on short notice overlooking the lake views. It was perfect. And, nothing is better than the breakfast hosted by a warm and entertaining Maitre D. I look forward to returning soon. Thanks for a great time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2013

I have returned to the Splendide and have witnessed an improvement in service attitude and quality. With the exception of the slight arrogant Maître D at the Restaurant La Veranda, the hotel staff is very friendly and forthcoming. The landscape and views are just beautiful. The rooms are lovely, yet somewhat classy and old-style. New and better beds with better linens would enhance the guests' sentiments of feeling pampered while being away from home. I do recommend to choose the hotel while traveling to the lovely Italian part of Switzerland.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Kurt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2013

We usually like to stay at newer hotels for their non-frilly looks and modern conveniences, but Hotel Splendide Royal in Lugano made us rethink all that. During our recent trip to Lugano for business, the company booked for us a room at Hotel Splendide Royal, where we enjoyed both excellent modern amenities and the gracious service of a bygone era. The hotel seems to have undergone recent sensible updates and renovation, so although the decor is classic Belle Epoque, it exudes just enough rich elegance without crossing into loud ostentation, and the amenities are definitely not turn-of-the-last century: strong wifi; powerful rain shower; comfortable and very responsive heating & AC; well-designed room lighting with easy control from the foyer or from one's bed (!); quick elevator service; a roomy safe that accommodates our laptop, 2 ipads, and a few other items, etc.. Our room including the bathroom was quite spacious by any standards with a magnificently high ceiling. It was the kind and gracious service that made such an impression on us. It rained upon our arrival (& continued to do so on and off during most of our stay), so the hotel staff delivered an umbrella to our room as a gift with a very whimsical note “We tried our very best, but nature imposed its will” (to be sure, there were numerous umbrellas otherwise available throughout the hotel anyway); housekeeping was twice a day, with a turn-down service; everyone of the staff --from housekeeping, to the staff at breakfast, at the restaurant, and at the bar, to the front desk-- was uniformly polite and kind without being at all stiff or stuffy. After we were done with our work, we wanted to explore some of the surrounding towns, so the staff at the front desk very helpfully located the correct train information, recommended one town over another as the more interesting one to see (we agreed after having seen both), and offered their complimentary shuttle service to the train station. At breakfast, the staff was quick to offer caffeine in its various forms; by the way, the breakfast buffet was bountiful; it included both hot and cold dishes, with quite a variety of vegetarian dishes, and, supposedly accordingly to the staff, they served no pork products, likely to accommodate the not-too-few guests from the Middle East. At dinner, neither our breadbasket nor our water and wine glasses were ever empty for too long. We had an early 6AM departure, the staff at the front desk offered us tea or coffee while we waited for our taxi, and even after we declined, they were available within sight in case our taxi did not show up (it did though).
By the way, their restaurant La Veranda is quite good, but it is small, so book a reservation to be sure. Otherwise, try to have tea or lunch if only to have a view of the lake from the hotel: it really does make one feel privileged!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pln1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

The location within Lugano is very good, right on the lake, with a bar and restaurant that have nice views. A 5-7minute walk along the manicured lakeside gets you to the center of town. Every member of the hotel staff I encountered were extremely accommodating and friendly. The room itself was on the small side by American standards but well appointed with a flatscreen tv and of course wifi The bathroom was immaculate with great bath robes and high end designer shampoos etc. I never ate in the hotel but the capuchino was good.I stayed during the high season and the price was commensurate with that. Nothing in Switzerland is inexpensive but still well worth it. Since I haven't stayed at other luxury hotels in Lugano I can't really make comparisons.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Niktebul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This means that all staff members are dedicated to you personaly. Of course,lovely furbished rooms with oak walls, the view on the lake is amazing, breafast in the room is full of everything!!!
And the off season prices are extremely reasonnable.

Room Tip: ask for a lake view room
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VANTAGE21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
148 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £251 - £422 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing