We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, great view!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Older hotel, great view!”
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel with my brother, during a recent road trip, and we have spent two days at the Splendid. Our stay was comfortable, the room was nice and big, and, wow, what a view! The lobby and rooms need some updating, it is true, but this does not make the hotel any bad. Their restaurant is really good, and the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the city center! I would recommend this hotel, but would point out that a lake view room is a must!

Room Tip: Lake view, go for a lake view, it is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    118
    27
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
242
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
basel
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013

a very well maintained historical Hotel. Hotel is elegat with luxury. The view on lake and surrounding is splendid. it's worth taking a room with seeview. The staff is attentive to the guests.
Internet at least in deluxroom is free. Deluxroom very nicely accomodated and enough space with stunning view and balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

For the experienced traveler its rare to find a near perfect hotel. This hotels physical site on the lake is perfect, quiet and ooder fantastic Italian decor. The food is wonderful, we had breakfast daily. Above all the service is splendid, warm, accurate concierge information. The was a minor weakness, the wine by the glass program was simply bad. I recommend a sommelier set up six interesting wines.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelio-Zegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views of Lake Lugano. Excellent hospitality. Rafael at the concierge and Fabrizio in the restaurant made each day of our stay special. The breakfast was outstanding. The hotel truly endeavours to fulfil every demand of its guests. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2013

We stayed two nights at the Hotel Splendide Royal - we wish we could have stayed for longer. Everything exceeded our expectations. The staff were all so friendly and helpful. The concierge service was remarkable - they were extremely knowledgable and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was great - they even have a kids corner which our 11yr old son loved - the staff were all so nice to him and made him feel very welcome. The Hotel is in a great location about a short 10 minute walk along beautiful Lake Lugano. We are hoping to return one day soon.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new part of the hotel in a "Executive Deluxe room" which had a great size...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JudeK_Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
antwerp belgium
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The hotel is an old palace that is renovated and keeps its old charm.
The hotel is on a good spot not to far from the shopping center with a vieuw of the lake.
The room is rather big and well maintaind.
The personel is always very friendly.
Very good breakfast.
The restaurant is of a high quality.
The only thing is that you have to known that there are two buildings (a classique and a modern) and its never mentioned. the classique one is the most beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank willy b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florida
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Stayed here with Tauck Tours (that's another review, Top Notch in every way). We had a lake front room. Large, well appointed, and of course the view was fantastic. The Staff was fantastic and helped us with our every need. Breakfast was always a feast to look forward to and the maître d' was....fantastic. The Hotel itself doesn't have a pool, but has access to an indoor one nearby, sure felt great on a rainy afternoon. Not sure when we're going back to Lugano, but we'll certainly be staying here

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floridaandbeyond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 45 in Lugano
139 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Prestigia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing