We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Old grandeur, with ugly room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old grandeur, with ugly room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

The hotel was not what i expected. The hotel lobby and restaurant nice, but room was old. You do get Etro shampoo etc, but apart from that nothing in the room felt glamourous. I think some are renovated ours not. And at 350 euros a night i expected much more. Must say that the Food was exquite and the staff superb But we didn t like it and cancelled our second night.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

549 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    399
    116
    22
    7
    5
See reviews for
80
230
21
115
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
333 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

Wonderful location on the lake, close to main town and shops. Very friendly staff - breakfast and concierge in particular. Rooms are nice size and well maintained. Recommnedations of local restaurants were ok.

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank David011158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My husband and I just returned from a European trip, and spent 4 nights at the Hotel Splendide Royal. We truly enjoyed our stay. Our room was in the newer part of the hotel, which from the outside was absolutely awful looking, compared to the style and grandeur of the exterior of the older, main part of the hotel. But the room itself was quite lovely, spacious and very well-appointed. The bathroom was beautiful and clean, and very well-stocked with amenities. Best of all was the gorgeous view of the lake from our balcony. We coincidentally were there for the Swiss Harley Days - what a blast watching the Harley parade from our balcony, sipping one of Giuseppe's fabulous mojitos. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, not a hint of the snootiness one sometimes experiences in a 5-star hotel. The maitre d' at breakfast, unfortunately don't know his name, greeted us warmly each morning, and made us feel special. Breakfast was delicious, loads of choices. This place is very comfortable. The main floor of the older building is beautiful. We dined in the restaurant the first night. It was very good, albeit pretty pricey, and the piano player was a wonderful touch. At 10:00, she moved to the lounge, and we enjoyed listening to her there several evenings. It was a beautiful 15 or so minute walk to the town center, which made it a very convenient location. We'd return in a heartbeat! There is an indoor pool, one reviewer wrote that there was no pool, but there definitely is.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the lake are on a main road. They might be a little noisy, but I wouldn't want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lch8497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
42 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have stayed at this hotel with my brother, during a recent road trip, and we have spent two days at the Splendid. Our stay was comfortable, the room was nice and big, and, wow, what a view! The lobby and rooms need some updating, it is true, but this does not make the hotel any bad. Their restaurant is really good, and the hotel is only a few minutes walk from the city center! I would recommend this hotel, but would point out that a lake view room is a must!

Room Tip: Lake view, go for a lake view, it is magnificent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
basel
Level Contributor
36 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013

a very well maintained historical Hotel. Hotel is elegat with luxury. The view on lake and surrounding is splendid. it's worth taking a room with seeview. The staff is attentive to the guests.
Internet at least in deluxroom is free. Deluxroom very nicely accomodated and enough space with stunning view and balcony.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rene M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2013 via mobile

For the experienced traveler its rare to find a near perfect hotel. This hotels physical site on the lake is perfect, quiet and ooder fantastic Italian decor. The food is wonderful, we had breakfast daily. Above all the service is splendid, warm, accurate concierge information. The was a minor weakness, the wine by the glass program was simply bad. I recommend a sommelier set up six interesting wines.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aurelio-Zegna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2013 via mobile

Beautiful views of Lake Lugano. Excellent hospitality. Rafael at the concierge and Fabrizio in the restaurant made each day of our stay special. The breakfast was outstanding. The hotel truly endeavours to fulfil every demand of its guests. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Prateek S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 115 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotels.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing