We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional hotel beautiful rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Traditional hotel beautiful rooms”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Hi,
I stayed for 3 nights with my 3 years old, we had a traditional room , absolutely gorgeous 412, big, spacious with old world furniture and very clean!
The beds are a bit to hard to my taste but manageable .
Personnel it's very very friendly and helpful.
Location it's central we could walk and take the touristic train .
Turn down service it's like a swis clock -:)! Happens at the same time every day, and it really happens every day.
If back to Lugano I will stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carmen274887
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

566 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    411
    117
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
83
238
21
119
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is at an amazing location overlooking the lake and very centrally located. The newly restored rooms and very well appointed. The problem was with air conditioning. The heating was on when temperature outside was 18*c - had to keep the windows open , Mosquitos had a feast on us. Breakfast restaurant staff is worst ever seen. Absolutely non professional with a 3* training. Had not courtesy to remove stuff when 6 tables were having their meal. Be careful they charge for parking which they don't mention when booking/ check in. No concierge or any person at help desk post 10pm for any info. Doesn't deserve to be a part of LHW. Toilets are very comfortable and well appointed.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PradipSKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Not only a lovely and comfortable hotel, the staff goes above and beyond. Rafael, the concierge, was instrumental in getting my lost watch back to me in an effortless and timely manner. It's not often you find that kind of service. I would recommend this property to anyone who wanted to have a beautiful view of the lake and a wonderful staff to depend on.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sjaenrdryy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
342 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

My wife & I spent 3 nights at this Hotel, beginning our "Tauck , "Italian Lakes: Venice, Florence & Rome Tour". Hotel staff very accommodating, and our nicely sized room which over looked Lake Lagano, also had an outside balcony . Breakfast provided each morning was very good with great service!

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Harpo208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
75 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I had the privilege of staying at this lovely hotel on 4 different occasions in 2011. My husband and I had previously visited Lugano in 2005 and very much enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Each of my 2011 stays were excellent and lived up to my expectations. The hotel will arrange to pick you up at Lugano airport or the train station and return you and the end of your visit.

First 2011 stay was in April for 5 nights with 2 of my teenage sons as we came to look at Franklin College Switzerland. We had 2 classic lakefront rooms in the Palace which included their extensive breakfast buffet. Rooms were large, luxurious & quiet. Beautiful marble bathrooms. The view was incredible with the lake, snowcapped mountains and city. Service was exceptional, especially Tiziano in theEmerald Bar. We enjoyed 3 evening meals in the bar and I felt very comfortable in the bar as a woman alone after my sons went upstairs.

I returned again for 7 nights with my husband and 18 year old son in August 2011 as our son decided to go to college in Lugano!! As it was extremely hot, I decided to try their executive rooms Lakefront which have a large balcony with chairs. They are located in the modern wing which is a concrete building next to the palace but is connected to the hotel lobby. The rooms are very nice, but not quite as luxurious as the rooms in the palace which I prefer. Service was again excellent and many of the staff welcome me back by name! Fabio's service at breakfast each day was outstanding. He offered to cook my son just about anything he may have wanted. Service in The Emerald Bar was once again outstanding with Tiziano and Head Barman Mario.We very much enjoyed our conversations with both gentlemen. Drinks and the complimentary appetizers were all excellent One night after 11:30pm I mentioned to my husband that I was hungry for a proscuitto sandwich and one appeared 5 minutes later! We had 2 excellent dinners in their formal restaurant, La Veranda. The wine list is extensive and the food is truly 5 star. The Maitre'd Nino is most personable and knowledgeable. Dinner is definitely a formal affair. It is a shame that some guests to not wear proper attire for such a classy venue. We enjoyed their indoor pool and the sun lounges on the front deck. Unfortunately the pool is not open in the "off" season.

Husband and I returned again in November 2011 for a surprise 3 night weekend visit to our son. We booked a classic Lakefront room in the Palace for ourselves and another as a treat away from the dorm for our son. The rooms were very luxurious and both had very large ornate crystal chandeliers. Both had multiple closets. We were again welcomed back by just about everyone on staff by name. Mario, Tiziano, Nino and Fabio again took excellent care of us. Dinner at La Veranda again exceeded our expectations.

We returned again right before Christmas for 3 nights with our other 2 teenage sons and my 81 year old mother-in-law to pick up our son at college and start a 2 week European Christmas trip. We had 3 Classic Lakefront rooms, 1 of which had a balcony the size of the whole room! My Mother in law lived in Europe in the 1980's and has travelled extensively around the world and absolutely loved everything about this hotel and La Veranda restaurant. Again we were welcomed back by staff as if we were family. There was a huge storm in Zurich and it shut down all the airports which was a nightmare. The only way to Lugano was by train so we called to let them know we would be arriving by train somewhere between 10 - midnight. Storm was so bad that our cell phones stopped working. Staff was waiting with 3 vehicles to pick us up when we finally arrived at 11:30pm. Staff definitely went above and beyond all expectations! Nino and staff in La Veranda and Mario and staff in The Emerald Bar are THE BEST!

Unfortunately our son transferred to a University in the US. We are hoping one of our other 2 sons will decide to go to school in Lugano for a semester or even the whole 4 years. No matter what, this is a hotel that my husband andI plan to come back to many more times in the future.

Room Tip: You MUST get a classic lakefront room. Deluxe rooms in the modern wing are cheaper but in my opinio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RPV5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

Across from the Lake Lugano waterfront, this hotel is the epitome of old-world graciousness. Food is fantastic. The breakfast buffet has many novel delights as well as traditional favorites. Dinner is equally inspired. Rooms are beautifully kept up -- the hotel is more than a century old -- but furnishings could be a little more comfortable. Service, location, and cuisine make this a memorable spot.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susannah111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
132 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

It is a very well located hotel
Nice lobby, ok rooms although quite big the furniture needs an update
The ETRO cosmetics do compensate all the negatives :)
Def worth taking the lake view its beautiful!!

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Olitza B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 46 in Lugano
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 46 in Lugano
132 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Agoda, Prestigia, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing