We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lugano's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 6 October 2008

We are frequent travelers to top hotels. So if you are looking for a great hotel in or near Lugano, where the service is great and where you will be treated like a guest, well this is it. Their
concierge "Guiuseppe" so very helpful and he helped us to enjoy our time there. He even got our car washed. Get a room overlooking the lake where you can just sit in the evening and enjoy the view or go to their first class restaurant for some great food. This hotel has a terrifc location too, near both the shopping district and the old town where you can enjoy a nice lunch at one of the cafes. And this hotel is not so large that you get lost or small that you feel hemmed in. It is filled with a nice European decor that makes you feel special.

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank eaglealan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

313 - 319 of 625 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2008

We stayed at the Hotel Splendide August 2008. The hotel is gorgeous, great location, fantastic breakfast, helpful staff, beautiful rooms. We stayed in the junior suite in the older section that was refurbished. If you can swing for $700 a night it is incredible. It had a huge balcony looking over the lake. I'm sure there are less expensive rooms with similar views. Ra NYC

3  Thank RaPZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2008

If you are looking for a traditional swiss hotel, try here. Excellent food (anything you want), top class in the restaurant. Pretty much everything you would expect from Swiss Deluxe. Best to get a room at the front, the back ones just look onto blocks of flats.
Individual air con in rooms, big bathrooms, quiet, very polite establishment, but cater for all sorts, singles to the super rich.
Limited parking but they deal with it for you. Some of the outside shutters don't work. I like it dark!, but apart from that all A OK.

  • Stayed: July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank katydrAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2008

We just stayed at the Splendide Royal hotel in Lugano, during our weekend break, and had an excellent time there. The hotel is located in Paradiso, a suburb 15min walk distance from the city center. It's composed of 2 buildings, the historic one, where superior, deluxe rooms as well as all of the suites are located , and a new one, with standard and executive room. Upon arrival we were kindly welcomed and escorted to our executive room on the 4th floor by a lovely receptionist. While the corridors were not that impressive, the room was the complete opposite. It was clean, spacious, with silk tapestry , TFT television, a big bathroom with double sinks and bidet, and a balcony with a wonderful view over the lake. Breakfast was good, not excellent, but quite nice considering it was included in all room prices. Overall we recommend this hotel to anyone looking to have a nice luxurious weekend break in Lugano.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank greece4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2007

An elegant and old-fashioned (in the nicest sense of the description) ‘wedding cake’ of a hotel. We had a very comfortable suite with a balcony and great views over the lake to the mountains and the fountain rising from the lake (those of a certain age will remember Alexandra Bastedo standing in front of it at the beginning of ‘The Champions’!).

Our suite was just over 500 euros – which is not cheap of course – but it was huge, with two bathrooms, two showers, a wonderful bed, masses of hanging space, mini bar, great toiletries, lots of towels, large bowl of complimentary fruit and delicious free box of chocolates.

The hotel was very quiet so it was quite lonely in the bar and restaurant. The barman was charming and the waiting staff in the restaurant are quite formal, again in the nicest sense and we rather enjoy that (though I suspect some people might describe it as ‘stuffy’). The food was pretty good but quite old-style and substantial!

There is garage parking if you are driving and it’s extremely pleasant to walk alongside the lake, even in November. The pretty pastels of the old buildings cast a delightful shadow on the lake.

The town is filled with high end luxury shops but there is a fair amount of construction going on a little way down from the hotel. However they are doing this in the most amazingly efficient way (e.g. the lorries have to be washed before they leave the building site and join the public road).

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank headfortheborder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2007

Don't let the photos deceive you!! Not luxury as it appears online, an old, worn out hotel in bad need of renovation. Stained carpet, upholstery, wall paper and drapes. We discovered bits of brownish spots (resembled blood) in various areas of the room during our stay. Did not truly discover the stains until late into the second night otherwise we would have asked for a different room. We jokingly now refer to it as the “blood hotel!” View from our room of the concrete parking area. Only good thing was the breakfast downstairs. But don’t be fooled if you order the included breakfast to your room, we were charged $10 per glass of “fresh squeezed OJ” they said the “fresh squeezed” was NOT a part of the free breakfast upon checkout however failed to mention this when we ordered. Manager was rude once we brought up our complaints. We did receive a small discount but the manager was not pleasant about it. Booked on Travelocity and staff made me feel like I have already received a very discounted rate. So, should I expect a dirty room? Many other places to discover in Lugano, this is not one of them!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Chaska16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2007

Having found our original hotel to be of a very poor standard indeed we drove around Lugano to find somewhere better and decided to just blow the price and stay somewhere luxurious! As the Splendide is in the Leading Hotels of the World we thought it a safe bet and once we had a brief look inside we decided to take the price (£280 b+b) on the chin in the category marked "We only go on holiday once a year!". Well I have to say our little treat was worth every penny as we were allocated a spacious, modern and well equipped room with a view over Lake Lugano which is quite simply breathtaking! The food was great, the staff lovely and the standards of a class you'd hope for at the price. If you are feeling lavish then spoil yourself on this magnificent hotel. My six year old also had plenty of fun in the pool, which although indoors was open at the front to give an outdoor feel on a hot Swiss day!

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Monty27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
551 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
171 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £215 - £368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Prestigia, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing