We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Splendide Royal
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$306
US$238
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$500
US$440
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$249
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
US$226
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
US$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$281
US$258
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano(Lugano)
US$149
US$146
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$180
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hotel Villa Selva(Lugano)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (647)
Filter reviews
647 results
Traveller rating
474
132
27
8
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
474
132
27
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake luganola verandanew wingoriginal buildinglake viewturn down servicebelle epoqueold worldmodern amenitieshigh levelan incredible viewfabulous hotelgrand old hotelshort strollhotel staffbreakfast buffettrain station
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
182 - 187 of 647 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We spent two nights here and were delighted with the property, location and service. We had a large clean 6th floor room facing the lake. When we first arrived, we went to the terrace bar while our bags were being delivered; delightful service with a (free) assortment of canapes to accompany our drinks. Very good A/C in our room, not always a given in Switzerland. Convenient location just off the promenade, a short walk from both the lake cruise terminal and the funicular. Breakfast buffet had extensive cold selections, not much in the way of hot items. Overall, a fine hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saintlouisan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We had a lake facing room at Hotel Splendide Royal which provided nice lake views. The room was beautiful, the hotel was air conditioned. The bathroom had a wonderful shower, nice bath products. There was no coffee maker in the room, however, we did have a small refrigerator, safe, and complimentary water. There was only 1 English speaking TV channel - CNN. The town has a very nice tree covered walkway most of the way around the lake. We took the path from in front of the hotel all the way to a city park which was very nice, bench lined, an area where kids could sit at tables and color, read books, paint or draw at easels set up - very family friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovetotravelAtlanta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice comments.

We are glad you have liked the room’s decor and have enjoyed the comfortable shower.

It surprises us that there was only one English speaking channel on the TV, as normally there are several British, American and International TV channels in English.
We have asked our technicians to verify our entertainment system. Thank you for telling us.

We hope that you will soon give us the opportunity to welcome you back at the Hotel Splendide Royal and we send you our kindest regards.

Yours sincerely,
Giuseppe Rossi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I had the opportunity to stay at the Splendide Royal a few years ago and I must say, the hotel was a bit run down and not the top notch you would expect in a hotel of that category, he definitively needed a revamp and new blood !
Well, congratulations to the Manager in charge because he turned the hotel into a classy and elegant palace deserving its overall 5* !! Spotless and impeccable rooms, wonderful amenities, great breakfast buffet, attentive and friendly and well groomed staff.
They added a very nice terrace which allows you to have your meals outdoors.
The view from my room is just unbelievable, for those who know Lugano... nothing to envy Lake Como !
I particularly loved the shining candles in the hallways at night reflecting on impeccably waxed marble floors.
Defenitively the place to stay in Lugano especially if you want to be in walking distances from the elegant shopping area!

Room Tip: I stayed in the old original wing, 4th floor lake view well insulated windows, no street noises at all !
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thombrug64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We recently spent six nights at this hotel and had a room in the newer part of the hotel which had a balcony with lake view. The room was very comfortable and quiet. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main square,shopping area and restaurants. The Paradisio boat dock is only 5 minutes away where all the boat trips go from. The buffet breakfast was excellent and all the staff are very attentive. Unfortunately there is no pool at the hotel (not when we were there) so you have to go to their sister Hotel, The Eden, and they provide a shuttle bus. We had dinner in the restaurant on one occasion which was excellent and what you would expect at a hotel of this standard.

Room Tip: A higher room in the newer part of the hotel with lake view and balcony
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richmond238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

It was really a nice and comfortable stay. First you will notice you are in the Italian section from the way the staff treat you; friendly and smiling at all times and ready to serve you with pleasure. I didn’t get a room with a lake view but I saw one and the view was beyond imagination, so book a room on the lake or do not at all. Bedrooms are nice, clean, and very comfortable. Living rooms could be better with more organization of the furniture. Bathrooms are of good space and great amenities. FOOD in this hotel is something you do not want to miss, I advise you to have all meals in the hotel, and specially the breakfast they sure know how to make you happy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abdulaziz_alnaimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews