We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a price-quality ratio!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Splendide Royal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Splendide Royal
Ranked #2 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Porvoo
Level Contributor
82 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“What a price-quality ratio!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2010

What a hotel! A grand hotel in Lugano on the lake. I just booked four nights through my conference's accommodation link. Splendide Royal was the first to pop in to my screen. The price fit into my budget, so I booked it. Afterwards I had a closer look on Tripadvisor and hotel's own website. Quite promising. But the reality was much better. Friendly staff and nice service. Very good breakfast. Beautiful rooms especially in the old part of the house. I had a huge double room with a dressing room and big bathroom. Very elegant and sophisticated. My room was a smoking room but I couldn't smell it at all. I could have spent more time in the hotel just enjoying the comfortable room but my conference days were very long.

The conference price of the hotel was very reasonable. This was perhaps the best quality-price ratio ever.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JAJORI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    387
    115
    23
    6
    5
See reviews for
79
224
21
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2010

Old world style Hotel offering a perfectly luxurious environment. Beautful flower decoration everywhere, the floriste is a real artist. We had a large very well and elegantly decorated room in the new wing, marble bathroom. Very clean, good, compoetent and friendly service. Beautiful view over the lake and Monte Bré; the only bémol is the road which passes between the Hotel and the lake but the noise does not bother in the room. Tasty and copious breakfast buffet. High value for money

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Markus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 10 February 2010
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are flattered that you enjoyed your stay and our breakfast. Our hotel is indeed offering beautiful views of the lake and the mountains and is also ideally situated to offer excursion opportunities to Mount Bré or Mount San Salvatore. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2009

I've stayed in about 10 of the Leading Hotels and they are all basically the same - excellent older hotels with a slightly musty smell, good service, luxury freebies, and nice views. I loved the shampoo, fluffy robe, and the free chocolates. Breakfast buffet was also really good! There is free internet in the room - 2 terminals in the lobby with internet were not working very well when I was there so I gave up. If you arrive at the train station, the hotel is a 15+ minute walk down the steep hill towards the lake and it is difficult (confusing!) to enter the hotel from the back because they do not have adequate signage (tip: take the small corner stairs to the right and you will pop out in the lobby). They give free shuttles back up the hill to the train station and I would not recommend trying to walk, especially with luggage. Lots of shopping and restaurants are on the lake strip within a 5 minute walk.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrazilBilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 26 October 2009
Thank you for your positive remarks about our hotel, the rich breakfast buffet and the amenities
in our rooms.
It is a pity that you were not able to use our complimentary shuttle transportation from the train
station of Lugano, which we would gladly have arranged for you. We appreciate you noting that this is
a service we provide to all our guests, so we hope you will have a chance to benefit from it
during your next stay at the Hotel Splendide Royal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2009

The hotel has an excellent location Lugano, 10 mins from the city center. The rooms on the lake have an great view (it is very much worth upgrading to the lake view rooms). We stayed in the new (executive) wing, which is priced a little lower than the main building, but I find it to be more appealing. The lake view rooms are a little larger than the other rooms, and are a good size with a comfortable bathroom (but no separate stand alone shower), the bath tub and shower are in one. The rooms have a flat screen TV but no DVD player and a few English channels mainly news.

The hotel has a nice mid sized indoor pool with large glass windows opening to the lake and side view with a comfortable outdoor terrace. It is not really a lap pool, but great fun for kids.

The lobby is grand and has nice sitting areas overlooking the lake as is the main restaurant (la Verenda) which has a nice terrace dinning area. The style is very classical typical of many Swiss hotels. However, the restaurant was not children friendly. The senior staff in the restaurant did not make us feel welcome with children and especially at dinner where they made it obvious that they did not like having children around (which was also evident by a lack of children’s menu). At breakfast the service was a little more relaxed and the younger staff made me and my family feel welcome, in particular Fabrizio who provided us and many other guests with exceptional service. As much as possible I would direct my requests to him in order to avoid the other less friendly (senior) staff. Overall the breakfast offering was very average as I found typical in other 5 star Swiss hotels, including some of the highest rated ones in the country. Since breakfast is often included in the rate there is a lack of focus on it.

The room service was a major disappointment. The deliver cart did not have a hot tray. And when they brought the soup it was NOT covered. I was shocked how soup could be delivered this way not only will it get cold but also from a hygiene prospective it was unacceptable. When I pointed that out to the waiter he was indifferent about it. Also, when we ordered a Cesar salad (which was not on the menu) the room service insisted that we order it with chicken or shrimp and then grossly overcharged us for it; CHF 52.

The front desk staff is friendly and the concierge is very welcoming and eager to be of assistance. This was my second stay in this property. If I come back to Lugano I will most likely stay here again, but would not be as enthusiastic about brining my kids.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbdullahKuwait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 2 October 2009
Thank you very much for your observations that we will make good use of.

We apologize that some of our senior staff remarks’ may have come across as if our hotel is not children friendly. While our hotel welcomes families, it is our priority to ensure the quietness within the hotel for our guests.

With regards to the room service, we are somewhat surprised that the food was not covered as our hygiene requirements demand that we cover meals properly and this is a standard procedure for us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2009

Beautiful view but incredible amount of traffic on the street which runs along the front of the hotel. Although terrace is inviting, because of traffic and fumes one cannot enjoy it. Service was exceptional until a bus load of tourists arrived from Brazil.
We stayed four nights but as soon as the tourists arrived we were forgotten.
Pool area needs to be updated. Fitness room is very small.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeanTip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 23 September 2009
Thank you very much for choosing the Hotel Splendide Royal.
We appreciate your positive remarks about our service.
Our hotel is indeed one of the few 5-star hotels in Lugano directly facing the lake. Our terrace offers great views and we understand the traffic was caused by some work nearby to be completed in the near future. Our hotel welcomes mostly individual guests that receive detailed attention. However, in some occasions we host small groups such as the one you mentioned that are attending a business conference in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2009

In August this hotel is extremely expensive. In August, when a heatwave is crushing europe, this hotel has air conditioning, a floating platform on Lake Lugano courtesty of its partner Hotel Eden, and a swimming pool protected from the blazing sun .
The floating platform has a bar, restaruant service and the most cozy deck chairs I have ever had the pleasure to read and sleep on....with a view of Monte Bre to boot!
The Spledide staff were amazing...we were often greeted by name, given helpful information and service. Our room, and the rest of the hotel, was very plushly decorated. We had fabric on the walls with batting behind it, which made for a soft an quiet room. This is probably standard in lux hotels, but we stay in lux hotels so infrequently that I thought it worth mentioning. We indulged further and got a room with balcony on the lake--- this was well worth it, we even enjoyed a dinner of bread, cheese and wine cozied up next to that romantic view. Not far from the hotel is the trailhead to San Salvatore...the hotel staff thought me a bit wacky to want to hike it instead of taking the rail...but it was great excercise (I took the rail down.)

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TeresaSummer2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendideroyal, General Manager at Hotel Splendide Royal, responded to this review, 23 September 2009
Thank you much for writing such a nice comment on our hotels in Lugano.
We appreciate that you noted that all our rooms offer air conditioning, and we are glad to read that you could enjoy our some of our home made bread during the dinner on the balcony of your hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.3 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
1.2 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.4 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Splendide Royal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Splendide Royal

Property: Hotel Splendide Royal
Address: riva Antonio Caccia 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Lugano
#2 Business Hotel in Lugano
#2 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
#3 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Green Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Splendide Royal 5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed inside an iconic Belle Epoque palace, the Splendide Royal is a refined hotel with a familiar atmosphere where 19th Century's grace blends with international contemporary flair. A state-of-the-art personilized service is provided by well trained and skilled staff, who quietly ensures the guests a pampering of local experience, through courtesy, dedication and attention to detail. Its tradition of hospitality, attentions and fine dining is valued by royal families, celebrities and famous artists since its opening in 1887. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Splendide Royal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Splendide Royal Hotel
Splendide Royal Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing