We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not as expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not as expected”
Reviewed 13 August 2013 via mobile

Nice furniture and hotel but the rooms are not that clean. Linons and tawels are not clean. Staff are not that helpful, they don't have any conections with any travel agent to help visitors. Housekeeping do not refill the empty napkins and tissues. If you got the chance to take a room in a high floor you will be able to see some of the lake view. The hotel has a nice location. You can walk for 15 min to reach lugano centrale.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heba-83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    213
    238
    52
    20
    12
See reviews for
200
137
14
126
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

A very beautiful and modern hotel with well appointed rooms and fantastic bathroom with magic glass wall. The pool and terrace are beautiful but it was extremely expensive at €295 a night. Just a good job we were only staying one night.

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Golden-oldie-london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Lugano was just a stop over for us, so the distance from the centre wasn't an issue. It's a very short walk from the lake and there are a number of restaurants on the lake-side, so that was all that mattered.

As its a new hotel, the space and quality of the rooms was excellent and it has the all important air con. It was in the low 30s on our visit, so this was very welcome.

Reception service was excellent, with staff who spoke English extremely well.

We didn't eat there, but the prices seemed respectable for Switzerland and the drink prices were fine.

What was expensive was the parking - 20 CHF per night!! By far and away the most expensive of the 11 places we stayed at on our holiday. More expensive than Chamonix, Zermatt, Bern and Interlaken.

Room Tip: The higher up floors will naturally have better views, as its a hotel in a very built up area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ross D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

Room: Clean but the single beds are so small. It is like the beds are for very small children. The pillow are far soooo soft both on the bed and the extra one in the closet.

The location: ok but it's not on the street by the lake or on the hill over looking to the lake from the mountain. I was fooled by the advertising photos that the hotel present on websites. It s the photo they took on the swimming pool area which on the wall they make a very long wide big vinyl wall of the picture of lake and mountain.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayfunkykay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

The hotel is less than a year old, is well decorated and the room is just big enough. The window opens, safe, mini bar and iron on request. A cool privacy screen as well. It is on the other side of town though.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melkensher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013

The Lugano Novotel was completed in July 2012 so was less than a year old when we stayed and in lovely condition.
At reception they were extremely helpful as we had arrived without all the necessary documents. However they went out of their way to sort this out for us and did so in a very friendly manner.
The only (minor) downside to the stay was the average quality of the breakfast buffet. Otherwise everything else was great and the outdoor pool a real bonus. A nice touch was to find that our room was already prepared with a child bed.
Many thanks to the staff who were really welcoming.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
4 Thank confidence_interval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#7 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
0.8 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Property: Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Address: via San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing