We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good modern hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
111 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Good modern hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2014

The staff was very friendly. The room was modern. Bath was also very good (beside of the missing toilet brush) with rain shower system. The bed was perfect. The room was very silent and I could not hear noise from outside. Free Wifi is also available in the hotel.

I would like to mention the restaurant which was really commendable for having dinner.
I just had an express breakfast which also ok.

The value for money compared with some other hotels in Lugano is very good. I can recommend the hotel and will come back next month for more than just one night.
After this stay I might write a more detailed review.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nuschi_on_tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    206
    230
    49
    19
    12
See reviews for
194
136
14
115
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

I stayed here for 4 nights while attending a conference for work. It was a little further away from the venue than some other hotels, but I saw that it would be a nice walk along the lake, so I booked it (and it really is a nice walk along the lake). It costs about 30 francs from the airport to the hotel.

Reception staff were friendly but other than that, the rest of the staff seem a bit indifferent. I had an executive room so had fast internet which was appreciated, although they only gave me a code for 72 hours for a 4 night stay, so it ran out by the last evening and I couldn't be bothered to go back down to reception to get a new code. Slippers and a bathrobe are always a plus. The room was nice and clean, but a bit on the hot side. You can see straight through to the bathroom from the bedroom which was kind of strange. Bed was comfortable but I tend to not like big, fluffy pillows and they have a lot of those. No view of the lake since the hotel is set a few minutes away from it. There is no complimentary water in the room, but I always just drink tap water when I can, so I am fine with that. The area in general is fairly quiet other than traffic noise so it's quiet enough to sleep at night.

Although some people think the hotel is overpriced, I think it's pretty standard for Switzerland. I paid about 200 francs a night for the room which I think is pretty normal. Breakfast, however, was overpriced and not included in the room, so I skipped it, even if it was being paid for by my work.

I took room service one night. It was ok but since I had paid for my room on arrival, I had to go back down to the bar to pay for room service, defeating the purpose of room service. So remember to keep a pre-authorization at reception if you are going to buy add-on services or else you will have to pay up in cash each time.

In general, it's ok for a novotel. I'm rating this as 3 out of 5 dots since, like the staff, I'm feeling a bit indifferent about them. Having said that, I'd be fine with staying here again and I could recommend this as a place to stay in Lugano.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GloJul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian S, Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear GLOJUL guest,
we thank you for taking time to post this comment. We are realy sorry that some of our services did not meet your expectations, neverless we are wery happy to read that you will come back and you recomand our Hotel. Please apologies for the desagries with the WLAN Code and that you did not get credit on the room service we shared it with the Team in order to get better solutions for the future. Refering to the Glas in the badroom you have a buttom in the bathroom where you can obscure the glas to get more intimity. Two bottles of mineral water in all our rooms are free of charge and we have for sure rooms whis smaller beds 90*200 so for your next stay with us we will be please to offer it to you just let us know it by the resevation.
We look to welcoming you again at your Novotel Lugano-Paradiso
Sunny regards from Lugano
Christian Schreiner
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Service is very good and staff is very welcoming. The only thing I didnt like was the lack of privacy in the bathroom. Other than that, very clean and comfy beds. Wifi is also very good. I was working from my room most of the day and didnt have any issues. Very close to San Salvatore Funiculare and about 20 minute walk to the city center.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Huguettefran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

My past experience with Novotel was not a good one. I stayed last October 2013 at the Novotel in Monaco and I was not very happy with the hotel. Since Lugano was a spur of the moment trip for us, we had a difficult time finding a reasonably priced hotel until we chanced upon Novotel Lugano Paradiso. I personally did not want to stay in any Novotel but we were left with no other choice. To our surprise, it turned out to be a pleasant experience. The room given to us was new, clean, spacious and well designed. Our bed was a lot better from the one I slept in Monaco. Pillows were fluffy and sheets were all new. I loved everything about it. The view wasn't that spectacular and location was a bit far from the center but it was quiet and easy to get to from the train station. Wifi was free and available and strong at all times. Lastly, the price per night was just right. I would recommend this hotel to my friends and relatives.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Taguirre131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Uneventful stay, really friendly staff. The hotel is a little bit on the overprice side but the location is really good.
Multimedia in the room is really bad, they can improve this in so many ways. They have a multimedia port with Hdmi, USB and audio video outlets had some problems with it and when I call maintenance they explained to me that this feature in the rooms does not work at all. So if you are planning to bring your gadgets be aware.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Gapurcell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CRoland, Deputy Manager at Novotel Lugano Paradiso, responded to this review, 22 August 2014
Dear Guest "Gapurcell",
thank you very much for your review and your comment about your stay in our Novotel Lugano. I'm happy that our staff has provided you a nice stay and that our position in Lugano-Paradiso was suitable to you.
We are sorry that your experience with our Multimedia plug did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.
Short after your comment we checked all of the plugs and they work perfect. So we hope to welcome you another time in our Novotel Lugano.
Best regards from Lugano-Paradiso
Christian Roland
Deputy Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Spent a week here on business. Very modern, clean hotel very close to Lake Lugano. Not a lot of nice restaurants close by but 15-20 minute walk to central shopping district. I was here in January so the weather was not the best but still very beautiful. Showers may be hard to get in and out for older guests as the tubs are elevated.

Room Tip: Ask for a room NOT over the pool. Even though I was here during the winter when no one was swimming...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ThorUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
valbonne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014 via mobile

Very professional new hotel. The restaurant was almost empty and a bit cold but dinner was very good. A nice experience a nice place for business trip. Breakfast price is expensive. 20.00chf so I tried the continental breakfast at the bar. Very disappointed. Looks like they want you to be as uncomfortable as possible. one croissant, one canned orange juice and a coffee. We had to add extras (charged) to get an acceptable breakfast. For the one at Novotel headquarter who never traveled except on Autogril or Total restaurants a continental breakfast is bread butter jams and cofffeeS with an S or theas. Not a highway gas station breakfast. Bedrooms are very nice, large and with a tricky St Gobain glass window between bathroom and bedroom.

Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank stephaneValbonne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel de la Paix
Hotel de la Paix
#9 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Novotel Lugano Paradiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Novotel Lugano Paradiso

Property: Novotel Lugano Paradiso
Address: via San Salvatore 11, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Novotel Lugano Paradiso 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, HRS, Ebookers and TravelUp so you can book your Novotel Lugano Paradiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing