We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 August 2011

Wonderful location! Also very close to Italy. Great restaurant with amazing view on the lake and the food is excellent, they are very nice to children. Good service overall, people are very nice. Rooms are big and the 2 pools are great. No view in Residence, so you need to go to the Villa restaurant to enjoy the beautiful view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 1CAL99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (536)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

162 - 168 of 536 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2011

The "Residence" was such a disappointment after seeing pictures and checking in at the beautiful" Villa". Had 2 rooms: one Jr. Suite (Room 222) was large enough, but very poorly and confusingly furnished, really very ugly. The living room and bedroom had very high ceilings with plain white walls, no art to speak of, damask-covered furniture completely lacking in style that didn't fit the contemporary "feel" of the architecture of the room; very unattractive and minimally furnished. Not miniminally furnished in a cool, contemporary vibe; but minimally furnished in a "we don't have a theme here" vibe. Bedroom was small, white, no art, no dresser (only one long shelf on the wall)--so bad I took a picture and sent back to my AmEx Platinum travel agent asking him to find me a beautiful hotel in Lugano. Other room (Room 300, a "studio" style) was only kind of cool. Slightly better decor, but the art on the walls was sooooo out of place, barely an acceptable room. The Villa is a beautiful, historic building with lovely grounds and presence. The Residence is across the street and very unattractive,and strange: poured pink concrete walls in halls, and dark green METAL doors. Checked out early after one night and went to Paris. Staff, however, was lovely and so impressive. Breakfast (included) was wonderful and extensive. And, of course, Lake Lugano is breathtaking.

Room Tip: My 2 rooms at the Residence, sadly, look NOTHING like the pictures. If you want beautiful rooms, g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cmnjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2011

We booked a room at this hotel for a nice weekend break away. When we arrived and wanted to check in we were told that our rooms are not located in that lovely building that one can see on the website but at the "Residence" which is a totally different building about 200m away from the main place. Instead of walking us there, we were given an umbrella (it was raining!) and some walking instructions! Already, not a 5 star service!
When we arrived at the Residence, we were pretty shocked: it is actually a dark, old building, no view on the lake. The place must have been built in the 80ties and not renovated until now. The room was big but old fashioned. The bathroom was not renovated and corresponds to a (today) 3 star standard. There were only 2 towels in the shower, low quality amenities. The main lamp in the room was flickering and the huge lamp over the bed was hanging to the left side (because the holder was broken). The minibar has not separate lights, so during the night you cannot see anything and you have to turn on the big lights (and wake your sleeping partner). The room doors are so thin that we could hear every word of conversations of the people walking in the hallway. In particular, service people were speaking loudly in the hallway. When staying at the Residence, you actually dont really get to spend time at the main building. Even breakfast is served at the Residence. Food is extremely overpriced, a simple cheese toast in the bar costs 18 CHF (the cheapest choice on the bar menu). So all in all, we were extremely disappointed of the place and would not recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank GlobalTravaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2011

Dear Guest,

Firstly we would like to Thank you very much for taking the time sharing your comments and thoughts concerning your stay. Taking the time to give feedback helps us to see more the needs and demand of our customers and regularly evaluate our services.

Of course we understand that your expectations staying in our Main building while you instead had booked the residence can lead to disappointment, even though you have access to all facilities in the Villa.

All your comments have been taken seriously in consideration and will be discussed further with the Management to avoid any repetition.

Nevertheless we hope to welcome you again with us during your next visit or Stop over in Lugano

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2011

What a lovely hotel...
Up in the hills and with breathtaking views of the lake....just sit back and enjoy.
This place just sets you back in time and makes you feel special
Excellent food and super service

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shefalipoddar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with us. We are honoured to see that you had a good time here with us and hopefully you not only spread the news but also return again shortly.
Kind regards
Villa Principe Leopoldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Leopoldo is total luxary- set high on a mountain overlooking Lake Lugano-because it is so close to Italy and Lake Como it is the perfect combo of sheer beauty and luxury. The setting/pool/rooms/ and location are just manificent. Lugano lake region is gorgeous- and there are fabulous restaurants and things to see nearby- IF you even want to leave the hotel..! Romanic and Wonderful- First Class and worth it!

Karen Dipaolo -San Francisco

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vhatzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2011

Dear Karen,
Thank you for your kind words and for the effort sharing your remarks- we highly appreciate it.
It is fanatstic to read that you had a good time with us and also had a chance to experience the area of Lugano.
We hope you had a safe journey back home. Looking forward welcoming you again.
Kind regards
Villa Principe Leopoldo

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2011

I stayed at the Residence for a long weekend on business, and I was somewhat let down. I found the decor to be tacky and although the room was spacious it was like a studio style rather than separate rooms. There was a bowl of fruit with some water bottles, no room service other than pizza delivery from a local restaurant, and a gas station grocery store a 5 minute drive away. I was really sort of shocked - I'd expected huge luxury for the price and star rating but that's not what I got. Maybe the hotel is different? I won't be staying here again, it's certainly not worth the money.

Room Tip: Stay at the hotel, not the residence.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thoma22d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Revenue Mananger at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us for your short holiday break. We appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments and experiences with us and other guests.

Your feedback is important for us as it gives us the opportunity to improve our services and offers and we are very sad to hear that your overall stay has not been up to your expectations.

Hopefully we would have the honour and welcome you back in the Main Building of the former Residence of Principe Leopoldo - the Villa and impress you with the services, facilities and attention we normally present to all our valuable customers.

Kind regards
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2011

For Winter Holiday I had chosen Lugano as a destination, having been at Villa Principe Leopoldo before because of their restaurant, I was very curious to find out if their hospitality was as good as their food.

ARRIVAL: the arrival was fine, check in easy and I was surprised by a kind upgrade, that took me to a corner suíte from where I could overlook most of the city of Lugano and the mountains, the lake and so on, the Villa is perched on top of a cliff in what seems to be a hidden location and a vantage point for amazing views of the region, really cozy.

STAFF: the staff at Villa Principe Leopoldo was very helpful at all times, excellence is the word. A Portuguese gentleman who works the night shift was specially nice and the whole bar staff is also welcoming. Everyone is obviously proud to be working in the best hotel and restaurant in the whole region, feels good to be there.

HOTEL/LOCATION: the location, as mentioned before, is fantastic, offering the best view I ever had in Lugano, of course it is easier to reach if you have rented a car, the hotel also offers a Porsche Panamera driving experience that can be quite exciting. As for the infra structure it is clearly royal. Once a noble family’s residence, the Villa Principe Leopoldo kept its glamour throughout decades, there is an outside pool for Summer and the awarded restaurant is full all week round, breakfast is remarkable with a calm view of the alps and the hotel means refinement in every sense. Also the rooms and suites are very large, featuring stunning views and very well designed setting.

OVERALL: I really enjoyed staying at the Villa, would surely recommend and stay again once in Lugano, it is a very calm city so there is no problem to be a bit far from the center, it is easy to get there in a matter of minutes. Only down point would probably be lack of 24 hours room service, which is expected for a hotel of such prices.

Room Tip: make sure you pick a room facing the lake!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rodolfo3200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#3 of 45 in Lugano
607 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
153 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £235 - £494 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing