We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Park Hotel Principe(Lugano)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
345
106
62
37
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
106
62
37
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitemain buildinglake luganorelais chateauxshuttle servicepiano barstay nightsbig balconyimpeccable servicethe hotel offersbeautiful hotelhigh levellake viewsitting areafresh fruitcroissantsresidence
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
160 - 165 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2012

I loved this hotel. It was so peaceful and luxurious. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We had a trailer on our car with a motorcycle and they were more than accommodating with parking even offering to help us unhook the bike from the trailer, etc.
Our room was large and clean and had everything we needed. The only issue was that the bathroom smelled a little bit like the kitchen (must have been a vent issue). We were in the residence part of the hotel. We did have dinner in the older part which overlooks the lake and it was over priced, but tasted wonderful! It was a splurge. Check the prices before booking dinner.
The breakfast was tasty we were able to eat outside. The waitstaff were friendly and happy to speak in almost any language. We did not use the spa, but used the outdoor pool late a night.
Walking to downtown Lugano is downhill and not too far. (about 20 minutes). We took the free shuttle back to the hotel. I don't know how it would be on bad weather days or in the winter, but in the summer, it was great.

Room Tip: Rooms in residence part overlooking the pool seem best.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sallypoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2012

Dear Guest, Hello Sally,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at our Residence Leopoldo.
Of course these Rooms are different in style, size and decor but we understand also from your comments here, that some guests really love this.

Lugano has more to offer and special attractions all year around- so we hope we will have the pleasure welcoming you again.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

I mistakenly posted my revue on the Principe Hotel, not the Residence. Ypu can look for it there. The two are separated by a small street. This villa is the highlight of our Euopean vacation! We've traveled to 3 countries & have stayed at some beautiful hotels. This one is just unique, quaint & peaceful!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ebellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Ebelli,

Our special Thank you for your comment which we highly appreciate.

The Resdience and the Villa of Principe Leopoldo Hotel and SPA are under the same management and all facilities are available for the guests of both properties.

But we need to admit that due to the difference in style and location quite a few guests have their preferences to stay in one or the other. For this reason we seperated the two properties online.

Hope this clarifies your questions, hopefully we see you again very soon.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2012 via mobile

The Residence @ principe is where you want to stay!!!
The Villa's here are So spacious and luxurious. We came in August because there are fewer tourists and the prices are about half of what they would normally be. $300 for a $600 room. Great value. There is a beautiful little vineyard just behind our room. The balcony is huge and overlooks the carport with a quaint little building covered in vines. The little restaurant contains 8 or so tables on the patio. The food was good, but the service was excellent. The front staff is so helpful & accommodating. They even arranged to pick up our train tickets for us. The patio door is so huge & heavy. Be very careful NOT to shut the door or you will get locked out. The room key resembles a door knob & is heavy. Leave it with the concierge as you go to town & get it back on your way in. The pool is just beautiful & there are old-style changing curtains outside. It is so peaceful here! Not much traffic in or out as the Residence also hosts people that live here. We have traveled to 3 countries on this trip & this Villa has been the highlight!

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest- Dear Ebelli,
Thank you for posting your reviews on our two online Properties.

We are pleased to read that you had the oppertunity to utilise one of our special offers and that you enjoyed our Residence Park Rooms as the Highlight of your Trip through Europe.

We wish you a safe return home and hopefully we will be able to welcome you here again.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

I was a little nervous staying here having read other reviews of dark corridors and was very pleasantly surprised. The hotel is beautiful, sumptuously furnished and decorated, although the busts in recessed alcoves along the corridors were a bit scary.
We stayed in a Park Room, opposite the beautiful gardens and swimming pool. The room was very spacious with a separate seating area and work desk and luxuriously furnished. Although the mattress and pillows could have been a little better, they were better than average. It had better lighting than most other hotels I have stayed in for a long while.
The general cleaning was excellent and our room was spotless but I felt that more care and attention could have been spent on cleaning the bathroom.
Breakfasts are good with a huge selection of fresh breads, cheese, cold meats and fish/salmon, cakse and all the usual. I would have liked to have seen some fresh fruit juice and more fresh cut fruit but overall, there was always plenty to eat. Seating is indoors or outside in a pretty shaded garden setting.
The hotel offers a courtesy bus service into Lugano town centre and back several times a day which is very convenient and helpful, even if you do have a car, as parking is always difficult.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bld211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your stay and your comments here on Tripadvisor. We are honoured that you found your way from Portugal to Lugano and decided for our Hotel as your prefered Residence.

Hopefully you have not only enjoyed our facilities but also had the oppertunity to explore our beautiful landscape in Lugano and Ticino! Our shuttle to town was maybe helpful for you in this matter.

Please rest ensured that there is still plenty to see in Lugano and the nearby areas, so we hope to welcome you soon again!

Best regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

We were recommended to the restaurant by our hotel concierge. But our experience was not up to our expectations. While the location and views of the hotel and restaurant are stunning, the service in the restaurant was terrible. Waiting for first class food is acceptable for us, but after we finished our main course we were never asked if we wished a dessert or coffee, neither could we order the bill. After about 20 minutes sitting in front of our empty glasses we asked the chef de service for the bill. After another 15 minutes of waiting we asked one of the passing by waiters if we now please could get the bill, this resulted in another waiter almost insulting my wife by making a very bad joke and a funny face at her. Another slowness and not very good behaviour was that we got knife and fork for the next course only when the plate was already waiting near our table on a service table and cooling downy already.

Now for the food: it is high priced and OK for the price. One bad thing was the very heavy potato gratin that was served with our main course of lamb. It almost made my wife sick because of too my cream with the potatoes. It also came without a spoon or fork to remove it from its oven pan, so we had to balance pieces of it to our plates with our eating knife and fork. The lamb was OK but due to the slow service already a bit cool for my taste.

If the service would have been up to its duty and the price tag of the restaurant this could be a four or five point experience, but for us it was very disappointing.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Psomm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2012

Dear Guest, Dear Psomm

Thank you very much for taking the time to post your comments here at Tripadvisor.
We are honored to read that you have visited us following a recommondation. Even more we are sad to understand that we have failed fullfilling your expectations.
Of course we appreciate your comments about the Quality of food but take the remarks about our service very serious.

Please be ensured that we will forward your comments and will discuss them with all relevant departments.

Hopefully we will have the pleasure to have you with us again and then can ensure you the highest quality of service which we expect from ourselves.

Kind regards

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews