We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Nearby Hotels
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$251
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
352
107
62
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
107
62
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitemain buildinglake luganorelais chateauxshuttle servicepiano barstay nightsbig balconyimpeccable servicethe hotel offersbeautiful hotelhigh levellake viewsitting areafresh fruitcroissantsresidence
Filter
Updating list...
152 - 157 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 5 September 2012 via mobile

After spending 6 weeks in Europe in 5 stars hotels we came here. I had been at the Leopoldo 9 years before and had found it to be lovely, but now in 2012 it is a tired property in need of a major overhaul.

The location is fantastic, with great views over lake Lugano, but I wish the rooms were updated and refurbished with the quality of fabrics and details one expects from a 5 star hotel. It is not. Management should look at the decor with a critical eye, and do the needful. Our room could have been stunning, instead the sofas were dirty, the fabrics worn, the rug should be given to charity, and the furniture gone to the dump. What a shame to let this gorgeous place get to dated. The food in the restaurant was mediocre, apart from the appetizer and the service indifferent. Again, with the right management this property could be amazing.
My husband and I decided last night that relais and chateaux endorsement is no longer valid or worse acknowledging for us. In this trip, we stayed in 2 of their properties and both had much in common, tired and dated.
In contrast 4 seasons chain continues to deliver on its promise of lovely properties, with stunning decor and amazing service.
We travel 5 months a year and expect the best when we spend our money.

Overall truly disappointing.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sintragirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Geschäftsführer at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for your review and we are honored that you have chosen our Hotel as part of your extended Holiday throughout Europe .

Even more we are sad to read here, that we have not been able to reach your expectations and even more that we did not had a chance to meet personally during your stay to understand your needs and wishes so we could have replied and reacted directly in order to make the most of your stay with us.

Of course we take all comments seriously and will forward this to the relevant departments. As the rooms at the VILLA have been renovated 2 years ago we would not expect this impression about the conditions.

Please do not hesitate to contact me directly for any additional comments you would like to make, it would be my greatest pleasure to see this personally togehter.

Yours faithfully

Reto Stöckenius
VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

The Villa, situated on a hill, overlooking the lake, is one of the two best places to stay in Lugano.
We have stayed there a number of times, and the rooms and service are outstanding.
Also we have stayed in the Residence which is situated close by, in its own gardens, which has the benefit of a large outdoor swimming pool for the summer. The standard rooms in the Residence are in some ways better laid out than the suites.
In both buildings, breakfast is served as a wonderful and extensive buffet.
The restaurant in the Villa has been one of the finest places to dine in Lugano.
Many years ago some of their signature dishes were unique and outstanding. However, over the past 2 years the quality and execution of these exceptional dishes has declined and is not to the standard which we had become accustomed to expect and anticipate. This is a trend which is found in many previously outstanding restaurants where the dishes seem to have been pre-prepared and frozen and then by some magic technology turned into a meal. Furthermore, the quality of the meat is not what it was previously. Also, properly cooked and presented vegetables seems to be a thing of the past. Despite this, dining there is still a pleasant and unique experience, and some of the staff are really charming and professional.
The wine list is very good with a good selection of Ticino wines, and caters for most tastes.
Apart from the above comments this is a wonderful place to stay in, summer or winter!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Expatriate35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you very much for staying with us again, it is always a pleasure having you as our customer and we highly appreciate that you are sharing your comments and experiences with us as well as with other customers - or potential new guests here on Tripadvisor.

We have passed your comments to our Team- and the service crew around our Maitre is looking forward sharing a glass of our new House wine 2012 with you- prepared from the grapes of the local vineyards.

Yours faithfully


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

The views from Principe Leopoldo were stunning. Overall, a great stay! Loved the location, the rooms were beautiful and the staff was very helpful as we were traveling with a small child! The value was great. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Joanne,

Thank you for your feedback here and it was our pleasure to host you and your family in our Hotel.

We have passed you comments to our employees who always appreciate a positive word and Thank you.

Hopefully we will have the honor to welcome you soon back to Lugano


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Principe Leopoldo is a great hotel. The service was outstanding, my room was spacious, clean and with incredible views. The food at the restaurant was delicious. I loved staying here. Everyone should have the experience of staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HardToPleaseCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Guest- Dearest Alisa,

Thank you very much for your Review here on Tripadvisor.
We are honored to read that you have enjoyed your stay here at the VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA and in Lugano so much.

We hope that the readers of your experience are following your advice and visit us as well.
In any case we are looking forward welcoming YOU again very soon!

Best regards


VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Visited the restaurant at the Villa Principe Leopoldo and tried the degustation menu CHF 140 and was speechless for the quality, execution, presentation and taste of every single dish this without head chef Ranza but lead by his young sous-chef Marco.
Service from Mr Speziale was classy, not intrusive and extremely attentive
Highly recommendable for foodies since in Lugano you can hardly find somewhere that can match that.
The view both for the aperitif and the dinner are stunning. A definite stop for a romantic dinner or for friends outing that enjoy the finer things in life. Hightly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank lucabkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and we are pleased that you enjoyed your evening and your dinner.

A special Thank you also from our Service crew and kitchen who highly appreciate your kind words.

We all hope to welcome you soon again!

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO HOTEL & SPA
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews