We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Nearby Hotels
US$228
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$238
Novotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$246
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$510
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$424
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano(Lugano)
US$149
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Selva(Lugano)(Great Value!)
US$228
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (562)
Filter reviews
562 results
Traveller rating
345
106
62
37
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
345
106
62
37
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitemain buildinglake luganorelais chateauxshuttle servicepiano barstay nightsbig balconyimpeccable servicethe hotel offersbeautiful hotelhigh levellake viewsitting areafresh fruitcroissantsresidence
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 562 reviews
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Stayed at the Dependance
Beautifully advertised pictures,but...
View of the trees!!!
No room service (should be a requirement for ***** hotels, no wash cloth in bathroom, problems for 2 days with WIFI.
Gourmet restaurant very good and very attentive servers ....not the same at breakfast
Badly lit hallways, you can not see your lock in the dark
...and more
Definitely not 5 stars

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Evamarie777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to rate the hotel on Tripadvisor. It is very important for us to know what our clients think of our product and services.

Knowing that the residence is less attractive than during the summer months, this mainly due to the closure of the swimming, garden area and restaurant (room service). We differentiate the product very clear with typology of rooms and clear price structure. Lake view suites can only be booked in the Villa. The 100% lake view is only confirmed in our lake suite. Other room categories in the Villa have partial or even no view to the lake but are lakeside. All our standard rooms “Residence Park Rooms” are in our Residence building a few steps away from the villa. All this is clearly mentioned on the booking confirmation from the hotel or other booking sites.

Thank you for the positive comments on our restaurant and staff. It will be my pleasure to communicate to them. Concerning the dark hallways we will have a look into it with our interior architect and see what can be done.

We wish to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were looking for a nice hotel with good sport facilities. As the Leopoldo advertised a nice fitness centre, tennis courts and a spa, we decided to go for it. The hotel is very nicely located on a hill above Lugano. We hit straight to the fitness centre, which is well equipped. But who organized it? There is no water, no earphones...and the treadmill is facing the wall, while the bikes are positioned...oppposite to the TV's....Very strange! No jacuzzi..The standard room was quite large, but impossible to roll down the blinds, so that we woke up quite early. The people at the reception were not very helpful, and it is the first time in a five star hotel that I see employees with worn-out shoes...you could even see the holes!
Very nice breakfast. Also very nice tennis courts (2)
Overall, a very nice hotel, with a great infrastructure, but the manager is probably not very demanding....

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank zelal25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Dear Guest,

First of all thank you for having taken the time to put your comments on Tripadvisor. Each feedback we receive is highly appreciated and helps us to constantly improve our services.
Yes the treadmill is facing the wall. For security reasons we placed it like that so as if someone falls while running they do not get thrown into the wall. All the cardio machines are equipped with their own TV’s so anyone can watch TV while doing cardio training. The TV’s on the wall are for those doing weight training and not cardio. For hygiene reasons earphones are currently not available, but we will discuss the possibility selling them at the front office in future. There is always plenty of water placed at the entrance. We’re currently checking a change of location so as it can be easily found.
Your comment about the look of our employees is very serious, and I will bring it up during our weekly department head meeting in order to discuss the matter.
Reto Stöckenius, General Manager

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

we celebrated our wedding at the Villa I would highly recommend other couples not to do so. the view is great and the on a first glace the hotel looks amazing and due to the staff everything is possible. but you will find out that this is not the case and you will be disappointed, latest when you get the invoice, much higher than expected. I'm not saying that the invoice was wrong, but the are nearly no discounts. You will pay the full prices for drinks and soft drinks. the is no infrastructure for a band, not even champagne glasses to make a tower ...

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MGausZH1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2014
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter Gast,

Jedes Jahr finden bei uns um die 40 Hochzeiten statt, und diese führen wir seit über 28 Jahren stets zur vollsten Zufriedenheit unserer Gäste durch.

Um den Anlass mit Erfolg durchführen zu können, braucht es im Vorfeld eine klare Verhandlungsphase um Missverständnisse im Vorfeld zu bereinigen. Die Preise wurden vor dem Event vom Gastgeber bestätigt und er wusste auf was er sich einlässt. Ist Tripadvisor wirklich die richtige Plattform um Preise im Nachhinein zu verhandeln?

Wir sind ein Haus in dem man sich zu benehmen weiss, sich gegenseitig respektiert aber auch geniest.

Wir hoffen trotzdem, Sie in unserem Hotel künftig begrüssen zu können.

Mit besten Grüssen,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

We stayed there during New Year for the Silvester-Party. The Rooms are really nice and quite big, the Service is fantastic. We arrived quite early and got an Upgrade without asking - to a Junior Suite. We had lunch in the Hotel - it was really good quality and tasted very nice. In the evening there was the Gala-Dinner which was outstanding. We were dancing until 4 AM. I can highly recommend this Hotel! The view is outstanding as it is in the mountains of Lugano.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sammarste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We are very pleased to read that you enjoyed the New Year at the Villa Principe Leopoldo. Also this year we propose another fantastic Gala-Dinner with a delicious menu, music and a lot of fun.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2013

Beautifully set up on a hill with gorgeous views of the bay between Monte San Salvatore and Monte Bre in Lugano. Often booked for weddings as most gorgeous places with a view are. Terrific restaurant on the patio encased in glass for optimizing the view (though this outdoorsy extenstion is not always open, depending on the season and day of the week). We stayed in suite G which might be the best room in the hotel. TWO large roomy separate areas (one for work, TV, etc) work well when one of you has to work on the internet while the other might want to watch TV, sleep or eat. Balconies worth resting on. The decor is a little fancy Garish Trump for me, but that hasn't limited my appreciation of its amenities like it's rainbow lit shower, fresh fruit, flowers and chocolates every day and generous closet space. The one let down might be the spa. The hotel promotes itself as a spa retreat and while its spa is well appointed and its masseuse talented, there was only one masseuse in residence when we were there and thus no flexibility for booking appointments (they weren't even capable of taking two at once). But other than that, the service was exemplary and they generously run a shuttle down to the town and back (and if you miss that, they will often pick up the tab for a taxi). Not cheap, but not a bad way to show your mistress a good time. :-)

Room Tip: If money is no object, go for the suites in the center (around G).
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lloyd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your grat feedback. It was a great pleasure to have you with us. We highly appreciate your comments about our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews