We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Nearby Hotels
US$463
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$417
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$280
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$504
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$443
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$243
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$224
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$321
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$342
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$235
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$221
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$371
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$307
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$263
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$250
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$241
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$231
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (572)
Filter reviews
572 results
Traveller rating
352
107
62
38
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
352
107
62
38
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsjunior suitemain buildinglake luganorelais chateauxshuttle servicepiano barstay nightsbig balconyimpeccable servicethe hotel offersbeautiful hotelhigh levellake viewsitting areafresh fruitcroissantsresidence
Filter
Updating list...
104 - 109 of 572 reviews
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was in Lugano for work, the Residence was in fact a delightful 1 bedroom apartment. Views of hills and trees, very lush and quiet. Bathroom has been renovated and nicely appointed. Large sitting area and desk to work on. We took the short walk to the main hotel for drinks and dinner, oh the view is spectacular. The food and service superb.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank StarliteAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one week and it was wonderful experience.
Staff and service at reception and restaurant were very great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good also.
In main building you can find better lake view, however secondary residence has cheaper rooms.The room was very spacious and clean with big window, living and bedroom with comfortable bed. However, furniture has older style and I was not impressed with bathroom, it was really simple but had all the toiletries. Spas was closed for renovation too.
There is 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with amazing view.
Location of this hotel is also good, as you can go easely in the center with shuttle bus or taxi.
I will recomend this hotel for couples or business trips.

Room Tip: would recommend to choose the room in main building with lake view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarynaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our service and product constantly.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed here on the way to Interlaken. I had read trip advisor and realised many people had been disapointed to find they were booked into the "Residence" which is described as nearby. We were also, however I decided to reserve judgment till we were there.The residence is nearby, about 300meteres and is actually a separate hotel in my opinion. The hotel room we were shown to was actually ok, modern and fresh with plenty space and comfy bed, however the hotel itself feels like a concrete block with rooms. The breakfast was nice and the pool area seemd ok.

If you are expecting to stay at the Villa, beware and check it is the Villa you have booked, if you are expecting the Villa and end up in the Residencia you will be disapointed. The Villa's views are magnificent and it is the hotel with the great setting.

I must say we agree with other reviewers, the Residencia is not what you expect at the price you pay, disapointing.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cardross25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Your comment is very much appreciated! Thank you! And thank you also for the positive feedback about our rooms, pool and breakfast area.

As very well explained in your comment, the Residence building is a separate building. The rooms at the Villa have recently been renovated and the structure “Villa” makes further part of Relais & Châteaux. The Residence building, where we offer our Residence Park Rooms, at an average of CHF 200.00 lower priced than the Villa, the makes still part of the whole product Villa Principe Leopoldo.

In the hope you will give us another chance, maybe with a booking at the Villa, we’re all looking forward welcoming you.

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Excellent staff and service, great breakfast and best dinner meal I have ever had. We had a big room that was clean, great bed, balcony, very comfortable. Very disappointed with the lake view from our lake view room, big trees were blocking, asked about it and they said the trees belonged to the neighbor. I don't understand how a five star hotel cannot take advantage of the lake view. The trees blocked 60% of the view.. 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with view.

Room Tip: Ask for room that is not blocked by trees
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BuenoOrNot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for putting your review on Tripadvisor. We really appreciate the fact, that you took the time to leave a comment. First of all we would like to thank you for the compliments given about our service and infrastructure. We will be pleased to forward your lines to our team members.

All reservations in the Villa are confirmed “facing the lake” and yes we have trees in front, which are not on our territory. Although when booking our beautiful and spacious “Lake Suite” the view over the lake is guaranteed.

We hope to welcome you back once again in the Villa Principe Leopoldo and in the meantime wish you a great summer!

Kind regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We looked forward to finally coming here having heard many good things so we had high expectations. Upon arrival we were unceremoniously advised that we were at the wrong entrance and had to go to the residences in the back. Our room wasn't ready so we decided to have lunch at the garden restaurant which was very nice both food and service wise. The residence part of the hotel does not have any view to the lake which was a bit disappointing but we enjoyed the pool area and warm climate anyway.
The room was very spacious but there was a lack of comfort to it (no pillows on sofa, hard mattress) and what we found very surprising, the very tight shower/bathtub. The regulator comes out quite far which in a narrow bathtub made it quite hard to shower properly plus the lack of shower curtain resulted in this adventurous shower to flood half of the bathroom. Fun!
Some of the wall corners had damages which were clearly visible and the AC was so loud we never used it. The flatscreen TV resolution was quite bad as well but perhaps this could be the reception on the mountain?
At breakfast we were sent away due to lack of space as the outside area was closed as it rained before and everything was still wet. This was surprising as the weather was fine and there was no room inside to accommodate all guests. Other guests wanted to eat outside as well and we were all advised to wait in our room until availability was here. I felt sorry for the staff which were doing a great job and stayed friendly and accommodating as best they could in this situation however it occured to none of them that perhaps if they would wipe down the affected outside areas quickly the space issue would be solved.
The hotel itself has a lot of visible history which is nice but the hardware is in desperate need of renovation. I could see how it used to be one of THE hotels in its day but this I am sorry to say is simply not the case anymore.

Room Tip: Try and stay at the main hotel not the residence area.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gg7786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nadia R, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for the time you took to write the review. It is of our utmost importance to know what our guests think of our product and service. Further we would like to thank you for the positive feedback given to our Restaurant Café Leopoldo at the Residence. We indeed appreciate the fact to hear that quality of food and service were up to your expectations and will share it with pleasure with the team!
We will not enter in each comment about the infrastructure of the Residence. Renovations are in discussion and projects are being developed and carefully analyzed.
If you plan to visit us again in future, we suggest to have a look at the rooms in the Villa building. The rooms have been recently renovated and our Lake Suites even have full lake view! Our beautiful and spacious Junior Suites are facing the lake (no full lake view!) and would be an option in a lower category.
Your remark about our breakfast service and its organization was topic in our weekly held management meeting. In future we will stress on the fact that as soon as the weather conditions permit we will serve breakfast outside.
Thank you again for having commented our property and we look forward to welcoming you back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews