We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Serenity and splendor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Serenity and splendor”
Reviewed 28 August 2014

While touring Switzerland, we had the chance to stay at the Villa Principe Leopoldo. We booked a room in the main villa (not the residence), with a view facing the lake. That view is precisely one of the strongest point of the Villa. It is truly breathtaking. During our stay we had nothing to complain about. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, making you feel comfortable from the first minute you enter the splendid lobby. We definitely had a great experience there, a one of a kind stay in an exclusive and quite secluded place. The room size was perfect, the food was impressively good, the pool is great (although not or poorly heated). The spa is small but provides with everything you expect from a place like this, except an indoor pool. The Breakfeast is terrific.

If you want to eat in the main restaurant, be warned that the dress code is very strict.

The place is extremely expensive and one should expect a massive bill upon leaving.

Room Tip: It is better to stay in a bedroom above swimingpool level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BenSkitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We are happy to read that you spent a great time with us. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly.
We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

517 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    98
    62
    33
    10
See reviews for
94
252
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

One night stop at the Villa Leopoldo where I booked a room in the secondary house.

First of all I'll start with the good things:
- Great and professionnal staff.
- The gourmet restaurant is very good... and the service was excellent.
- Spacious room

Now the bad stuff:
- Might be the ugliest bathroom I've seen in a hotel of that category. (if you guys need someone to redecorate your bathroom with a small budget just call me).
- Towels were dirty and bathrobe were torn.
- Spa appointment canceled last minute (ok... that happens)
- I asked if they had a sauna, which the had, but forgot to tell me it was closed.
- Paperthin walls between rooms.
- The breakfast is not terrible (the croissant are not fresh.... must be frozen and heat up in the morning).
- The whole hotel is in need of a serious refreshening... carpets in the hallways for example.

Overall, I think that you have to aim for the main villa which has the junior suites I believe. Or simple go to have dinner there.

Again, the staff was very professionnal but for me, this hotel is a miss; which is too bad because it can really be a top class hotel.

Room Tip: Go to the main Villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pdesaab_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
226 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

A lovely hotel in a great spot. They kindly upgraded us without us requesting it from a basic room in the Residence to one in the main hotel with a lovely view over the lake, which made our stay all the more enjoyable. Their restaurant is pricey but well worth the money.

Room Tip: Any of the suites in the main hotel overlooking the lake are lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad_Lizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We greatly enjoyed this hotel. It's up on a hill, with lovely views overlooking the lake and bay, which one can enjoy from the restaurant and bar -- where guests gather each evening. The rooms were nicely appointed, nice size, very nice amenities and touches. The service was very friendly. The concierges were very helpful. The only downside is that the hotel is far from the town. The hotel shuttles guests to the town during the day -- but not during the evening. A taxi ride was 20 CHF, not to mention a hassle... the hotel should really continue the service into the evening.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MackGold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

thank you very much for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. We appreciated very much your compliments to our staff. It is a pleasure to read that you felt well and comfortable during your holiday.

It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly. Your remarks will be taken into consideration.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Levallois-Perret, France
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

The reception is excellent, the hospitality is out of this world, the dinner is worth three stars on the Michelin guide scale the site is beautiful, the rooms are extremely well designed and equipped with all the modern necessities.

We had a perfect four nights stay, the car safely parked in the shade and the service really very, very good.

Room Tip: All the rooms are perfect and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alberick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgrade, Serbia
Level 6 Contributor
208 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I was in Lugano for work, the Residence was in fact a delightful 1 bedroom apartment. Views of hills and trees, very lush and quiet. Bathroom has been renovated and nicely appointed. Large sitting area and desk to work on. We took the short walk to the main hotel for drinks and dinner, oh the view is spectacular. The food and service superb.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StarliteAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice and appreciated feedback.

We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay at Villa Principe Leopoldo and it is a pleasure to read that you felt comfortable during your holiday.

We look forward to welcoming you soon again at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards from Lugano,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for one week and it was wonderful experience.
Staff and service at reception and restaurant were very great, very friendly and helpful. Breakfast and dinner were good also.
In main building you can find better lake view, however secondary residence has cheaper rooms.The room was very spacious and clean with big window, living and bedroom with comfortable bed. However, furniture has older style and I was not impressed with bathroom, it was really simple but had all the toiletries. Spas was closed for renovation too.
There is 2 great pools, beautiful bar and outside dining with amazing view.
Location of this hotel is also good, as you can go easely in the center with shuttle bus or taxi.
I will recomend this hotel for couples or business trips.

Room Tip: would recommend to choose the room in main building with lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarynaMar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup M, Manager at Villa Principe Leopoldo, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our service and product constantly.

It is a pleasure for us to read that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you had a good trip back home and we look forward to welcoming you soon back at the Villa Principe Leopoldo.

Best regards,

VILLA PRINCIPE LEOPOLDO
Member of Relais & Châteaux
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 45 in Lugano
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Property: Villa Principe Leopoldo
Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing