We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“place that made me feel like a real Princess!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #10 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Athens
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“place that made me feel like a real Princess!!!”
Reviewed 21 March 2010

i consider myself so lucky & privileged that I had the opportunity to stay in this fantastic hotel.
VERY EXCLUSIVE PLACE, more than I expected
Spacious, luxury rooms, all conforts, great service
Fantastic breakfast area with mountain view, delicious buffet and champagne in breakfast
Very helpful and kind staff, always at our service
nice restaurant and good wine list
Free wi fi Internet in the rooms
Spa is very expensive and not so inpressive

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaPap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

522 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    98
    62
    34
    10
See reviews for
94
256
15
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lugano
1 review
Reviewed 17 March 2010

I stayed at Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel & SPA for 3 days combining a business trip, attending a conference in their panoramic hall with spectacular view over Lake Lugano and staying there over the weekend. We stayed in a beautiful new renovated Junior Suite with large terrace, 2 bathrooms, very comfortable bed and lot of amenities at the main Villa building. Food served during breakfast, conference and especially at the Gourmet Restaurant for dinner was really Superb. The staff is friendly and ready to help. Treatments at the SPA are quite expensive however the private SPA is absolutely to try especially if you are a couple. I really enjoyed my stay at this beautiful Villa and will for sure be back soon again.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank supervisore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2010

had a conference at the hotel and the conference room had a nice view of the lake. Used to be an old house on top of the hill overlooking Lake Lugano. They split the building in 2, 1 for the meeting conference and restaurant while the other is for the residence.. which is about 2-3 minutes walk away. The rooms at the residence is quite large with split level.. bottom part for the writing table and sofas... upper part for the bed.. and toilet. A patio on the outside with a small enclosed garden. The housemaid came twice a day to clean up the room and to turn down the bed. Breakfast is European standard and food for lunch and dinner was excellent. Its not too far from city centre, a taxi ride is about CHF20 one way.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mat_asri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2009

Assuming, that all rooms in the main building have lake views I reserved there, but found out, that my room faced an ugly hedge. So I changed to "junior suite" with lake view which increased the price by 60%.
Rooms are decent, but have a lot of travertine furniture, obviously from the 80s, when this was considered chic.
The main building which one sees on the webpage does not have any hotel rooms, these are all build in a newer construction below the original building and accessible from there. The main building has the bar, restaurant and conference rooms, as far as I understand...
Another case of a hotelier not understanding the word "suite" as in several rooms. This suite is one room, and should not be called a suite.
This was the most expensive hotel I ever stayed at having cheap plastic faux wood floors.
Rooms A-M are better, because of higher elevation and better view.
A very remote location and you need your own car, because the hotel shuttle bus to Lugano runs too infrequent and also the last time at 6:30 PM, which would mean, that you cannot take dinner outside of the hotel.
Friends living in Lugano told me, that this is considered the best place in town. Depressing.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gig11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2009

The Villa Principe Leopoldo is certainly part of the most beautiful place of Switzerland: incredible view, charming building, quiet location and great staff. This is not our first stay on that place and we always enjoy it. For sure, everything is expensive but you are in a real 5 stars hotel, with great facilities and great staff. The hotel is only few minutes by car from the city center, and since you ar in town, you feel to be in Italy (but with the Swiss organization). I could only recommand Villa Principe Leopoldo for all people who look for a romantic hideway in a beautiful place.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

If you are reading this review, consider yourself fortunate. This hotel contains two parts: the "Villa" and the "Residences". Both are offered as a Relais & Chateaux property. Only the Villa should apply. The Villa sits high on the hillside above Lake Lugano with a wonderful view of the lake and this part seems like a 4 star hotel. The Residence are across the road with a view of nothing. Either hotel is very far from Lugano. The hotel offers infrequent shuttle service and a taxi will cost around $20 each way. The suites at the Residences have stained carpets, need painting, the bathrooms are old and the entry, hallway and grounds are very unattractive. The Residence are not worth the price and should be avoided at all cost. I'd skip the whole place as other places are more convenient to Lugano and probably just as good or better. I wish I had read these reviews before I stayed here.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank RGX1840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millersville, Maryland
Level 6 Contributor
614 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 197 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2009

My family and stayed at this hotel for 2 nights. Our room was fantastic and very roomy. We did have a junior suite with a large living room and bedroom. We were on the main level and had a large patio overlooking the lake. This was the nicest hotel we staying in during our trip to Switzerland and Italy.

We also enjoyed the spa but, it was a little pricey.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
141 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Property: Villa Principe Leopoldo
Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#8 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing