We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exclusive location and plush suites”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Berlin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Exclusive location and plush suites”
Reviewed 3 September 2010

You know you are in Italian Switzerland when you enter the plush marbled and mirrored suites. A bit much for my taste, but no denying that it is well done and to the highest standards. Nothing was missing, the service was great, a short drive to downtown. The view is, of course, picturesque, it would seem from all the rooms. It is in a prominent yet isolated position overlooking the lake, and so there was nothing to be heard at all. We had a meal on the terrace, which was fine.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Othegraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    98
    62
    33
    10
See reviews for
94
251
15
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I had with my wife a (too) short break at the beautiful Villa Principe Leopoldo. We spent 2 days in this hotel which is offering an amazing location and a spectacular view from the rooms. The front office staff is really excellent offering 5* service in a professional and smart way. We had diner at the main restaurant and food was astonishing! The restaurant is located in the gardens of the hotel with a panoramic view over the lake. We had one of our best dinner since a long time with a high class service. I could only recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway and who love to be pampered in one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cologne
Level 6 Contributor
178 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Exceptional location (with the most stunning Lake Lugano view from the main building and suites), the Villa Leopoldo has long been a family favourite on the north-south European axis. The suites have recently been renovated - however, apart from the price hike, its questionable whether the work has actually added value: gone is the bath tub (in favour of a tropical shower), the TV can now only be watched from bed and the outside lights have been removed from the (generously sized) suite balconies. Dining, though, is as pleasant as ever in a setting and atmosphere that guarantees relaxation - despite the suspiciously record-breaking speed of service. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Best hotel of Ticino! We spend a marvellous and unforgettable stay at Relais & Châteaux Villa Principe Leopoldo. This is a 5 stars boutique hotel with great class, elegance and with a Mediterranean style. All the rooms of the Villa have been renovated. They are beautifull and so confortable.
I will always remember the stunning view, the fine cuisine and the exclusive Spa.

Thanks again to the TEAM to make this experience unique!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susana_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Top location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very relaxing. The rooms are very specious and well appointed, but could do with a facelift. The only negative thing was, though very minor, was the charge for the morning newspaper. For a hotel of this standing and price category a bit little minded.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swisswatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new zealand
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2010

Stayed in the Villa for three nights. The room was spacious and looked exactly like the hotel Internet photos. We had a big balcony with great views overlooking Lugano.
One afternoon we took the shuttle bus from the hotel to the town. We had the hotel shuttle bus timetable and waited with about five other people in Lugano for the last bus to arrive to take us back to the hotel. We waited half an hour and after nothing came, we called the hotel. They sent a couple of taxis to pick us up. They said they had sent a taxi half an hour earlier, but the taxi driver hadn't said anything to us, and the hotel never mentioned the possibility of substituting the shuttle bus with a taxi. We used the shuttle bus a few more times and fortunately didn't have any more problems. The hotel is a bit out of town, so without your own car, the shuttle bus is quite important.
The hotel had its own gym which was great and fully fitted out.
Can't beat a drink on the terrace over looking Lugano at the Villa Leopoldo.





Breakfast had a great selection of food.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blackcap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 8 June 2010

Ok, breakfast was very nicely delivered to the room, however anything apart from the basics was charged extra. For a room of 400 chf per night, you expect a better treatment. Bathroom was not perfectly clean and despite the fact we had asked for a double bed we were given a twin, which was also not very comfortable to sleep as it kept separating during the night.
Very far from the city, however the view and surroundings of the hotel for a quiet weekend are perfect. The bar was very nice with a great live performance in the evening. Interior not great and not well maintained during the winter, while the corridors are filled with "scary" sculptures. We had a 50% discount and still the amount charged was too much for what the hotel was offering.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dischma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#3 of 45 in Lugano
137 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Eden
Grand Hotel Eden
#29 of 45 in Lugano
312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Property: Villa Principe Leopoldo
Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Hotel.de and HRS so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing