We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You pay dearly to stay at the prince's mansion!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Ranked #11 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 November 2010

We stayed at the Villa Principe Leopoldo for a weekend in September. Our expectations were pretty high for several reasons: first the hotel has the reputation to be one of the best in the Southern part of Switzerland and for almost 800.00 SFR per night for a standard double room, it surely belongs to some of the more expensive hotels in the world.
But we soon found out, that a good reputation and high prices do not guarantee a perfect stay. The first thing to remember about this hotel is that it was transformed from a private residence to a hotel not too long ago, in 1986 (you may read about the history of the hotel on their website: http://www.leopoldohotel.com/en/37/historical_remarks.aspx). This might be the reason,why the hotel is hard to find. Even with GPS navigation, you will first see the “Residence” entrance and wonder, where the actual hotel is (across the street). And all this because it is so poorly marked. Once we found the entrance, there was nobody there to greet us, or help us with the luggage or to tell us where we could park the car. So the first impression was already disappointing to say the least. Our room was about average for this category with a modern bathroom, a big balcony and a nice view. But there was nothing that made it stand out, for example there were two small complementary water bottles, but no fresh fruit or anything else.
The dinner in the restaurant was also about average, good, but not exceptional for the price. The same goes for the breakfast: a buffet with everything you would expect, but nothing more. The service in general was ok, but somehow we missed the presence of a good hotel manager, who in my opinion is one of the most important factor of any hotel. The location of the hotel is great, if you want a wonderful view of the lake, but if you want to be close to the center of Lugano, choose an other hotel. They do offer a free shuttle service to the center (but only a few times in the afternoon) and you could walk, but it is about 20 minutes and not very convenient (not all the streets have sidewalks).
So all in all I guess you can say that this hotel has not too many strong points: a wonderful view, and an exotic, charming building with nice rooms. But that is not enough to justify the high prices. So if you want to stay in Lugano, my tip would be to go visit the hotel and perhaps have a drink, but stay in an other hotel closer to the center and with more reasonable prices!

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anybid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (532)
There are newer reviews for Villa Principe Leopoldo
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

170 - 176 of 532 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2010

This location is unique: on the top of the hill over the Lugano lake, surrouding by nature and silence. At the arrival you think to be in an elegant country house. The rooms/apt are really big and in a minimal design style. The reastaurant is exellent.: I believe I had the best dinner ever had since a long time. For some reasons I would say that few more staff members would be better.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alessandra_cossu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2010

You know you are in Italian Switzerland when you enter the plush marbled and mirrored suites. A bit much for my taste, but no denying that it is well done and to the highest standards. Nothing was missing, the service was great, a short drive to downtown. The view is, of course, picturesque, it would seem from all the rooms. It is in a prominent yet isolated position overlooking the lake, and so there was nothing to be heard at all. We had a meal on the terrace, which was fine.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Othegraven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

I had with my wife a (too) short break at the beautiful Villa Principe Leopoldo. We spent 2 days in this hotel which is offering an amazing location and a spectacular view from the rooms. The front office staff is really excellent offering 5* service in a professional and smart way. We had diner at the main restaurant and food was astonishing! The restaurant is located in the gardens of the hotel with a panoramic view over the lake. We had one of our best dinner since a long time with a high class service. I could only recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a romantic getaway and who love to be pampered in one of the most beautiful places in Switzerland.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Swiss1820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Exceptional location (with the most stunning Lake Lugano view from the main building and suites), the Villa Leopoldo has long been a family favourite on the north-south European axis. The suites have recently been renovated - however, apart from the price hike, its questionable whether the work has actually added value: gone is the bath tub (in favour of a tropical shower), the TV can now only be watched from bed and the outside lights have been removed from the (generously sized) suite balconies. Dining, though, is as pleasant as ever in a setting and atmosphere that guarantees relaxation - despite the suspiciously record-breaking speed of service. Viator Coloniae

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Viatorcoloniae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2010

Best hotel of Ticino! We spend a marvellous and unforgettable stay at Relais & Châteaux Villa Principe Leopoldo. This is a 5 stars boutique hotel with great class, elegance and with a Mediterranean style. All the rooms of the Villa have been renovated. They are beautifull and so confortable.
I will always remember the stunning view, the fine cuisine and the exclusive Spa.

Thanks again to the TEAM to make this experience unique!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susana_AG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

Top location, extremely friendly and helpful staff. Very relaxing. The rooms are very specious and well appointed, but could do with a facelift. The only negative thing was, though very minor, was the charge for the morning newspaper. For a hotel of this standing and price category a bit little minded.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swisswatches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
1.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.3 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
The View Lugano
The View Lugano
#4 of 45 in Lugano
148 reviews
0.5 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Principe Leopoldo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Principe Leopoldo

Address: via Montalbano 5, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Business Hotel in Lugano
#9 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £244 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Principe Leopoldo 5*
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated high above the Bay of Lugano this exceptional boutique hotel offers first-class suites and rooms. The tastefully arranged spacious rooms, the terraces with breathtaking views, two heated outdoor pools, tennis courts and a wide range of facilities leave nothing to be desired. Neither does the exquisite Mediterranean cuisine of Dario Ranza, served in the light-flooded restaurants. Jewel of the hotel is Kiso: a heavenly, exclusive Spa offering unadulterated luxury, privacy and exclusive treatments. Nothing else to be desired - a truly royal feeling. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Principe Leopoldo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Principe Leopoldo Hotel And Spa
Hotel Principe Leopoldo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing