We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Authentic Italian food, but at the more expensive end.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olimpia

Olimpia
Ranked #141 of 379 Restaurants in Lugano
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
84 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Authentic Italian food, but at the more expensive end.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

We had excellent and attentive service.
The food was quite authentic Italian.
So for a great place to dine with good food, but at a slightly higher price, this restaurant would be a good choice.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    74
    45
    14
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely to sit out in the open air!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

The Ticino white merlot is delightful and whereas I enjoyed traditional Italian style aubergine, my husband chose escalope of veal. Both were beautifully served and with them we drank a bottle of French claret. The desserts are 'bought-in' but nevertheless they are very good.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PPAGrant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
284 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“good ambiance on sunny day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

We visited on Lugano on sun and it's a bit quite and peaceful in town. However, during the lunch hour, all the restaurants in Piazza riforma are quite packed, esp. this one with history back to 1845.

We follow the local folks (most ppl seems to be swiss/italian local folks, all speak Italian) to find a table outdoor area. Luckily they got English menu and waitress can also speak fair English.

Order a mixed salad, Risotto Porcini and Pizza Spicchi. The Pizza is good, crispy base. Risotto has good presentation.

Price is quite reasonable.

I love the ambiance here, ppl are just so relaxed to enjoy the sunshine and peace of Lugano.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank singdong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shelton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
156 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Nice lunch here during day-trip from Italy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We decided to stop here for a nice lunch while on a day-trip from Italy. It's right in Piazza Riforma with a lot of outside seating so you can enjoy a nice day outside and people-watch while you dine. Everything we had here was good. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful with our questions about the menu, they knew enough English so there wasn't a problem. We are generally skeptical about eating in "touristy" areas (which Piazza Riforma seems to be) but I have to admit that everything we had here was very good and we were happy with the choice to stop here.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StingrayJG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zagreb
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“DON'T GO THERE!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I went there hungry because we were traveling all day. We ordered fish fillet with risotto, cordon bleu and minestrone soup. For drinks we had 2 Cokes. The service was ok, and also the soup. But the other dishes were terrible. I think it was frozen and then defrosted in a microwave. It was uneatable, my wife left the complete fish (ate the risotto only because she was hungry), I've finished mine but it was no good.
The best thing is yet to come: the bill was 90 chf !!!!!! (75 Euro). The bottom line we were still hungry, ate badly and got ripped off.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bruno G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Olimpia also viewed

Lugano, Canton of Ticino
Lugano, Canton of Ticino
 
 

Been to Olimpia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing