We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Adults + 2 Kids fair price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“2 Adults + 2 Kids fair price”
Reviewed 25 March 2014 via mobile

My wife, our 2 children (4 and 7) and I stayed in one room. Stayed here March 19/20 in 2014. We would stay here again because:

Definately one of the nicest grounds one can find. Loads of space, Palmtreegarden, big 25m Pool with plenty of space to chill and for the children to play.

The room we had was pefect for a family because it had a bulkbed and a doublebed. The room is rather small and right under roof with a big window. There is a washing basin in the room.
This means you walk 2 flights up. No elevator. We travel light, so no problem.

Pots, Pans and Plates are available but the kitchen is tiny. Only one person may cook at a time. Beautiful dinning room with perfect Terrace which overlooks Lugano.

Showers were clean, Toilets had enough toiletpaper and were clean.

Enough parking space on the premises.

Room could be locked.

Very very nice breakfast area. We brought our own food, we even boiled our own water for tea and coffee.

I looked at some of the two bedroom rooms. *** star standard with a flat TV and the most stunning view from the rooms. Book No 32. it is at the corner and overlooks the lake and the city. Toilet and shower is in the room here.

Downside:
The walls seem thin. When we were here there were hardly any people here. Only one oldish couple next door and we could hear them very well. We came home very late, so we were dead tired and slept well.

If you have a room next to reception... No sleep. We talked to girls which slept there and complained a lot.

Tip:
We travel with a car so we could bring our food. Dombring as much food as you can for your stay in switzerland. Every country around is approx 30% cheaper.
That is why we did not try the breakfast. It seemed a bit on the expensive side from what we saw they offered.

The Hostel is right next to the trainstation. We could not hear a train once. We came with a car so we do not know how far it is to walk into the city.

Compare prices... IBIS is only 15 swiss francs more expensive than the room we had. It is a standard Hotel while this is a unique experience.

Good for couples, family, backpackers ( some of the rooms seem to be at the ground-floor which has more the touch of a basement)



Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Familie_unterwegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    84
    41
    5
    13
See reviews for
29
66
33
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We have stayed here twice and would stay again, hopefully next year for the jazz festival. We stayed in a double room in the other building, we also had a little balcony. Ok the kitchen could be larger, and there is sometimes a queue at meal times, but there is a large dinning room, and a outside balcony with tables to sit and eat your meal, there is also a number of fridges and a freezer to store your own food. But the extra bonus is that anyone staying at this hostel is the swimming pool in the adjoining hotel which you can use. The reception ladies were very friendly and helpful. Overall would recommend , very near the train station and the town centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chrisglass50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level Contributor
188 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We stayed just two nights in Lugano and were looking for somewhere to stay that was both inexpensive and in a convenient location. The Hotel Montarina isn’t particularly cheap but, this being Switzerland, it costs less than most other places we looked into in Lugano.

Rooms are provided in two buildings. We stayed in the building housing the comfort rooms which have en-suite facilities. Our room was pretty basic but was adequate. Some of the rooms have balconies although ours didn’t and, if we returned, we’d try to book one of these.

The hotel has a nice pool area and we found staff to be friendly apart from when they were trying to push us to book the breakfast. Tina was particularly helpful and answered our questions both via the internet and in person.

The railway station is just a 5 minute walk from the hotel and there’s a small supermarket and a few other shops there. A large proportion of the other guests were quite young but they were sensible and there was no more noise than in many other places we have stayed.

Hotel Montarina isn’t a bad choice if you’re on a budget and can’t afford the more expensive hotels Lugano has to offer.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amani10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very nice staff in the hostel, they were friendly and helpful. The hostel itself is nicely situated above the city, so nice views and first of all it's close to the main Lugano train station. There's plenty of trees and plants around the hostel building, so you feel like in a jungle actually ;) The bathrooms were very clean. Very positive experience!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tomasz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LANGLEY
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

This hotel is steps from the train station but is quiet and secluded. The grounds and the pool are beautiful. Our room had a stunning view. Well priced but don't get the breakfast included. It's way overpriced. There are plenty of places to eat in Lugano. Our room was comfortable but there is no elevator and there are three floors.
We saw lots of young people in the hostel. There were lots of bunk beds in each room but the rooms were large and clean.
Good hotel for the money and I would stay there again.

Room Tip: Try to get on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LORRAINE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

Good location - but walking up to the property with lot of luggage will be a sweaty hike. Beautiful property. Since there are lot of plants, trees etc you run the risk of mosquitoes entering your room if you leave the windows open. Only comfort rooms are with attached bath, albeit small. Fully equipped common kitchen. A nice swimming pool. A nice breakfast area.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jack T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

I stayed in Montarina Hostel for many times over the years and this place has the best value for money for young backpackers.
You can use the kitchen to save money since the restaurants in Lugano are quite expensive. There's a wonderful terrasse where you can sit and relax. There's a table tennis table, a big swimming pool you can use and nice sunbeds. It's situated next to the train station which is not quite in the town but you can reach it within 10min. For the cheap accomondation, there's a dorm but they also provide nicer rooms for a bit more. Switzerland's hotel prices are enormous, especially in Lugano, therefore this place has by far the best value for money.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne_782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#32 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel

Property: Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Address: via Montarina 1, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 Speciality Lodging in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HRS so you can book your Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Montarina And Backpackers Hostel
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing