We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“'Fair enough'”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Ranked #16 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
1 review
“'Fair enough'”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location, close to pretty much everything except from the train station, which you can easily access by bus though (bus stop just outside the hotel). Our room was clean and had a nice view of a small park, not very quiet though as there was some noise both from the street and from other residents of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and kind. Our overall experience is positive and we would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

326 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    155
    61
    10
    6
See reviews for
47
103
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, centrally located. The restaurant is no-alcohol, so did not try...
Free wifi . Room on the main square are quiet at night and may be more pleasant than in the back.
Good for solo on business , but not so cheap for the size of a double room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Hotel offers real value for money. It is located within walking distance from the Train Station/Funicular, close to Bus Stop and Ferry port.
The Waterfront is only 200 metres away. Our room had a nice view overlooking a small park and a busy street which we enjoyed watching the Life Style of Lugano.
Shared bathrooms on the floor were very clean and comfortabily close to our room. We enjoyd the nice breakfast. Staff were very friendly and the helpful receptionists assisted us very well ( in English). Will definately stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan-Lorine-VanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
145 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013 via mobile

This is a centrally located hotel, near the lakefront, with a built in (alcohol free) restaurant and wifi. On arrival at the station, you can either catch a bus, or take the little shuttle train into the town centre. We decided to walk and we reached the hotel within 20 minutes. When we arrived, the receptionist was welcoming and efficient. The en suite room was what you would expect from a 2-Star Hotel. The room was warm, as the propeller sized fan struggled to keep the temperature down. If you are on a budget, then this could be for you?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

The good: Hotel Pestalozzi is centrally located in Lugano and relative to the price of other hotels is a good deal which includes wifi and breakfast. About 10 min walk from the train station. The room was clean and the staff friendly. They allowed us to check in early, which was a plus after a long day of traveling.

The not-so-good: Read the room details when booking, we didn't realize until it was too late to change the reservation that we had a shared hall bathroom. Not a huge problem but not expected for the price we paid. The bigger problem was the heat. No A/C, but at night it got down into the 60s so we should have been fine. Unfortunately the building just locked in the heat of the day and we couldn't get air flowing in the room. They need ceiling fans and vents in the doors. The breakfast was just ok, the most basic we'd had across 12 days of traveling across Europe.

The experience would have been good if we'd paid more for a room with a bathroom and A/C. It's worth the money.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Emily W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Good location just in the centre of Lugano. I travelled to this beautiful city and I found this hotel closer to the Congress Center with a good quality/cost relation. Staff at the reception was very kind. The rooms are a little bit poor in terms of decoration but clean.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sobral1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Me and my friend were staying in a hostel called "Savosa youth hostel" which I highly recommend for anyone on a budget or for backpackers..But it was fully booked and we had to look for something affordable. All hostels were fully booked so we end up finding this little hotel..
The guy at the reception was incredibly nice to let us stay in the conference room which was HUGE! lol. He put 2 beds for us and a little fan ! LIFE SAVER..We would've slept in the train station if it wasn't for him! The next couple of days we found a room and it was pretty good for a 3-star hotel. Once again if you're going on budget I would recommend that hostel its half price and it has a pool and parking and everything you need.
I must say my trip wasn't in 2012 it was in August 2009.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lamiita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 470 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Property: Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing