We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rapport prix performance bon”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Zug, Switzerland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“rapport prix performance bon”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

The desk people are very nice. Every thing was for the requested price good. On a personal view, I would like at breakfast tomatoes, fresh cucumber and plain organic bread! One egg cost CHF 1.50 (!). Internet works very well

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank dabe0612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Buongiorno dabe0612,

thank you for your kind review and your ideas for our breakfast.

Sounds like you had a good time in the hotel Pestalozzi Lugano. I'm sure, that the kitchen staff helped you immediately, when you asked for the vegetables. We are looking forward to welcome you again with us at lake Lugano. Let us know what we could do for you. We endeavor to meet your needs to ensure a memorable holiday in Ticino.


Manuela Fadani, Directrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    156
    61
    10
    6
See reviews for
48
103
43
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Very clean and good hotel. Friendly treatment and a very good service. The Personnel is very kind and professional. Responsive service and good restaurant choice. Location excellent, direct access to the center of the city. Surely I will repeat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Valentin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Valentin G,

thank you for this kind revue. We are very pleased, that you had a nice and comfortable business stay with us. We would be more than happy to welcome you back. Even for your next business trip to Lugano and its surroundings or for a holiday. Maybe you'ld like to stay a prolonged weekend just to welcome the spring in the city and at the lake. The first warming rays of sunshine and a lot of flowers are already here. Please let us know if we could suggest you some special dates.

Kind regards,

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orleans, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Clean hotel, nice but simple room and very nice centre place. A bit expensive in relation to the ordinary comfort. Good break fast. The restaurant is no-alcohol, but they have at least beer. That's good. The food correct and also the service ! I can honestly say there were no complaints with my stay. We stayed just one night.
The staff were very helpful and kind. Our overall experience is positive and we would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coquelicot P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 24 January 2014
Dear Coquelicot P,

thank you for this very kind review. We are more than pleased about your nice words and praise. Also many thanks for your appraisal for our restaurant and service. We would love to welcome you back at the lake Lugano. And if you recommend us to your friends, we will give them a warm welcome to feel them at home in this wonderful city. Promise!

Please just let us know, what we can do for you or have look on our website. We do offer some specials there, too!

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Stayed here whilst in Lugano for work. It is a short walk from the train station (you just need to know the right direction to walk. Hint: walk down steps and then cross, then cut down through an alley way, then turn right and walk. You will see it on the left hand side around 50 metres past the bus station). The hotel has a range of rooms - I took the cheapest one which has a shared toilet and shower. But I think I was in the minority, which meant I had it all to myself. Their website doesn't do them justice - it's modern, clean and very practical. Breakfast is buffet and is included - cereals, meats, cheeses, juice, coffee/tea. My room had just the single bed, small sink, big wardrobe, desk and TV. There are lifts to all floors - always a bonus in Europe - and if you are into it, the casino is just over the road and is 24 hours. Iron facilities available on ground floor.

Front door gets locked from around 10pm but just buzz and night reception will let you in. I can honestly say there were no complaints with my stay. I stayed three nights - the room doesn't get serviced in between but that wasn't an issue for me.

Would definitely stay here again. Not huge amounts to do in Lugano other than walk, and window shop. Night time is great to visit the castles, but save the day time to go to the ancient town nearby (name escapes me, sorry).

Only tip: don't underestimate the power of hills on walking times and endurance. Google maps etc gives you straight forward directions, but with steep inclines, a five-minute walk might actually be 25 minutes with stops along the way for oxygen /defibrilation... ; )

Room Tip: Rooms not overlooking the main street are inevitably quieter. But Lugano doesn't get particularl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cheemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Pestalozzi, Geschäftsführer at Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear Cheemar,

thank you for being our guest and for this lovely revue. We are more than happy that you obviously enjoyed your stay with us - in our hotel and the surrounding! The town near by you've mentioned should be Bellinzona, right? If you need a tourguide or tips for a hiking tour for your next stay with us, let us know.

We'll get you in contact with some fabulous people from the Lugano tourismo office. We are looking forward to welcome you again!

Manuela Fadani-Eidenberger, direttrice
Telefono: +41 (0)91 921 46 46
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
1 review
Reviewed 30 September 2013

This hotel is in a convenient location, close to pretty much everything except from the train station, which you can easily access by bus though (bus stop just outside the hotel). Our room was clean and had a nice view of a small park, not very quiet though as there was some noise both from the street and from other residents of the hotel. Breakfast was good and the staff were very helpful and kind. Our overall experience is positive and we would recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miranda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2013

Friendly staff, clean room, centrally located. The restaurant is no-alcohol, so did not try...
Free wifi . Room on the main square are quiet at night and may be more pleasant than in the back.
Good for solo on business , but not so cheap for the size of a double room.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset West, South Africa
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

This Hotel offers real value for money. It is located within walking distance from the Train Station/Funicular, close to Bus Stop and Ferry port.
The Waterfront is only 200 metres away. Our room had a nice view overlooking a small park and a busy street which we enjoyed watching the Life Style of Lugano.
Shared bathrooms on the floor were very clean and comfortabily close to our room. We enjoyd the nice breakfast. Staff were very friendly and the helpful receptionists assisted us very well ( in English). Will definately stay here again !

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan-Lorine-VanZyl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
0.4 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 632 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Property: Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing