We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“CHEAP AND CHEERFUL NOT MAJOR LUXURY BUT A GOOD BED IN GOOD LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“CHEAP AND CHEERFUL NOT MAJOR LUXURY BUT A GOOD BED IN GOOD LOCATION”
Reviewed 4 January 2011

This hotel is ideal for central 'Lugano trip
not modern and communal shower and toilet so not ideal for privacy.
No wifi in hotel nearest is by Lugano Lake or Pay 5chf for 30 mins
i would stay again but only if i had to nothing else
the fact of everyone walking around in communal corridors with nothing on to shower or toilet is not really my scene.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    105
    166
    63
    10
    7
See reviews for
56
110
46
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Trieste, Italy
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2010

We spent three days in this small hotel located near the Casino and the Lake. The room was nice and clean but very small, especially the bathroom. The hotel has no garage or parking spaces so you have to park in a nearby garage (cheap only if you leave the car there all the time, not if you have to use it during your stay). The staff was kind and breakfast ok. All in all, a good bargain, considering prices in Lugano, but nothing really outstanding.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bassodonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2009

This hotel is THE bargain in Lugano. The staff are amazing!!!. The breakfast is great. The location is well. . . Lugano! Didn't try the hotel\ restaurant but I heard it was tasty. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in the future. And did I mention this hotel is CLEAN!!!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ynotUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2009

We recently spent a weekend at the Hotel Pestalozzi. Though listed as a three-star hotel in various on-line forums, the sign on the door says it is only a two-star establishment. The sign looked as though it was recently updated, so it's possible this is a newer development

The pros:
- The room was fairly affordable, but Swiss standards
- The room was clean
- The breakfast was a nice amenity, though nothing fancy (cereal, coffee, cheese, and some cold cuts)
- The location is great. We had a view of the lake right from our room and we bordered Parco Civico. We were also a short walk from the city center.

The cons:
- The hotel may have been recently renovated, but I debate the definition of recent. The common areas were pleasant enough, but the room needed a coat of paint as there were numerous areas that had chipped or peeling paint.
- The walls in our room had a huge crack that ran from a corner about a foot down
- The furniture was dorm like and very basic linens (though they did provide ample blankets)
- The windows are thin and you can hear everything if you have a room that borders a main street
- The whole idea of leaving your keys when you leave the hotel just seems weird to me

Overall, the hotel served a purpose - a last minute, affordable room in a town in a country known for being expensive. Would I stay again? Possibly, but only if I couldn't find another room that was near enough (i.e. within 75 CHF) the same price.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OutofRange331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2009

This hotel is fine - but ask for a room that does not face the street!! Noise from the street and a nearby disco kept us up until after midnight. That said, our room was very clean and comfortable. Staff were helpful, but not very friendly in comparison to others on our trip throughout Switzerland. Breakfast OK, nothing special.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ALDodge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2009

I travelled here for a conference with another colleague and we decided to stay here as it was cheap, close to the convention centre and seemed better than other options.

Although it is the budget option, I would recommend this place as it is a no frills option. The rooms are small and basic but are clean and serviceable. We had a good balcony view towards the lake and the weather was lovely. They do provide a basic continental breakfast and the staff were friendly and helpful.
Our trip coincided with the annual jazz festival (estivaljazz) which was loads of fun.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 18ladyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
75 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2009

Great location in the centre of the town, good brekky, parking available by the Casino, just metres away. Quiet room, nothing fancy but had everything we needed. A little dear for what it offered (the Swiss way...). Recommended though.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.3 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#16 of 45 in Lugano
411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ibis budget Lugano Paradiso
1.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
497 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Delfino Lugano
Hotel Delfino Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano

Property: Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Address: Piazza Indipendenza 9 | 6901 Lugano, Lugano 6901, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano 2*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy your vacation at the Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano and forget about everyday life! In the centre - close to the Lake of Lugano - a world full of architecture, hospitality and holiday fun awaits you! Attractive rates - newly renovated rooms Enjoy the Lake and the city of Lugano first hand. The Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano is situated directly in the city centre and is open for you all year round. Over the past years the hotel was completely renovated with love for detail and architectural highlights. Choose your ideal accommodation among the categories Flair or Economy- for your vacation in Ticino or for a business trip to Lugano. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestalozzi Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing