We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Recommend for young people without a large budget”
Review of Calipso Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Calipso Hotel
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel is just several blocks away from the lakeside. The price is quite low comparing to the neighbor hotels and the room is, however, surprisingly clean and tidy. The stuff is very friendly and helpful as well.

The drawbacks are that there is not internet connection and the wifi in the lobby is not so easy to be connected at least for me and my friend from the ipads. I have no idea if this problem is rare or common. The furniture is old and somehow a bit shabby, but it is not a serious problem.

After all, if order properly ahead, the hotel benefits you with a good location to the lake side at a quite good price. Personally suggest to those young people without a large budget but searching for a cosy place near the lake side.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beanprince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (71)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 71 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

A tired hotel that had its days in the 70's. No air conditioning. At the reception, they did not accept credit cards when it was time to pay for my drink. The bathroom had some broken details and was out of fashion just like the rest of the decor in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fredrik L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

There are several "Via delle scuole 3" in the Lugano area ! Be sure to enter City = "Paradiso" when programming your GPS !

Simple but clean room. Comfortable beds. Quiet location. Ideal for an overnight stop or base for hickes in the area. Room did have airconditioning, but just an old 17" video tube TV. Breakfast was OK, but only sliced, white bread and canned fruit ... forget the coffee. The hotel is well located, right next to the San Salvatore funicular and 5 min. walk to the lake front. Staff was very friendly. It also has outdoor pool and gym facilities. Overall, ideal if you're on a low budget.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gvamax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I was in the city for three days to attend a seminar and I booked this accommodation because of its location close to the station. It is a great hotel in every respect and I cannot find any fault in any department. Whatever I needed for my stay was there. Cool rooms, friendly staff, amazing food, huge bed, comfy pillows and great bathroom. I will definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rudolf V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

If you are looking for a good budget hotel in Lugano, the Calipso might suit you. Friendly, helpful staff - nice clean rooms and a good buffet-style breakfast for 10 CHF. The hotel's decor is straight out of the 60s/70s, but is strangely comforting and makes a nice change from that of the homogenized budget hotels you find in every other city these days. We stayed 5 days and can't fault them on anything. We even had an upgrade with a balcony too - bonus!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kitsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I stayed here with my family for four days in February 2013. We had a great weekend there and were very much delighted to be a guest of this property. Right from the staff at the reception to the guys at the restaurant and the transport desk, the attention to the guests needs was perfect. They valued their customers. All of them were very friendly and co-operative. Rooms were good and had a TV and balcony. Buffet breakfast was good and had cereal, cheese fruit salad, cold cuts and a variety of types of bread and toast. I loved it. Will definitely come back again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

We only stayed one night as we were driving through to Germany and this was the cheapest option we could find in Lugano, we were very pleased. Great clean rooms and lovely bathroom with shower and bath. Tv in your room and a little balcony oustide. Wifi seemed as though it was only usable in the lobby area but they have lots of tables and chairs so that wasn't a problem. There are 2 pools! One indoor and one out, they were a fantastic bonus. Parking wasn't free but they do offer a safe carpark for a fee of around 16 francs. We had a great stay here and would definitely choose this hotel again! Great location also

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marnie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.7 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.8 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#12 of 45 in Lugano
370 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Vezia
Hotel Vezia
#1 of 1 in Vezia
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
3.0 mi away
le bucce di Gandria
le bucce di Gandria
#1 of 1 in Gandria
25 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Montarina & Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Calipso Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Calipso Hotel

Address: Via delle Scuole 3 | Paradiso, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Hotel Class:3 star — Calipso Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 168
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Calipso Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Calipso Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing