We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional stay and great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
wolllongong
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Exceptional stay and great hotel”
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked in advance to stay three nights and were given an upgrade to their best room on the top floor, overlooking the Lake, which was a beautiful huge room by any hotels standards. Breakfasts had everything you could ask for and the service was first class. Have to say that overall the room we were given, service and facilities are way above the rating given to the hotel and far better than some of the '5 star' places we saw down by the Lake front !!!! We arrived by train and the hotel is 100mts walk away with easy access down to the Lake and shops. Would really recommend anyone to stay here as I couldn't see any better accommodation in Lugano whilst we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    252
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
99
311
50
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here again, just like last year on our way to Tuscany and I have to say, it was excellent. We got upgraded (I think) to a room on the top floor of the main building overlooking the lake, the view was amazing. The service too was class all the way. Bathtub was also great, very relaxing, especially considering the view.

We will definately be back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

a hotel with an amazing history very close to the Lugano railway station. Built at the time of the Gotthard railway tunnel and totally upgraded to highest standards a few years ago. The hotel park has beautiful palm trees and a lovely outdoor pool next to a summer restaurant Ticino style. The same family has run this hotel for a very long time with a lot of tender love and care. They also have their own wineyard and produce wines and spirits on the property. Amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the hotel park with the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADStocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Private hotel with personal touch and high standards. The room is spacious and the breakfast buffet is rich and varied and is being served in the hotel restaurant that overseas the Lugano lake. The staff is very professional and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel bar offers a very nice home produced wine that the owner created (we loved the Merlot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonenST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2012

I like other people were concerned with the train tracks, no problem. Our room even faced the front of the hotel where the tracks are and the beautiful lake. The windows are new and when closed can not hear anything. I was very impressed with the staff and our over all stay. The room is very updated and the bath was bright with a great tiled shower. They had a safe and a fridge. The room was very large with plenty of storage. It was a 5-10 min walk to the downtown area, all down hill. There is a funicular for like 1SF. We ate dinner at the hotel due to getting in late, which was very good. The waiter was a little rough at the beginning cause we did not have reservations but lightened up, now the young lady serving with him had a smile to win anyone over! She also was at the breakfast buffet the next day with a good morning and of course that terrific smile! The breakfast was the best we had in our 13 day trip! Quite a spread and very good! Very happy we stayed 2 nights! We didn't know about the grotto out back till our last day. I guess they serve breakfast out there too and have a fantastic garden with some of the old wine making things. Very quiet and relaxing! We would stay here again!!

Room Tip: Our room faced the lake and train tracks but had a great view and very quiet!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citylady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corvallis, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

This hotel was recommended by others, but i was a bit concerned about its closeness to the train station. Not a problem - it's has a lovely park-like setting, with shady quiet areas and a large sunny pool (with bar/menu service). My single room was quite small (not unusual for Europe), but had a mini-fridge and a comfortable reading chair, and it overlooked the gardens so it was really quiet.

The staff was particularly friendly and helpful. Very nice experience altogether, especially since it was a snap to walk to the train station and take the funicular down to the lakeside.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BerryWaffle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
575 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing