We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely grande dame hotel, well-kept up in fun Lugano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Washington, DC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely grande dame hotel, well-kept up in fun Lugano”
Reviewed 7 October 2012

As other reviewers have noted, this hotel is well-located if you are coming in by train--near the train station which also houses the fun funicular which takes you downtown to the old town, shops and lakefront in a minute. You can also walk to the downtown/lakefront--it is not far, and there are interesting little stores all along the pedestrian walkway. We reserved a superior "top" room in the main building with a request to face away from the trains, and were upgraded by the hotel to the "prestige" room on the top of main building, with balconies overlooking the lake and another overlooking the beautiful gardens and pool and grapevines behind the hotel. Very luxurious room and huge by any standard, it was completely comfortable and immaculate, and we slept well. I'm sensitive to noise and our room was completely quiet when the windows were closed--must be tripled-paned or something. Was a bit warm outside when we were there, so the A/C in the room was great. Also, the hotel has its own winery--try their wonderful Merlot in the hotel bar! It is the best!

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, you probably should spring for a room in the main building and at lea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank July101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    322
    250
    48
    17
    10
See reviews for
99
308
50
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2012

Hotel is located just a short stroll from Lugano railway station, but that can be a advantage or disadvantage depending upon what are you expecting from Lugano. There are several properties overlooking the lake in city but for us this worked well since we did day trips to Italy and city was just a short funicular ride away.
On arrival we got upgraded and they confirmed my pre-request for a room on a higher floor overlooking the lake. The views are fantastic and the rooms are large. Staff at front office are very helpful and enthusiastically helped us with all their queries. Same cannot be said about restaurant staff, service was inconsistent.
Hotel has nice lawns and a good pool. The pool area will make you oblivious to the fact that you are next to a train station
The only drawbacks are that wifi is slow in the rooms, but was fairly ok in common areas. The room lacked basic amenities and room service that you would expect from hotel of this standard. Overall the hotel is classy and very well managed.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TwoHappiFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wolllongong
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

Booked in advance to stay three nights and were given an upgrade to their best room on the top floor, overlooking the Lake, which was a beautiful huge room by any hotels standards. Breakfasts had everything you could ask for and the service was first class. Have to say that overall the room we were given, service and facilities are way above the rating given to the hotel and far better than some of the '5 star' places we saw down by the Lake front !!!! We arrived by train and the hotel is 100mts walk away with easy access down to the Lake and shops. Would really recommend anyone to stay here as I couldn't see any better accommodation in Lugano whilst we were there.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kevWolllongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2012 via mobile

We stayed here again, just like last year on our way to Tuscany and I have to say, it was excellent. We got upgraded (I think) to a room on the top floor of the main building overlooking the lake, the view was amazing. The service too was class all the way. Bathtub was also great, very relaxing, especially considering the view.

We will definately be back.

Stayed September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

a hotel with an amazing history very close to the Lugano railway station. Built at the time of the Gotthard railway tunnel and totally upgraded to highest standards a few years ago. The hotel park has beautiful palm trees and a lovely outdoor pool next to a summer restaurant Ticino style. The same family has run this hotel for a very long time with a lot of tender love and care. They also have their own wineyard and produce wines and spirits on the property. Amazing.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the hotel park with the outdoor pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ADStocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herzelia, Israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

Private hotel with personal touch and high standards. The room is spacious and the breakfast buffet is rich and varied and is being served in the hotel restaurant that overseas the Lugano lake. The staff is very professional and attentive.

Room Tip: The hotel bar offers a very nice home produced wine that the owner created (we loved the Merlot)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RonenST
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#14 of 45 in Lugano
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
573 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#7 of 45 in Lugano
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Hotel.de, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing