We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hotel in Lugano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Camas, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel in Lugano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2012

Although the hotel is 150 years old, it has been extensively remodeled and the rooms are very nice. We were able to get an upgrade to a superior room in the main building that had a balcony with a lake view. The hotel has a lovely park area behind it and nearby was an area where we saw deer grazing. If you arrive by train, from the front of the station walk right to the end of the parking lot. The hotel is across the tracks and up a little hill. You will have to pull your luggage up the cobblestone and brick driveway.

Room Tip: If you ask for a quiet room you will be facing the back away from the lake. Get a lake view room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EAllan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    312
    241
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
97
298
47
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 November 2012

Lovely hotel steeped in history. If you go in summer they have a wonderful outside eating area. Pool area is very nice surrounded by gardens and trees.
Hotel is up above the train line which is very convenient but they need a pick up service so you don't have to wheel your bags over the line and up the steep hill. Town is only a few minutes walk away and the lake is divine with eating places all along the water.

Room Tip: High up so you have either a view of the exquisite garden or overlooking the town and presumably lak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tastraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2012

-Day8;We woke up early to took on the Bernina Express to Tirano and then took on
the Bernina Bus to Lugano.The bus station is about 5 minutes walk from the train
station.If I have to choose only one of the panoramic train,I must choose the BE.
Thanks again for the advise from the tripadvisor expert,we made seat reservation
both train and bus(CHF12+12 for train+bus per each person,depend on season-
summer or winter,it's easy to manage everythings by the internet).We found that the bus was fully occupied and disappointed a lot of travellers waiting for the seat.
We arrived at Lugano in the evening.We booked the hotel Montarina but we were changed to Continental Parkhotel which is better.Because it's nearer to the train station.The staff was friendly and took a lot of time to explain to us about the room,where to go and how...The room is new,modern style,comfort and clean.
I wanted to checked out early so I told the reception before and used the credit card for the cost.Next morning I just used the roomkey to open the main door.
-Day9;We took on the train to Luzern and had breakfast on the train restaurant.
If you are coffee lover,it's one of the perfect moment to take it with the breathtaking
view.We booked the Etap hotel,not far from the train station.The room isn't small but twin beds are.There is a hole in the bath door so I felt no privacy in that room.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kornkaew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level Contributor
92 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We were booked into this hotel whilst on a train tour of Switzerland organised by RailTour Switzerland.

We were pleased to arrive at this hotel because from the outside it appeared full of classical grandeur. Hopes were soon dashed when we were told we were in the separate annex cube adjoining the main building

On finding our room hope sank further, it was what I can only describe as sub basement. The window looked out onto the ramp leading to the main hotel, although even this "view" was obscured by the hotel minibus parked permanently in front of the window. Probably just as well in retrospect because the only curtain was a semi opaque material which kept no light in or out.

Room and bathroom were a good size, tiled throughout in marble. There was no bath but a shower cubicle with plastic doors. Furniture looked like odd pieces just placed in the room.

The nearby railway could be felt as well as heard, fortunately the trains did not run at night although I woke frequently through the night due to the outside lights of the hotel shining through our see through curtain. All in all the accommodation was more hostel than hotel.

Breakfast was in the main hotel and was quite good with a small hot option as well as continental.

Room Tip: Avoid the annex if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BFGWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Hotel is very close to the train, which is excellent if that is your mode of transportation to Lugano. We booked a room in the main building, which have recently been renovated. The receptionist was friendly and welcoming..she actually took the time to provide details about the hotel, as well as directions & info about the town. (Very nice to not just have keys thrown at you and then you're on your own.). The room was huge, spotless, very comfortable bed, small terrace with view of town, & great deep soaking bath tub. Service in both the bar and breakfast was, again very friendly & efficient. Getting to town from the hotel was extremely easy, short walk or the funicular. Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SoxFans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, England
Level Contributor
72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 October 2012

This hotel is excellent. We were given an upgraded room early as we arrived soaking wet after the bus from Mennagio dumped us 2 miles outside Lugano in the pouring rain, after a lorry jack knifed in front of it. The room was very big, clean, with a great bathroom and a balcony. The beds were comfortable. The staff were very helpful and spoke excellent English. Breakfast was plentiful.
Good trip is to take the short circular boat trip and get out at Paradiso on the way back (It also calls there on the way out). Take the San Salvadore funicular and enjoy fabulous views of the alps. Very expensive place Lugano, but the station buffet was good value and reasonable food.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank osinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.6 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing