We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trouble with booking hotel not helpful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #5 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Trouble with booking hotel not helpful”
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I did not stay at this hotel because there was a problem in booking. They use an outside booking agent (booking.com) that I later found had 2 different areas you needed to change the date of stay. I accidentally only changed one and therefore the reservation was made for the default date which was the day I was making the reservation. Despite the reservation being made for 15 minutes until midnight on the day of the reservation, and therefore a pretty obvious mistake, the hotel would not do anything to accommodate us. All we were asking for was some credit on the stay on the correct date but they would not do this. I think this is very poor customer service since I doubt our reservation made 15 minutes before midnight cost them any additional guests. If this is any indication of their idea of service, I would never stay here. Instead made reservations for the International Au Lac and had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LenPoirier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    318
    249
    48
    16
    10
See reviews for
99
304
49
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
178 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Immediately next to train station and easy to get to town from this location. We were "upgraded" without asking and had a fantastic room on the top floor (#70, I believe) with a balcony overlooking the lake and mountains. If you can get that room I highly recommend it. The staff was much warmer and more friendly than the typical Swiss hotel staff members (perhaps the Italian influence?) and the breakfast was far superior to breakfasts in most Swiss hotels (which, by the way, I think are great and better than what you get in most other countries) insofar as there is hot fare (bacon, eggs, etc.) available. The grounds are beautiful and there is a nice pool to use if the weather is warm. Like all Swiss hotels, this one is more expensive than you might expect but the price was reasonable by Swiss standards. Also, the bartender and front desk staff were excellent.

Room Tip: The "annex" is much less desirable in that it is closer to the train and does not have a v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aquila13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Novo Mesto, Slovenia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2013

i would like to mentioned that hotel is next to train station which is really crowded all day & night, so its not easy to fall asleep, we had some problem like a group cause they did not want to serve us dinner separetaley whenever we came, but all together, what was strange if we came in hotel, we were in other building,like depandance of hotel & had amazing view to the mountain BRE around, nice location anyway, nice people, nice atmosphere & hopefully will return one day

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank touristproffexpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2013

We stayed in the main hotel in a renovated room on the garden side of the building, top floor. It was absolutely lovely with a spacious sitting area, an incredibly comfortable bed, and a large bathroom. It was really peaceful; we never heard the train although the hotel is conveniently located right next to the station. The large pool area is set in a private garden backing up to the hotel's small vineyard. You wouldn't expect it in the heart of Lugano. We were so pleasantly surprised by our room and the pool setting, that we decided to extend our stay. The staff were really friendly and helpful. We'd definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Garden side is quieter; top floor is the best with just four rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lap850
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Spotlessly clean, conveniently located right next to the railway station - and it's surrounded by a subtropical garden, so you don't feel you're living close to a busy street and railway lines. There will be no street noise if you stay in the main building, especially if your windows face the park. The staff is very friendly. They speak English, Italian, German, French. There's a 10% discount if you stay longer than 5 nights and book directly on the hotel's website or by e-mail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ekaterina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2013

We took the William Tell Express steamboat and train from Lucerne to Lugano, a beautiful trip, and will continue on the Bernina Express to St. Moritz. For a trip such as this, the Continental Parkhotel is a good choice. The hotel is an easy 5-minute walk from the train station. The Bernina Express bus departs from a location quite near the train station also.

We stayed in a "terrace" room below the breakfast room in the main hotel. The room was small but perfectly adequate with everything needed for a comfortable stay. Exactly what one would expect from a 3-star property. At breakfast there was a nice variety of baked goods and fruit with the usual eggs, bacon, sausage, etc.

Lugano is a lovely city with a beautiful waterfront and park. Take the funicular from the railway station down to the old part of the city and walk around. An interesting day trip is a boat ride to the old fishing village of Gandria with a 45-minute walk back to Lugano along the Olive Trail.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunker222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2013

We loved our two day visit to Lugano! The Continental Park Hotel was lovely. The staff was very sweet and helpful. No pretensions. The barkeeper was friendly as well. He gave us chocolate when we left the bar! We were upgraded to the best room in the house, fourth floor, jacuzzi tub, large room with balcony and FAB view of the lake. Wonderful surprise! The garden ,outer buildings and pool out back are beautiful. The do not heat the pool water but, heh, can't have everything! We enjoyed the breakfast, cheese, meat, granola, yogurt, fruit, eggs bacon etc. The train is near the hotel but with sound proof windows and heavy drapes and shutters it was not a problem. The Swiss seem to like Somewhat hard mattresses which is fine with me as I prefer them as well. The linens and towels were very nice too. We will come back again. We did not have perfect weather but it was good enough and the nice hotel at a good price made up for the occasional rain shower.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank betsy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 46 in Lugano
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
566 reviews
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 46 in Lugano
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, HRS, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing