We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best of Lugano”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #7 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Continental Park Hotel in Sept. Our room on the fourth floor was spacious and well appointed. The bathroom was very large with a great shower. We had a view of the garden and pool. The room was very clean and the the cleaning service was exceptional. This older building has been beautify restored. You feel like you are in an old mansion. The breakfast selection was outstanding in a well lighted room. We did stay for dinner one evening and the special was grilled tuna. I was a little bit skeptical about ordering this dish since we live near the sea and are used to fresh fish. I questioned the wait staff and they consulted with the chef regarding the freshness of the fish. They assured me it was fresh, so my wife and I both ordered the tuna. When our meal came it was a very large portion and it was wonderfully prepared. It was one of the the best tuna dishes I have had the pleasure of eating. We went to the bar for an after dinner drink and met Giovanni (Not sure I remember the name correctly) However, he was very personable and we really enjoyed not only the drink, but the company. The hotel is near the railroad and you can hear the freight trains at night. If you are coming from the rail station or walking into town I would recommend walking though the parking lot nest to the hotel and cutting through the rail station. This way you don;t have to negotiate the railroad track and the traffic. Overall, you can't go wrong at this hotel. It is not cheap, but the quality is well worth the expense.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vigevano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (697)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

196 - 202 of 697 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2013

We were in the new part of the hotel which was close to the railway line.
Pillows were very flat and we couldn't get an extra sheet, as the doona was too hot.
The restaurant was lovely. Breakfast was a huge array of foods. Enough to satisfy any fussy eater.
We had Dinner there as well and we couldn't fault the meal.
The view from the hotel was probably superb once upon a time, however development has got in the way and new buildings block the view of the lake.

It is only a 5 minute walk from the train station.

Room Tip: Try not to get in the new building close to the railway line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We loved our stay at the Continental Park Hotel. It was walking distance from the train station which made it nice and easy to get there with our luggage. The rooms were lovely and the staff was wonderful and extremely helpful. Food was great too!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JFrat2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed staying here, Autumn Festival was on in the town which was excellent, local people sampling a range of culinary delights and drinks. Excellent party atmosphere in a beautiful place. The hotel was clean, the continental breakfast enjoyable with varied choice of food. Happy hour not to be missed in the bar! Would I recommend and stay again, yes I would! Staff very friendly and helpful too!

Room Tip: Ask for a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CAAPrestonLancashire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

The hotel is within walking distance of the train station by exiting the back platform. The hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. The pool area includes an olympic size pool, plenty of green areas around the pool for lounging and bar.

Our room was quite large and looked out over the pool area from a small balcony. The bathroom was quite large and modern, but no amenities were provided other than the all purpose "bath gel". Airconditioning was appreciated and there is almost no noise on the backside of the hotel.

There is a formal dining room (which doubles as the breakfast room) that is quite large and looks out over the front garden. Our meal in the formal dining room was very good. We also dined on the patio where you can get dinner or just snacks and drinks while watching a sporting match. The food was quite good and the waitstaff is excellent and very friendly.

The hotel has a long history and orginally must have had a beautiful view of Lugano and the lake, but now the view is mostly blocked by new buidlings and ongoing construction. Although the rooms on the front of the hotel have a better view towards the lake and mountains, they also look over the train station and frequent trains added to noise. If you want piece and quiet, ask for a room overlooking the pool.

You can take the funicular at the train station directly to the center of Lugano so the location of the hotel is perfect! I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms on the lake side have some view but also overlook the train station and noise from the trains...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bcox0610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

The hotel is 2 mins walk from Lugano Railway station so ideal if arriving by train & travelling around the area as we were. Funicular to lake front also leaves from railway station. Garden view rooms at rear with balconies are ideal & well equipped. Well sealed high quality double glazed balcony doors keep out all noise at night & efficient air conditioning with controls in each room provide an excellent environment for a good nights sleep.
Good breakfast buffet with range of hot & cold options, coffee served to tables. Restaurant menu satisfactory but not as competitively priced as other restaurants in the town. However, the bar b que nights in the garden are very worthwhile.

Room Tip: Choose a garden view room - overlooks lush gardens, pool & vineyard & is farthest away from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NantwichSpud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

We booked this as a stopover between Lake Como and Lake Maggiore, thinking it would be a harmless few days but not really expecting very much. How wrong could we be! Lugano is a lovely place, full of beauty and fun, with lots to do. The Continental Parkhotel was a delight, all the staff very welcoming and friendly, and the facilities excellent. Breakfast was the usual international buffet, but nicely done. We dined in the hotel restaurant one evening and were not disappointed. Other reviewers have mentioned the train station, but it really isn't an issue in a city hotel. We would return!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#11 of 45 in Lugano
383 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.8 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#15 of 45 in Lugano
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Family Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £100 - £157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing