We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay at Lugano” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Continental Parkhotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #4 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level Contributor
104 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great stay at Lugano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

This is a small hotel right next to Lugano train station. View of the lake is nice. Beautiful garden and outdoor pool. Room was soundproof so the proximity to the train station was not issue.
Room size was on the smaller size but this can be expected in Europe. Other than that, it was perfect - clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good and included with my room.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GalIsrael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    311
    240
    45
    16
    10
See reviews for
95
297
48
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

As we came into Lugano by train - being situated right by the station made it very convenient to get around, whether by bus, funicular or by walking 7 minutes to the town centre. Elegantly appointed it harkens to a classic era. High ceilings and all the creature comforts that appeals to Europeans and North Americans alike. Similar in feel to Federale Hotel but better situated to access to transport. Thankfully, we were not disturbed or consciously aware of the trains running nearby. The Trip Advisor recommendations were spot on.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank jimmyzook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2014

Very nice hotel with good service and a high standard in the room, including great internet access by wifi. A pretty good breakfast buffet, but only very small plates are available - is this a way to stop people overeating?

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

The hotel is just walking distance from the railway station and very near to the ropeway cum tram that takes you down to the city centre/ lake lugano. The staff is not too friendly and the rooms are small. Overall an average hotel to stay at

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AditiM0112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holbrook, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

we can't say enough good things about the Continentalpark Hotel in Lugano. The management very kindly upgraded us to their Prestige top room (without us asking) which was a gorgeous room. Spotlessly clean and well appointed, like the rest of their hotel. Staff made us feel like welcome and honored guests. Everyone we interacted with went out of their way to be helpful; the location was perfect for easily getting in and out of the city of Lugano. Their breakfast buffet was also a nice surprise, much better than the other 4 hotels we stayed at during our 14 days in Switzerland. Wish they could replicate the Continentalpark and their staff throughout other Swiss cities, we would have stayed at them all. The only downside was leaving and having to stay elsewhere during our trip to other regions (none of the remaining nor previous hotels in Lucerne, Interlaken, Lausanne, or Geneva came close to the 4 star quality of the Continentalpark).

Room Tip: if you are concerned about noise from the trains, request a room facing the back (garden / pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
114 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Continental Parkhotel for two nights. We selected it as it was convenient to the railway station (500 metres easy walk). We were asked if we would like a lake view room and when you're in Lugano what else would you want to look at. Our room was a good size, big enough for us and our suitcases. Bathroom was good -the shower magnificent. The beds were firm but comfortable. Our balcony overlooked the lake, the mountains and the railway line, but the fantastic views more than compensated for the noise from the trains, and when you shut the extremely efficient windows you couldn't hear a sound anyway.
The breakfast which was included in the cost was outstanding. It was the best we have found in Europe. There was something to suit everyone's taste. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and were a credit to the management. The surrounding gardens and pool area provided a lovely relaxing environment. We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevdeb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Attard, Malta
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

We had a lovely weekend break at this hotel. The breakfast is vast and great, the staff are so helpful and well educated and the breakfast room and view is lovely. I love the newsletter they leave on all the tables with suggested excursions and sightseeing.
We received an upgrade from the comfort room to the standard room with a lake view. The only hitch was that the curtains had no black out so at 5.30 - 6.00am we would wake up with the sunlight beaming in . we didn't mind actually as we got more out of the day......
Free car park is a blessing and being on top of the hill going to the hotel is easy.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#5 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Hotel.de so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing