We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect! But make sure that you like trains. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Continental Parkhotel
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Perfect! But make sure that you like trains. ”
Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

"+" - perfect location, few meters from the main railway station, and 10 min walking from the city center. If you take a Prestige, you'll get big room with huge bathroom, balconies and incredible view to Lugano lake.
Breakfast is quite unusual for this region, with hot meal (omelet and sausages).
Very nice park behind the hotel building with swimming pool.
"-" - rooms with the lake view could be a bit noisy, as the train would be right under your window. So, if you prefer quiet, then take the room with the garden view.
I would also like to see more fresh fruits and vegetables for breakfast.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Екатерина А
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    314
    244
    46
    16
    10
See reviews for
97
300
47
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gympie, Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived in Lugano after riding the William Tell Express from Luzern and found the hotel a handy few minutes walk from the train station. We tried to checkin in the lower building but were directed across the way by cleaning staff to the upper building where we found reception after going up in the lift. Checkin was friendly and efficient. We were pleased to find the hotel has free wifi. Our room required we go back down the lift and across the way to the lower building, where we eventually found a lift to take us down to the ground floor. Our room was spacious and airy with French doors that opened onto a small outdoor area. Breakfast was fine with many choices available, although the hot food was cold during our visit. The hotel sits a considerable height above the town which lies along the lakeshore. We walked down and back just once,then we caught the Funi Bus which runs a regular shuttle service from the station car park.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank EdM389
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had booked a superior room, but upon arrival were told that we were upgraded to a prestige room. What a lovepy surprise! No lake view, but a view of the pool which was stikk nice. The room was superb, wonderfully comfy bed, lovely balcony and th3 best shower I've ever come across!! The staff cannot do enough for you, the man behind the bar was lovely. Very busy during happy hour (5-6) but made sure he took our order before 6 to make sure we still paid happy hour prices! Good job, too, since it'sa little pricey (it might look and feel ike Italy, but it's still Switzerland!).

We didn't eat our evening meak here, prefering to venture into town (about an 8 minute bus journey away). On the point of the funicular, after reading some reviews, I was expecting to grt that into town, but they are doing work on it at the moment, so there is a replacement bus. The walk down is quite pleasant too, though.

One more thing I have to mention is the breakfast buffet. Very varied with bread, croissants, cereal, yoghurt, fruit, cheese, meat etc. But also muffins, doughnuts and cream slices. This is not too uncommon in the continent, but my personal favourite part was the haribo sweeties! Wonderful! I imagine they were mainly for the benefit of children, but never mind!

All in all, a fantastic hotel, but don't forget, we had the most expensive room type. The cheaper rooms will probably be a bit noisier/smalller. Cannot fault any of the staff though.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hof87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

This traditional hotel has been owned by the same family for over a hundred years. A short walk from the train station. We stayed in the annex which was comfortable but unfortunately the WiFi did not work so we accessed it in the lobby and bar of the main hotel. Half price drinks during "happy hour" and daily chef menu for dinner with pasta, risotto etc were very good value. The lady serving at the bar is a real gem who dealt with various demands from guests with a smile.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main hotel if you require WiFi service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rupert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

great location to train station. friendly staff and wonderful breakfast. Room was no located in main hotel. very small and much to expensive I thought for the room. bathroom not appropriate for family, see thru glass door. this made our teenagers feel very awkward. Glad we only stayed one night. sounds like we should have asked to stay in the main building.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drskipnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We had booked a superior top room for 9 nights for our vacation in Lugano. Without asking and without any extra charges the hotel gave us a prestige room on the 4th floor with the most beautiful lake view. The room was spacious (30-40m2) and had lots of storage space & a free safe & a fridge for you own drinks. In the corner of the room there was a Jacuzzi and besides the Jacuzzi there was a shower and the toilet was in a separate room. The tub was so deep and wide that we ended up taking mostly regular baths, because it was so relaxing to be able to be almost totally underwater. In fact the room was so comfortable and the view so stunning that we spent most our nights in our room taking baths and enjoying the view instead of going out for supper. Supper could be replaces by downstairs Manor’s snacks, since their selection was very good, but go before 7pm since everything closes at that time in Lugano.

The hotel restaurant was also a pretty good place for dinner and the price level was the same as in old town Lugano. Besides the á la carte-list there were also daily specials which you could choose from. The bar had happy hour every day 17-18 where you’d get drinks with half price and the mostly friendly service from the bartender. There was also a pool bar by the hotel’s pool in the garden, but it seemed to be open only when the weather was good. Once a week hotel would serve dinner (no buffet) near the pool at the Grotto-restaurant, which seemed very popular, so make a reservation or go early if you want to eat there.

The breakfast was included in the room rate and it was available every day until 10.30. The selection was pretty wide and good, but the same every morning. However even though we ate it 9 days, we did not get tired of the selection.

The bed was pretty comfortable and the big windows had electric covers with which you could block the morning sun. However if you are a light sleeper, the noise from the trains can be a bit of a problem since the freight trains run through the night. We were not woken by the trains, but if you were awake you could hear them.

The hotel is located on top of the hill above old town Lugano. Walking to old town was easy, just go across the railway tracks, then across the street and then go down the first street on the left (Salita Carlo Bossoli). It looks very narrow, but you can walk besides it and then go down until there are steps on the right which lead you to the church from where you decent again steps to the left. Back to the hotel the funicular is definitively the best choice for 1,10 CHF per ride.

When arriving to the hotel from the railway station, the easiest route (without any steps) is from the end of platform 4. You can change platforms by using the ramps and then walk towards the parking lot from platform 4. After that cross the parking lot and then you can see Continental Parkhotel’s sign. Then just up the hill and when you arrive to the hotel, do not use the main entrance’s steps. There is a corridor left of the main entrance where you will find an elevator which will lead you to the reception on level zero.

To sum up we have nothing negative to say about the hotel and can strongly recommend it. The service was good & friendly overall and there was always some personnel around who could speak English. That was good since in many places in Lugano area the only language spoken was Italian.

Room Tip: Choose garden-view if you are a light sleeper. Go for the Prestige-room if you budget allows it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheFinnishRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bethlehem, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Great location to trains and tram . 1 complaint pool is shared and quite busy by hostel guests next door. Not very relaxing . Would stay again when visiting Lugano . Would recommend seeing the lake by boat .

Room Tip: Balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tarquinbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.5 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
0.8 mi away
Hotel City Lugano
Hotel City Lugano
#6 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Continental Parkhotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Continental Parkhotel

Property: Continental Parkhotel
Address: via Basilea 28, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lugano
#4 Business Hotel in Lugano
#5 Family Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Continental Parkhotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 135
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Continental Parkhotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Continental Parkhotel Lugano
Continental Parkhotel Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing