We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ideal for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Dischma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Dischma Hotel
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Ideal for a short stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2008

The Dischma is a small B & B in the Paradiso area of Lugano. Paradiso is a residential area about a 30 minute walk along the beautiful promenade to the centre of Lugano, so the area is quite built up. The hotel is surrounded by apartments so don't expect much of a view unless you are on the upper floors where you get a view of San Salvatore. It is ideal for a short stay, the breakfast was adequate and they do offer evening meals. The rooms were spacious and very clean with everything you need. The staff were all very friendly and always willing to help. Just be aware if you are taking a car that although the website states that car parking is 8 - 10 swiss francs per day, it does not tell you that this in the public underground car park just a few minutes walk away. Not really a problem but I think this ought to be made clear. All in all perfect for a stopover or a few nights break.

  • Liked — Good quality for a reasonable price
  • Disliked — The built up area
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    58
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
33
38
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2008

I spent a long time on Trip Advisor looking for a reasonably priced hotel, without problems. The Hotel Dischma turned out to be just right. It's in Paradiso, which is an excellent location, just a few minutes from the boat dock and the San Salvatore funicular. It's also a quick walk down from the Paradiso train stop. Even the walk back up wasn't too bad, though we were glad our luggage had wheels, but that's true of anywhere you stay in the Lugano area.
The rooms were clean, comfortable, nicely decorated and we had a balcony with a great view of San Salvatore. The breakfast was plentiful. The staff were very friendly and helpful.
I would advise anyone to stay here. We would definitely go back

  • Liked — Price and comfort
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Elaine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Banja Luka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2007

I stayed 4 days in this hotel in September 2004. It's a very nice hotel, and staff was quite friendly. Rooms are clean, breakfast is ok, and above all, prices are reasonable.

  • Liked — Clean rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing in particular
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank IgorBanjaLuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2004

Nice simple hotel, very friendly atmosphere. The couple who run it are very welcoming. The room was simple and comfortable with a good bed and a nice view (we stayed on the top floor and also had a massive terrace with our room)
We'll definately stay there again next time we go to Lugano.

  • Stayed January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank philippe_geneva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2004

We stayed in Hotel Dischma for two nights in September 2004. For the price (inexpensive - we payed 59 Swiss Francs about £28 per person per night inc breakfast) - the hotel is a very nice, clean, family run hotel. The breakfast was very good.

The rooms are of a nice size - the decor is an interesting mix - but the rooms felt very comfortable and spacious - most have balconies which feel nice and private too. The hotel is up a little back street - so the views are not terrific - but it is only a very short walk from the Lake front and feels very safe. It is situated in Paradiso - and it is a pleasant lakeside walk to the centre of Lugano - although the bus system looks very good and inexpensive if you prefer to take a bus. There are other grander more expensive Lake side hotels - but for the price - we thought the Dischma was lovely, well run, friendly and we would return without hesitation.

Helpful?
7 Thank PaisleyBesom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zurigo
Hotel Zurigo
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 461 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Atlantico
Hotel Atlantico
#24 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Property: Dischma Hotel
Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dischma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing