We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dischma Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dischma Hotel
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Albany, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2013

This hotel was an excellent choice for our stay in Lugano. It is clean, comfortable and convenient to Central Lugano. The public transport system is very good. Hotel staff were friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were of high quality. This is a value for money hotel and is highly recommended

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LeenLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    21
    57
    19
    5
    2
See reviews for
32
38
7
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
103 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Very friendly chef and service staff who made us felt welcome. Breakfast was very good, with a full range of items, including locally made cheese. Location is just a few bus stops away from the Lugano station, and another few bus stops to the city central.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank thomas88k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2013

I came again to Hotel Dischma, traveling with a family member from the States. We were very pleased with our choice.

We appreciated the friendly staff, excellent beds, and good layout of the room - with separate bathroom/wardrobe area from sleeping area. The partial wall between made it easier for one to sleep while the other was using the bathroom or wardrobe.

In the morning, breakfast was a delight. A friendly and efficient wait service, and a great meal with a rich assortment of tasty food. A bonus: the comfortable parlor for talking with friends.

All in all a very comfortable stay. I will recommend this hotel to my friends.

no bar of soap, no washcloths.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CoffeeHound58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
60 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We did stay one night while driving to Italy.
Room was a bit outdated but fine, good airco, very good breakfast and location is OK (outside the busy and noisy part of the town). Overall rather expensive for the value but a good hotel if you're looking for a place to stay overnight.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rome, Italy
Level Contributor
69 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

Very reasonable cost hotel close to the lake, the rooms could do with a spruce up some of the fittings are not recent but is clean and the staff are efficient and friendly. Would use again if for a short break, limitations (room noise from next door and corridor is quite high, fittings are bit glib) would get to you if you stayed longer.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank moritz23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

We came here to hear pianist Martha Argerich play in two concerts and needed somewhere central to stay that was neither super luxury nor plastic international chain. The Dischma was ideal, it is not super-modern but is comfortable, clean, friendly, helpful, and in easy walking distance (half to one mile, but by the lake) to most of the places you'll want to go. Note that some GPS software needs the entry "Hotel Dischma, Paradiso" rather than "Hotel Dischma, Lugano" (Paradiso is a district of Lugano but is sometimes treated by GPS as a separate village).

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jmbryant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
272 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2012

My husband and I chose this hotel based on the location, reviews and relatively reasonable cost. We stayed two nights for 310 CHF which included all taxes and breakfast for two. We had taken the Bernina Express and that included the bus to the Lugano train station. We took the local train to Paradiso. We were able to walk to the hotel from the local train station. When we disembarked, we walked down towards the lake and had to ask a few people for directions in order to find the hotel but it was an easy 15 minute walk.
The reception was friendly and efficient. The walls throughout the hotel are decorated with dozens of paintings---- reproductions of the Great Masters from every era. The rooms were moderate, plain and quite ordinary, but clean. Same for the bathrooms.
We elected to have breakfast on the "terrace" area outside of the hotel next to the entrance where tables are set up on the small side street under a canopy, unfortunately where everyone smoked. The breakfast room was pleasant,and most guest ate inside. The food included cold meats, cheese, a great selection of breads, sausages, cut up melon and watermelon, small triangles of eggs, cereals, yogurt, juice, and GREAT coffee/tea.
There was a free computer in the bar area.
It was a perfect location for walking 15 min. to the lake and Parco Civico, as well as to the finicular to Mt San Salvatore.
Very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LUchicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Admiral
Hotel Admiral
#17 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Zurigo
Hotel Zurigo
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
Ibis Lugano Paradiso
#13 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 455 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Delfino
Hotel Delfino
#12 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#34 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dischma Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dischma Hotel

Property: Dischma Hotel
Address: Vicolo Geretta 6 | Paradiso, Lugano 6902, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Dischma Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Dischma Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dischma Hotel Lugano

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing