We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good views of the Lake, more less breakfast, tacky rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #9 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 June 2013

Let's start with the hotel, is has a weird setup, and the whole place is a mismatch. The rooms are apartments with no charm or taste. The breakfast is all but what you expect, they make the scramble eggs from reconstituted powder, no natural juice and the staff didn't want people to sit in the terrace in a sunny day because they were not ready (at 9:30 a.m.) The gym is good and well equipped. But for what you pay you can find much better hotel in Lugano. And you can have a parking for your car but of course you need to pay for it. First and last Sassa.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Taruko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to fill a comment on TripAdvisor. It is very important for us to receive feedback from our guests in order to improve our services and product constantly. Your remarks will be taken into consideration. We kindly inform you that at the moment we have started the project for renovating our rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (519)
There are newer reviews for Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

109 - 115 of 519 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2013

No any negative note for this hotel : staff is kind from check-in, parking (outdoor) is available without any problem, room is large and elegant. The price is very good for the quality of services : all is clean, bathroom is large, clean and nice, breakfast with view on the lake is super.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LORISm1403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your great feedback on TripAdvisor. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we have been able to fulfill your expectations.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Nice setting with garden and restaurant overlooking Lake Lugano, but no view from many of the rooms. Rooms have dated furniture, extremely small shower and two twin beds pushed together to make a double. Nice fitness center and indoor pool ( no weights).

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view room
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer. We kindly inform you that we have already started the project for renovating our rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Villa Sassa is not the most luxurious hotel in Lugano, if one looks at the number of stars, but in my opinion is definitely the best choice.
The position is unparalleled: it features great views on the lake and on the mountains, still remaining within walking distance from downtown; this also means rooms are usually very quiet (ask for those with bedrooms facing the inner side). Hotels along the lake, on the opposite, may be very noisy, as they are close to the city's main street.

Rooms are huge, with separate bedroom (one or two), living room and kitchen (this applies to rooms 200 and above), nicely furnished and with great views. Principe Leopoldos', a five star facility belonging to the same owners, features similar rooms in terms of luxury (although with a more traditional style), but is farther from town and way more expensive (plus: do not go to their residence, unless you need to attend to a congress in that location).

Villa Sassa features a faboulous fitness center and spa, one you might compare to the club you attend to in your own town, a gourmet restaurant (one of my favourites in Lugano) and an easy going bar also serving lunch and dinner.
The service is very attentive and professional.

Just one advice: ask the staff to replace the standard pillow!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatteoMilan_Italy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,

thank you for your kind feedback and for having taken the time to write a comment on TripAdvisor. It is important to receive feedbacks from our guests, in order for us to improve the quality of our offer. We would like to kindly inform you that we have already started the project for renovating our rooms.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you again at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I stayed at Villa Sassa overnight, on a business trip at Lugano. Although, not quite central with regard to location, the facilities that are offered here are good. For starter, the complimentary airport pick-up and drop was helpful and my room with en-suite kitchen was a surprise too. Views over the lake and the mountain were breath-taking. The hotel itself is located over a large stretch of land with themed building blocks. The indoor swimming pool, spa suite looked interesting but I could not use as it was a very short trip. Just experienced the bar for about an hour and the service was pleasant. Breakfast was adequate. On the whole, I think this hotel will work very well for couples and family looking for a Lugano retreat.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank venkat s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will share your kind comments with the various departments.

We look forward to welcoming you back at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Apartments in the residence are simple but well finished, the bed is really confortable and the bathroom wide.
In the morning I arrived late for breakfast, nevertheless a really kind waitress brought me a cappuccino with a fragrant croissant and orange juice.
Everithing excellent. Service was great.
The restaurant "Sassa Lounge" has a panoramic terrace with view on Lugano and the Snay brunch is very good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2013

Dear Guest, Dear Elena,

Thank you very much for your positive and appreciated feedback. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa.

We hope to welcome you and your family back soon.

Kind regards,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

we stayed there as part of a holiday. since switzerland is meant to be the country of spas we were very dissapointed. The promised 2000 m spa is actually a huge gym, The receptionist was very unfriendly and when we booked the private spa suite (costs about 120 euros) the jacuzzi wouldnt work, the hot marble area was not working.
Given the choice in this country I wouldnt go again

Efi Greece

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Efharis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tessalgroup, Manager at Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2013

Dear Guest,

first of all, please accept our sincerest apologies regarding the inconveniences happened during your last stay with us at the Spa. We are sad to hear that we were not able to satisfy your expectations.

We appreciate your comments and we would like to thank you for the time spent in giving us your valued feedback. Your remarks were taken into consideration and the mentioned items at the Spa will be fixed as soon as the spare parts have been arrived. Thank you very much for your comments, they have been very useful for us to improve the quality of hotel and services.

We hope to have the chance to welcoming you again so that we are able to convince you about the quality services we are offering at the hotel and especially at the Spa.

Yours sincerely,

VILLA SASSA HOTEL, RESIDENCE & SPA
Member of WorldHotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.7 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
0.5 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
530 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
2.9 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range: £174 - £344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing