We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay for rellax and enjoy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #9 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Warszawa
Level Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Excellent stay for rellax and enjoy”
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Till this moment I thought that Lugano is very uninteresting place to go. I came here for business trip but I stayed in Villa Sassa not for 1st time.

The hotel service is excellent. The buffet breakfast is in full range of offer with showcooking. Always the best quality food. Also the restaurant serves very good and is wellknown in Lugano.
I always have the appartment room with 2 bedrooms, salon, kitchen and separate bath & toilet.
Many people just came here for relax because of 2 polls ( interior and outdoor), excellent SPA & gym.

I very recomend to stay in this hottel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksiazemati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    168
    52
    15
    12
See reviews for
81
189
33
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2010

I was there several times. i really liked it. The food, spa, service and etc were all great. the hotel has a great location with fantastic view of the city Lugano and also Lake lugano. It close to train station (15 mins walking).

I recommend the GYM but spa could be improved. They guy didn't seem professional.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tea-list
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
436 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Location: Hotel a bit far from centre (10 minutes walk), but on a hill overlooking the lake and the city.

Hotel in a relatively good status, lobby and public areas are nice, corresponding to a 4-star hotel level.

Rooms: decor is OK, clean, good amenities, some rooms are large and have balcony. Nice bathroom with marble.

Food and service are OK (not great but OK).

Great Gym/Spa, with a huge choice of equippment, wieghts etc, jacuzzi, pool etc, really nice (one negative remark: it is a club open to non-residents so it can get crowded after work). Overall one of the better gyms I have seen in hotels!

Overall a good choice for business travellers and also for leisure, depending on the expectations and the rate you get. If you look for real luxury, there are better choices, but for me it is a good 4-star hotel which is well maintained - and there are not that many choices in Lugano (besides 2-3 very nice and expensive 5-star hotels). So overall can recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandTSwitzerland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2010

We stayed two nights at the Villa Sassa Hotel in April. The entrance and reception of the hotel was beautiful, but the back of the hotel appeared a little dated/cheesy. The hotel was very clean and the staff exceptionally friendly and helpful.
Our room was very large and included a large balcony with a view of Lugano and the infinity pool. There were two twin beds that were very comfortable and clean and the bathroom was large and included a shower and bathtub. Robes and slippers were available and an in-room safe was eay to use.
The location of the hotel was a little removed from the heart of Lugano-probably a 20 minute walk downhill. Although we made the walk at night, we didn't feel 100% safe and would recommend taking a cab to/from the hotel at night. We drove and found parking at the hotel great: easy and free!
We had cocktails in the bar at the hotel and found them overpriced, but good. We enjoyed the included breakfast each morning and were pleasantly surprised with the amount of offerings. Not only your typical breads, cereals, fruit, but also made to order omelettes.
I found finding a reasonably priced hotel in Lugano near impossible,so we splurged on the Villla Sassa and glad we did. The hotel was very clean, friendly, and comfortable. You definitely will feel pampered and taking care of while staying at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2010

I stayed here two weeks ago whilst attending a three day conference in beautiful Lugano. My room was more of a suite and it was vast. It was elegant and stylish throughout so no complaints there. My only slight gripe is that my room was at the back of the hotel where a pretty busy road ran close by. My room got too hot in the night and it was impossible to regular the heat. My last resort was open the French doors. I was then kept awake by the traffic.
So my tip is this .....if you’re someone who likes to sleep with a window open maybe request a room at the front of the hotel.
Apart from that one tiny thing, this hotel and spa is immaculate in every way and the view from the breakfast area is just sublime.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WalesBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
georgia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2010

They have no idea what "business travel" means. The internet is available for $2 Franks every 30 minutes and it signs you out in the middle of your session. Or 24 hours at a time even if you are gone at work all day, same price per hour.

There was no desk in the room and nor enough light to see my laptop, nor clock. I had to ask several times to get any of these items. They never refill the mini bar nor edible items in your room. Room service was left in the hall for a day. Then to top it off Monday nite I arrived to find out that the internet was "out" until Monday. BUT if I wanted to pay an additional $150 Franks I could have 150 hours of service. And that was only offered when I insisted on talking to a manager. Then the manager never talked to me directly, but only relayed messages to the front desk. All this for $330 per nite and I was staying for 7 nites. Not sure what superb service you would get for a 3 nite stay. They could have cared less if I left. If you are on a vacation and could care less about service or connecting to the rest of the world, this is the place to go!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GeorgiaMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solothurn, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 4 January 2010

Very friendly employees, beautiful sight, relaxing zone is amazing and the breakfast is also great

Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank AlexandraS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.5 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
1.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 46 in Lugano
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
1.2 mi away
Hotel Splendide Royal
Hotel Splendide Royal
#2 of 46 in Lugano
566 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Property: Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing