We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel, incredible food, amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Ranked #8 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Certificate of Excellence
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“excellent hotel, incredible food, amazing service”
Reviewed 8 February 2011

stayed just one night, highly recommend this hotel. amazing view, hugh room, profesionnal service

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squiks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    242
    175
    53
    16
    12
See reviews for
84
199
34
102
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2011

We spent new years eve with our 6 month old baby and rented a suite with a 50% discount. Was great for a family of three (and our pet dog). Decoration a bit antiquated but clean large living room, adequate bedroom and great bathroom. They offered to charge us 100CHF a day to put a microwave in teh kitchen of the suite to heat up baby bottles!!! and i cannot remember how much they wanted to charge us for using the kitchen in the suite, a silly amount. Spa definately worth a visit, great pool and gym and had a great massage with a therapist from greece. Room service was good and not too expensive. Would have never paid the full price though. Breakfast so so, but nice and fresh. In the sumer must be even nicer with the pool

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alikiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2010

The hotel sits on a hill right outside of this fabulous town giving it a spectacular view. The room was large and beautifully appointed, the grounds impeccable and there was a spa that looked terrific though our schedule didn't allow time to take advantage of it.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dandj03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG, Brazil
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 30 September 2010

Hotel very good, sorry that I take the bed was separated. I think that's just asking to put a double bed.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leo098
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
1 review
Reviewed 29 September 2010

I stayed at the property for 2 nights and found it to be a great location, good service. The rooms were spacious and I will strongly recommend this property

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DineshChauhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2010

This nice hotel is 4 bus stations away from the Lugano train station, uphill in a residential area. There are different buildings. The reception was nice, and I was upgraded to a Junior suite with view on the reception building and the driveway.
Large suite with comfy bed, balcony, modern and large bathroom, kitchenette. I was a bit concerned about a good night sleep but I slept well. The furnishers were worn already.
I enjoyed the breakfast on the restaurant’s terrace with beautiful view on the lake and the city centre of Lugano. Large buffet but Swiss style. Its fitness center is large and modern. My steep walk down to the city centre of Lugano lasted approx. 15mins., bring good shoes.
It was a pleasant but short stay, I’d come back.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fkaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warszawa
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2010

Till this moment I thought that Lugano is very uninteresting place to go. I came here for business trip but I stayed in Villa Sassa not for 1st time.

The hotel service is excellent. The buffet breakfast is in full range of offer with showcooking. Always the best quality food. Also the restaurant serves very good and is wellknown in Lugano.
I always have the appartment room with 2 bedrooms, salon, kitchen and separate bath & toilet.
Many people just came here for relax because of 2 polls ( interior and outdoor), excellent SPA & gym.

I very recomend to stay in this hottel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ksiazemati
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lugano
1.0 mi away
Grand Hotel Villa Castagnola
0.5 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
1.7 mi away
Suitenhotel Parco Paradiso
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Villa Principe Leopoldo
Villa Principe Leopoldo
#11 of 45 in Lugano
517 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
2.9 mi away
Kurhaus Cademario Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa

Property: Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa
Address: via Tesserete 10, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Lugano
#6 Business Hotel in Lugano
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the hills overlooking Lugano, in a marvellous setting, yet just a few minutes walk from the centre of town, Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa****S is a an oasis of well-being. The hotel enjoays a breathtaking view of Lake Lugano, the city and the surrounding mountains and offers 49 rooms and suites and 71 serviced apartments, a Mediterranean restaurant and lounge bar, conference and banqueting facilities, and a 3,000 sqm Wellness Club and Spa. The very special light shining over Lugano and love of nature are unforgettable at Villa Sassa, the ideal resort to spend a day, a weekend or an entire week or more of pure relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Villa Sassa Hotel, Residence & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Sassa And Residence

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing