We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointed in Hotel Nassa”
Review of Hotel Nassa Garni

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Nassa Garni
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Beirut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointed in Hotel Nassa”
Reviewed 14 September 2011

We stayed at Hotel Nassa for one night on September 03rd 2011. The hotel has agood location and a nice view of the lake if the room has that view. We were promised an internet connection: this proved to be false. Usually Swiss hotels are very correct: this was not the case with the Nassa! There were no amenities in the room: no tissues, small soaps. The cleanliness was basic. It was acceptable but so over-valued for 260 Swiss Francs a night for a double room ($ 325). This proved to be our least desirable hotel while traveling across Switzerland.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nabil K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    31
    15
    7
    5
See reviews for
21
24
4
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed here for 2 nights.
Given the price, we were expecting something nicer. Although we had a nice balcony with a lake view, the place was poorely kept. Its a pitty because there is great potential. Our balcony was more like a terrasse, and rather than having some flowers or arranging it nicely, it was completely bare except for 2 plastic chairs.
The room was average but carpet was stained and we just hoped for more.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank la_traveleuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
106 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2009

we staied there 1 night - location is great, you can walk to/from the train station, great lake view, close to everything.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraTraveling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2008

a room with a view of paradise. a small but comfortable room, helpfull staff and nice breakfast. location is very good and prices are good. clean hotel, the only thing is they have no refregarator in the room. stayed there 10 days and it was lovely.

  • Liked — the view
  • Disliked — needs a refregaretor in room
  • Stayed October 2005, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank anna73Greece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asiago, North of Italy
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2008

This hotel is not that special. I went there cos another hotel where I usually stay was closed in that period. Rooms are clean, but furniture is really out of date (I think it dates back to 1930, as the style is pretty simple and old-fashioned). There's a nice wide terrace in each room, but it is not that private as you can easily see what all the other guests are doing in their rooms. Breakfast is not that bad and staff is really helpful, kind and they speak several languages. Price is not that cheap compared to what you get.
There a bad point: there's a computer with internet connection, but you need a card to have access to it and it costs quite a lot (5 francs for 25 minutes).
A good point is that the hotel is centrally located, so you can easily reach any part of the town in a few minutes.

  • Liked — the location (it's centrally located)
  • Disliked — expensive internet connection
  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TIME80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2007

We spent 5 nights at this great little hotel on the lake at Lugano and loved the experience.
We booked directly with the hotel by email which worked really well and upon arrival our booking was exactly as requested.
We had a large room with a balcony with stunning views across the small square to the lake.
We would particularly recommend the boat trips on the lake and a visit to the village of Gandria is a must ! Another top trip is to Morcote, a lakeside town with 17th century arcades and steep, narrow streets leading up from the lake. There are good restaurants over the water with wonderful views and flowers everywhere.
We found the hotel staff very helpful and pleasant and the included breakfast was more than adequate. We would definately stay here if we are in Lugano again.

  • Liked — The position and the view from our balcony
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terryhazel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, VA
Level Contributor
287 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2006

What a treat! The lake view room was large w/a very comfortable bed. The best was the view from the balcony - worth MUCH more than they charge. Set just back from the loud street w/an amazing view of the lake, & 2 mountains. The balcony was large enough for a cafe table and 2 chairs, so we enjoyed breakfast out there every morning. Simple, but adequate breakfast w/great cappuccinos . Friendly, helpful staff (complete w/umbrellas to loan out to guests). Good central location in the middle of shops and not far from the train station (must take finicular tho). We would love to return there and would definately recomend this hotel. With the crazy Swiss prices, this was a jewel to find.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nkdp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#31 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.1 mi away
Hotel Walter au Lac
Hotel Walter au Lac
#21 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Zurigo
Hotel Zurigo
#38 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#16 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 328 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nassa Garni? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nassa Garni

Property: Hotel Nassa Garni
Address: via Nassa 60/62, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Casino and Gambling Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Nassa Garni 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Nassa Garni reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nassa Garni Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing