We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view just about makes up for it...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The view just about makes up for it...”
Reviewed 21 July 2011

Positives first...
1. Amazing view from every room!
2. Great location for everything
3. Reception desk lady Natalie is very helpful
4. Great shower with great water pressure!
5. Nice linen- ask fir a duvet if you don't have one!

Negatives
1. Very noisy road
2. Hotel is very tired and therefore you feel a little cheated on the price when you think about what you can get elsewhere in the world.
3. Cleanliness is on the surface- I have a dust allergy and there was lots of it in not immediately obvious places.
4. Not so much a negative- breakfast was certainly adequate but again expected more for the star rating.

We have looked around and the price given the location is reasonable

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jenb73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    120
    53
    12
    7
See reviews for
45
113
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A relaxing view of the lake from the room, great breakfast. Walking distance to shopping, great restaurants, the funiculare to the train station. Friendly staff, clean.

Room Tip: room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Humbert R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

The view from our third floor room was 5-star. Hotel website says every room has a lake view; my sister stayed on the second floor, and her view was breathtaking too. With the windows open, you do hear a fair amount of street noise from below. It's very qui,t however, with the windows closed. We had a comfortably clean and large room. European twin X twin = "King sized" bed had very clean, fluffy down comforters. Large bathroom, not glamorous, BUT it had a granite vanity, very hot water, and was clean and totally functional with separate tub & shower & large opaque windows. Could watch the sun come up over Monte Bre & moon rise over Lake Lugano. Breakfast room large and cheerful; solicitous kitchen service staff and typical Swiss breakfast including various cheeses, fresh fruit salad, muesli, yogurt & fresh croissants. Private rooftop sun chairs & jacuzzi. Easy, short walk to dining of all kinds, shopping, funicular to train station, bus line right outside front door. I have stayed twice in a much more expensive hotel in Lugano and not gotten the same value nor upbeat ambience.

Room Tip: Ask for room on an upper floor or at end of hallw.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Combogirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2011

I came back in this hotel after an year and I'm not dissapointed from my decision. The service is still on good level with friendly staff. Yes, the rooms are not a modern perfection ( my current was relativly very small ) and it's still too noisy due to the near street, but the atmosphere, the location and the view compensate this. Also, I can't say that this is an expencive hotel, compared to the other prices that I've checked.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vasilevn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mooball Australia
Level Contributor
73 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2011

We chose this hotel based on the many good reviews below, and ultimately weren't disappointed. We only had one night in early January for a business trip and the hotel wasn't full by any means. Although we had booked a normal room we were upgraded to a room on the 4th floor with balcony, although I couldn't comfortably go out on it as I am tall the railing seemed very low. The 180 degree views were stunning, despite the overcast and sometimes misty weather. At night the lights on the hillsides, and in the trees along the lake were very pretty, although we did get some light seepage into our room from the light on the outside of the hotel which illuminates their sign. The room was charming with polished wood floors and nice rugs, very comfortable bed, reasonably attractive 'shabby chic' decor, very clean (if small) bathroom with bath and shower above and flatscreen TV (not much choice of English-speaking shows though). Heating (looked like reverse cycle split system) worked well and we didn't have too much traffic noise. Obviously we had the french doors to the balcony shut, and they appeared to be double-glazed. Reception were unfailingly helpful, happy and polite, with good English. We enjoyed walking up and down the old stair case which twines around the smallish lift. Breakfast was lovely with a good selection and lovely view to the lake. Didn't use the small sitting room but it looked charming too. We had arrived from Milan Malpensa by the express bus and were dropped at the railway station. We managed to find our way down the zig-zag streets to the hotel (all shops shut because it was 3 Kings holiday), but when we left the next day we walked only as far as the funicular and then took it up to the station - much easier. Our room was around Swiss francs 220, which was cheaper than many others we had considered in Lugano (without the lovely view) but still reasonably expensive compared to other countries. It was worth the splurge however.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CowTails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2010

Very central hotel. It has an amazing view on the lake.
But unfortunatly it has very old fashion rooms and it's very expensive...
Very good brekfast.
Jimmy.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jimmy3476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2010

We choose this hotel for an over night stay, we live in Switzerland so are used to Swiss prices but this hotel was very expensive for what it was. It is in a great position on the lake and right by the town, the staff were helpful and gave us a great recommendation for a restaurant. But the room was small, looked very 'tired', chipped paint, bathroom very dated, very hot bedroom and we couldn't turn down the heating. There was a general air of needing a good bit of modernization. The hotel had a bit of charm in the main rooms, but the bed was very uncomfortable, the pillows very hard and it was very noisy on the main road. Yes the lake view is amazing when its clear but we have stayed in much better and nicer places for much less a night. All in all disappointed this time I'm afraid.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FamilyL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#33 of 46 in Lugano
129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 46 in Lugano
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 46 in Lugano
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lugano Dante Center Swiss Quality Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#13 of 46 in Lugano
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 46 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotel.de, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing