We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noise,noise,noise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Walter au Lac
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Sacramento, California
1 review
“Noise,noise,noise”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2012

Did I say noise! This hotel is so noisy! It is situated right on the lake but do not expect to get any sleep! It was clean. Staff was sometimes friendly but they knew they had business so they did not try at all to accommodate.

Wish it were better hope this helps.

Jim

Room Tip: If you are ok with not having a restful night this is your place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    119
    52
    12
    6
See reviews for
45
110
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Finland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2012

We chose Walter au Lac for it´s location and was very satisfied with the choice. It was like living in the front row on Lake Lugano, and we appreciated the short walking distance to the shopping, cafes and restaurants. The best thing was the private balcony overlooking Lake Lugano and boardwalk. The terrace on the roof also offered some beautiful views. Breakfast was also ok, but nothing more.
Our room was clean, but the hotel itself is a little bit old-fashioned and could use an update.
Our assessment is based on what we had in relation to the price of our stay.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coupleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stay for 5 nights in the Walter au Lac, my room was over looking the lake as all the rooms do, I had a lovely balcony with table and a chair. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was plentiful with good variety.
The hotel staff were curtious and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in an excellent location.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tomthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suisse
Level Contributor
100 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

This is a good, honest three star hotel which doesn't make promises it can't keep. I looked at a number of hotels in the centre of Lugano having had a mixed experience on my last visit and everything else in a similar price range came up with mixed reviews. I chose Walter because the reviews were all neutral to good. Having stayed there now I would agree with what most other people said and I'm happy with my choice.
Positives: friendly, great view, central location, easy access to trains, buses and boats, clean, well-equipped room, modern bathroom
Negatives: lakeside traffic noise (muted by good double glazing), some noise from other rooms, not cheap but nothing in Lugano is so relatively good value.

Room Tip: All rooms have a great lake view but only some have balconies, which are small but private on the up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbsuisse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2012

Really went back and forth on where to stay while in Lugano with my husband and three daughters. We spent 7 nights in Zurich and had just two nights in Lugano. I thought we should spent one night overlooking the lake. My kids are also huge fans of a pool on vacation so I thought this may be a good choice given the roof top hot tub and balcony. First, no need to stay on the lake. Dante Center was just a few blocks away, everything is within walking distance and we found walks through the various piazzas to be half the fun. Stayed in a family suite that was actually quite large - two bedrooms and two bathrooms. It was just one of those places where you don't quite want to take off your socks. Can't describe it any better than that. Balcony was very small but a nice touch. Two bathrooms. My 7-year old asked if she could take a shower in the "fancy" bathroom. When I asked why it was fancy, she said it was because it smelled like feet. Not sure why she thought that was fancy but it did, in fact smell like feet. So, we left this wonderful hotel, with fantastic amenities and great service (Lugano Dante Center) and headed over here to a run down "suite" at the Walter au Lac for a rooftop hot tub. Ummm...first, there is a per person charge for the hot tub. Seems to be per use too. Not exactly a day pass. It was surprisingly expensive. Unfortunately, the hot tub, is kind of a cold tub or maybe a lukewarm tub. By the way, this town absolutely rolls up the carpet and goes home around 6 on Saturday until Monday morning. Seriously - no place to pick up so much as a soda or bag of chips to bring back to your hotel. Plan ahead.

We loved Lugano overall and really had a great time. P.S. The Casino in Lugano absolutely terrible. Now that I sound all negative, read my review of the Lugano Dante Center.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schellgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

great location- close to city and shops. Right next to the river.

Staff- very helpful, offer a good rate for Euro- franc converison

felt like I was at home, bed comfortable, amazing view

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plaistow, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2012

Great location in Lugano. Our room had a great view of the beautiful lake. Hotel is across the street from the lake and easy walking distance to beautiful gardens, boat rides, restaurants and shops. Don't know where you would park a car if you had one, but an easty walk from the tram that takes you from the train station to the center of town. Room furnishings weren't high-end, but the view, location and price more than made up for them.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank matthews72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lugano hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel International au Lac
0.0 mi away
Hotel San Carlo Garni
Hotel San Carlo Garni
#32 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Nassa Garni
Hotel Nassa Garni
#37 of 45 in Lugano
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano
#15 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Federale
Hotel Federale
#14 of 45 in Lugano
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.2 mi away
Continental Parkhotel
Continental Parkhotel
#4 of 45 in Lugano
4.5 of 5 bubbles 625 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walter au Lac? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walter au Lac

Property: Hotel Walter au Lac
Address: piazza Riziero Rezzonico 7, Lugano 6900, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Ticino > Lugano
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 45 Hotels in Lugano
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walter au Lac 3*
Number of rooms: 37
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Walter au Lac reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walter Au Lac Lugano
Walter Au Lac Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing