We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Walter au Lac
Nearby Hotels
US$228
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$225
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$262
US$249
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$500
US$439
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$291
US$249
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$281
US$258
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pestalozzi Lugano(Lugano)
US$149
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (308)
Filter reviews
308 results
Traveller rating
89
140
57
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
89
140
57
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslake viewshopping areaone nightpleasant breakfast roomtransportation passtrain stationbooked directlymanaged hotelwonderful lakebusy roadtea and coffee facilitiessun chairsbreakfast was includedhistoric hotelwater pressureclose to the city centersmall balcony
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
122 - 127 of 308 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Every room has lake view and this is already worth the money. If you spend a bit more, you can even have a balcony (but only balconies on the 4th floor are roofed!).
There are 2 restaurants next to the entrance of the Hotel and shopping options are only 2mins away. Whirlpool (costs 8.-/30mins) and sun seats on the roof top.
Location is perfect, the only "problem" is the noise. As the hotel is next to the main street, it's quite loud, escpecially at the weekend. Windows seem to be old, so even if your window is closed, you can still here people talking on the other side of the road sometimes.

Room Tip: If you book a balcony, ask for a room on the 4th floor where the balconies are roofed.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christensimone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2012

This hotel clearly relies on its great position on the lake front but it could do with updating. The position is great with lovely views of the lake. But it is on a busy road which is noisy even with the shutters and double glazing. It’s not for nothing that they provide earplugs and they were needed. My room was very small and the bathroom was tiny. I know single rooms in Europe are small but I had to pay much more than half the price for something was no more than half the size of a double room. The furniture was old-fashioned and a bit shabby – in contrast to the nice sofas out in the hallways. I guess no one ever sits on them.

The breakfast was good, served in a very pleasant breakfast room with views of the lake. There are restaurants nearby but Lugano is very pricey. There’s also a Burger King and MacDonalds just along the road.

The staff were pleasant but when I asked for some tourist advice from the reception desk the answers were vague and turned out to be incorrect. It was just as well that I checked for myself (and finally found the information on the TripAdvisor forum) or I could have had my whole day spoilt.

It’s worth staying here if you want the views and to be central but you pay quite a lot for that and little else.

Room Tip: Be prepared to use the earplugs in order to sleep.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ladybentley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2012

Did I say noise! This hotel is so noisy! It is situated right on the lake but do not expect to get any sleep! It was clean. Staff was sometimes friendly but they knew they had business so they did not try at all to accommodate.

Wish it were better hope this helps.

Jim

Room Tip: If you are ok with not having a restful night this is your place.
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2012

We chose Walter au Lac for it´s location and was very satisfied with the choice. It was like living in the front row on Lake Lugano, and we appreciated the short walking distance to the shopping, cafes and restaurants. The best thing was the private balcony overlooking Lake Lugano and boardwalk. The terrace on the roof also offered some beautiful views. Breakfast was also ok, but nothing more.
Our room was clean, but the hotel itself is a little bit old-fashioned and could use an update.
Our assessment is based on what we had in relation to the price of our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coupleH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

I stay for 5 nights in the Walter au Lac, my room was over looking the lake as all the rooms do, I had a lovely balcony with table and a chair. The room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The breakfast was plentiful with good variety.
The hotel staff were curtious and nothing was too much trouble.
The hotel is in an excellent location.
I would definately recommend this hotel and will be staying there again.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomthegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews